We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samara Tree House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Samara Inn(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Beach(Playa Samara)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sol Samara(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Flying Crocodile(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lodge Las Ranas(Playa Samara)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
265
71
12
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
71
12
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson stiltsevery morningpoolside bungalowmosquito netplace to stayair conditioningcosta ricabreakfast is servedocean breezeliving roomin townreception deskprivate spacefull kitchenamazing locationbeach viewlawn chairs
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I wish that our room had been air conditioned, because then this hotel would have been perfect. It's right on the beach with gorgeous views. The bungalows are unique and very attractive. There is a small pool. Breakfast is included. It's location is central and the staff is friendly.
However, we paid $150 a night, which was more than any of our other lovely Costa Rican accommodations. I expected a good night's sleep for that amount, along with the appealing atmosphere. But there was no breeze or circulation in the room. A mosquito net was provided, but my husband and I still got eaten up. We stayed two nights and moved on elsewhere, sad to leave the ambiance, but in need of more comfortable accommodations.
Check to make sure your room has air conditioning, if that is important to you.
Otherwise, this is a lovely and unique hotel worth experiencing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmw2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Treehouse is charming, clean, friendly. right in town, but sheltered within your own 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the ocean, you feel like you have the view to yourself. On the ground level you have your own outdoor eating area with hammocks and grill. exceptional value before you climb upstairs to your apartment. Close to all amenities. We would definitely return again.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but the four on stilts are exceptional.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVillemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Based on Tripadvisor's rating, we booked three nights with Samara TreeHouse Inn. Being right on the beach, the location is excellent. But there are so many bugs indoor and outdoor, it took the fun out of our stay. With no window screens and no air conditioning, it is impossible to sleep outside of the mosquito net at night. Before we booked, we did ask about the mosquito condition and was told there was no bug. So we are pretty unhappy about this. :-( We stayed at the Tico lodge for a week at 1/3 of the price we paid and the mosquitos weren't as bad as here. We like to make our own food. So the kitchen is important to us. Again, the communal kitchen at Tico Lodge is better equipped than here. So in terms of value, we are paying for mostly for the location. We did enjoy the fact that we had a fabulous view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Beach front no. 3 has an unobstructed view of the ocean with the least amount of trees to block your view. Also trees and scrubs could harbor more mosquitos and bugs that come out at night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The Treehouse Inn in Samara has lots of great reviews. I essentially concur. Charming place, great staff. I'll just add some thoughts you may find helpful in slecting a room there.

Ther are six rooms. Four are the ones on stilts with direct views of the beach.

The "poolside room" is the least expensive. The room is perfectly fine, but its only window looks immediately into the hotel's small public area around the pool. So you kind of have to keep the window and curtains closed all the time or feel like everyone is walking a few feet from your room. Which they are. The room is airconditioned, so leaving the window closed is temperature comfortable. Management has added a tabke and chaurs under a thatched umbrella for this unit's inhabitants. But you don't get a hammock, and your outdoor space is right at the pool. You hav no private outdoor space. The beach is steps away, do thus may be an acceptable tradeoff: best location in town at an afordable price.

The poolfront bungalow is also at ground level next to the pool. It is also airconditioned. It has a little more private space than the poolside room and has one hammock. But your outdoor space is still pretty much the public pool area.


The beachfront bungalows (4) are all "treehouses" on stilts. They are beautifully crafted. They have lovely ocean vuews. They each have private soace underneath with teo hammacks, table and four chairs and a barbecue. When it rains, you can still be outide (under your room) enjoying the sir and the view, while staying dry. The poolside rooms do not provide this opportunity. The bungalows are not airconditioned, however, and the big oceanfront windows are not screened. It is hot in Samara, which means you have to leave the windows wide open. Bugs can get in. I did not experience swarms of bugs, but there were ome. The bed has mosquito netting, and my bedroom had a ceiling fan, wall-mounted fan and floor fan. I left all three running all night and was pretty comfortable. With no a/c you're in the heat day and night. Not necessarily a problem, but you should know before you go. It's a fresh air experience.

Unit #2 is next to a public beach access. People come and go. They can't see you, but you can hear them. Not a terrible problem unless you're sensitive to such things. Mostly quiet at night.

I have stayed at Treehouse twice, once in the poolside room and once in Unit #2. They each have advantages and disadvantages. They both have the advantage of being at the best beach location in town and the overall high quality of the hotel. Choose wisely, young Skywalker.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at the Tree House Inn for 5 nights in the beach bungalow number 3. It was extremely difficult to leave this place as it was simply stunning. Each bungalow has a bedroom, a kitchen area, leaving room and bathroom. Also, a private dining/barbecue area under the bungalow.

The room: Huge, comfortable bed with mosquito net. lots of storage space, a "desk" area and a fan (you will need it as Samara is hot hot hot!) and a safe.

The bathroom: big shower, good water pressure, hot water always (but you wont need it as it is too hot), plenty of towels provided (more than you could possibly need)

The kitchen area: Wow I was amazed. They provided absolutely everything you could need. Pans, plates, cups, glasses, etc microwave, coffee machine, rice cooker, etc washing up liquid, sponge...

The living room area: Our favourite place! We fell asleep there most nights as we just could not tear ourselves away from the view and the noise of the waves. There is a coffee table and two very comfortable sofas. There is a huge window and the view is absolutely fantastic (number 3 has the best view in my opinion as the other bungalows have palm trees in front). there is a fan on the ceiling and it was more than enough to keep us cool. Oh and the great thing is that you never have to close the windows even when you leave the room and go on excursions, on the beach, etc.

The dining/barbecue area: A nice table/4 chairs, a barbecue, 2 hammocks, a sink. Great area to relax, have a drink or fall asleep in one of the hammocks.

The staff: The ladies at reception (Laura and Angel), the 2 gentleman who do the house keeping (did not get the names) and the cleaning lady are just amazing! They keep this place looking great and they offer excellent service. The 2 gentleman never stop (I actually never saw them having a rest), they are always fixing things, oiling the woods, trimming the plam trees, etc but always with a smile.

This was the most expensive place we stayed in during our 3 weeks trip in Costa Rica but every single penny we paid for this place was more than worth it! Simply amazing!

Room Tip: Bungalow number 3 has the best view of the beach as the other bungalows have palm trees in front. However if you want a little more privacy, choose another bungalow as people on the beach can see in the room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews