We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sehr empfehlenswert/ highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

stayed 4 nights. clean, quiet, excellent breakfast, so no need to search for a breakfast in town. wonderful green garden and pool to cool down. if you're lucky you'll have howling monkeys and iguanas visiting you at the pool. friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travellers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

I finally had to write about it. As an expat living in CR for many years my family and I have stayed at the Belvedere many times. The owners, Manfred and Michaela have always been great. They are at the hotel every day making sure all is well. This year there were 15 of us(10 visiting from the U.S.) together at the hotel. We requested rooms in the part of the hotel that is separate from the main building. Set back from the road it feels like you are in the jungle. The crystal clear pool sits in front of your sliding door. There are so many plants and trees surrounding the hotel and pool you just have to relax. The rooms provide everything needed. Grocery store at end of road, easy walking distance. The breakfasts are great with beautiful views. Samara beach has been one of our favorite places for vacation. The quality of restaurants, the tranquil beach, and the locals make for a perfect holiday. The Belvedere has two pools and are always super clean. The one at the main hotel has just been remodeled. WIFI available throughout. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Thanks to a holiday cancellation, we were able to stay here for 4 nights between Christmas and New Years. We stayed in the part of the hotel that is separate from the main building, on the first floor. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with the basics (coffee machine, refrigerator, safe). The view from the room to the pool and luscious gardens was super. Even though we were within a block of town, it felt far away. The grounds helped keep down the noise from the festival taking place near town, adding to the serenity. The only two issues, if we were looking for them, are the lack of hot water in the bathroom sink (shower was fine) and a screen door, so we could enjoy the night air but not the bugs.

We did not have any of the breakfasts (were a bit surprised that it was not included even though the website stated it was), but were more than happy to sit on our porch drinking morning coffee and having biscuits (NOTE: ground-level patios seem to be a bit more spacious for sitting than the upper-level rooms). We did take note that the views from the dining porch were spectacular.

Given the price (very affordable), location (walking to town and beach is a huge ++++), cleanliness and care of the grounds, this is an outstanding place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We spent one night here on our honeymoon and loved the surroundings, it was like being in the rainforest with huge trees, plenty of musical birds, a lovely big iguana and howler monkeys in the morning! The room itself was beautifully decorated for us by the maid, but slightly run down on closer inspection. The balcony door did not lock meaning our belongings were not secure, and the shower rail fell out when knocked slightly!
The owners were very accommodating and helped us with transportation to Montezuma. Excellent location for Samara, just at the top of the high street so not noisy but an easy walk to the shops, restaurants and beach.

Room Tip: We were told by someone else that the back building is nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sostenibilidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Super nice. Calm hotel near the lovley beach. The family gave us an warm and friendly service. The
Rooms are well equipted and near the pool with the Green garden.
The breakfast have all you can ask for.
Torbjörn and Git.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torbjörn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Wonderful hotel with very pleasant room, environment, breakfast. The owners were very helpful as well. It was also fun to watch the monkeys just behind the hotel. The walk to the beach and restaurants was easy. It was also very easy to arrange tours and be picked up and dropped off at the hotel. As a solo traveler, I felt quite safe and welcomed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights and our hosts from Germany were very accommodating .. Loved our apt and pool was clean ... Liked the Honor bar and 5 min walk to beach and fab restaurants great expat community.. Could live here

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YonnaCromeensMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
886 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
603 reviews
1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
233 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
103 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Address: Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: £44 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing