We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful experience, will return to Samara because of this place!”
Review of Casitas LazDivaz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casitas LazDivaz
Ranked #5 of 33 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
El Sobrante, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The most wonderful experience, will return to Samara because of this place!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My stay at Casitas LazDivaz was a beautiful experience that I would highly recommend to anyone planning a visit to Costa Rica. I stayed here in January 2014 on a romantic getaway.

The casitas are located on a beach front property. Hammocks hanging in the palm trees overlooking the beach greet you when you arrive. These hammocks were perfect for an afternoon of cat napping and reading.

There are a small amount of casitas making for a peaceful and tranquil setting, not a lot of travelers hustling in and around to ruin your relaxation time. You can hear the ocean in the evening and it lulls you to sleep. In the morning, we would sit on our porch and beautiful birds would greet us. During sunset hour, there is a beachfront bench made of drift wood and we could enjoy a beer and relax as the sun went down. This is not your typical chain hotel experience. It is really something quaint, unique, romantic, and magical. Felt like a honey moon.

The casitas are so bright and airy. There are windows all around and you can let the fresh air in and enjoy the garden surrounding you. There are also dark curtains to shut out the light and for privacy. Everything was well decorated, clean, and comfortable. The woodwork in the casitas are also very special.

The property is located walking distance to everything (shops, markets, restaurants, the beach).

What made my stay even more special was the owner, Sara. You can really tell that she put a lot of love into this place. It seems to melt into the scenery that surrounds it. Sara was just a joy to be around and she made our stay a truly special experience. Something to remember and cherish. She was so helpful and knowledgeable but most importantly she was, GENUINE.

We spent half of our time at another hotel in the area, and it although it was nice, it just DID NOT COMPARE.

It would be a shame to visit Samara and not book your stay at Casitas LazDivaz. It is the perfect hotel to match the town of Samara.

Room Tip: book the room with the kitchen, it looked like a little love nest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephineibea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
155
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A place feels like home because of the people there - this is definitely true for our stay at Casitas LazDivaz. Playa Samara was the last stop for my husband and I. During our three nights stay, Sara (the owner of this place) invited us to watch the Samara Sunset with a drink at her wooden benches near the ocean. It made us feel very welcomed and we also got to know other guests better by sharing the gorgeous view, great conversations and a relaxing drink.

There're three casitas in total with one of them that has a kitchen. The other two are equipped with fridges. Sara's garden is full of wonders - monkeys, exotic birds, and other life forms. The outside seating area also allows a lay-back morning or afternoon.

If we venture to Costa Rica again, this will be a place to go back to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Lazdivaz 'the divas' is the perfect tranquil spot, even in the midst of the high season craziness. Located on the beach, and fronted by hammocks hung on palm trees for guests to use. Sara, the owner, is warm and extremely knowledgeable and is happy to give recommendations on activities and restaurants. She's also a stellar birder, and may be nice enough to take you out birding with her if you are avian inclined. The location and setting is the best in Samara, a five minute walk on the beach will take you to the main drag in town, but it's far enough away to be quiet and feel like you are away from it all.

Sara lives on site and operates three casitas on the property. The casitas all have queen beds, mosquito nets, fridge, good wifi, and a cozy porch. They are set under a shady canopy of trees, which provide respite from the afternoon heat. The largest casita - Tina, is equipped with a kitchenette including a stove top, blender, toaster oven, and microwave. We stayed in the farinelli and tina casitas over our 7 night stay. Sara serves her guests coffee and fresh-squeezed orange juice every morning. Just on the property of lazdivaz we saw howler monkeys, black iguanas, black-headed trogons, a squirrel cuckoo, hoffman's woodpecker, and many other birds. This place is really special, and I can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweatbandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Laz Divaz is a very special place with wonderful little casitas, a gorgeous beach and beautiful sunsets. Samara is a nice little village with a couple of good restaurants (just ask Sara!) and friendly people. The casitas are full of wonderfully detailed woodwork made by the host herself and you can feel her love to the place and for having guests as well. Sara makes everyone feel welcome and at home and does her best to help with everything she can! If we ever go back to Costa Rica this will definitely be on our must-visit-list!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerKer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Perfect location, great rooms, brilliant architecture, exceptional service, 5star breakfast, friendly, funny and family like owners, impressive garden and empty beach right in front. You'll make friends there. Thanks guys for this perfect holiday.
Fabi & Jens

Room Tip: All rooms are good, no orries
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jens G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My bride and I spent several nights at Laz Divaz and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Roberto, Alvaro, and Andres were terrific hosts and the location is terrific. My only complaint would be about the howler monkeys that woke us up one morning fighting in the vicinity. If you like something off the beaten path and are open to something out of the ordinary, Laz Divaz is definitely for you!

Room Tip: If you want a clothes line, pick one of the casitas in the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My girlfriend and I were the first guests to stay at Laz Divaz under the new management of Alvero, Andres and Roberto and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Playa Samara. We chose it based on the previous glowing reviews on here and, from our experience there, the great reputation created by original owners Sara and Berit is sure to continue.

The setting is idyllic, right on the beach and far enough away from the town to feel peaceful and secluded but close enough to reach the seafront bars and restaurants by a short walk along the sand. As other reviewers have said, bring a torch! The casitas themselves are bright, modern and very clean and are complete with a ceiling fan and electric shower.

The breakfasts created by chef Andres each morning were fantastic; he obviously takes great pride in the food he creates and deservedly so. Always a choice of food, generous portions, and served in a warm and relaxed atmosphere.

The guys were all friendly, attentive, quick to respond to any issue and genuinely keen for us to enjoy our stay. We would definitely stay there again and hope to do so one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.4 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas LazDivaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas LazDivaz

Property: Casitas LazDivaz
Address: 600 meters east of Samara center | entrance from the beach, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stand-alone cottages in an intimate beachfront compound, for adults only. Each bright, breezy casita, shaded by many trees, has a queen-size bed, hot shower, ceiling fan, refrigerator, free WiFi, and safe; one, "Tina Turner," has full kitchen. Coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice served each morning. We practice sound ecological management. Share our excitement and concern for the environment and resident wildlife, from the armadillos to the zompopas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casitas Lazdivaz Bed And Breakfast
Casitas Lazdivaz Hotel Playa Samara
Casitas LazDivaz Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing