We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Considered, GO THERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tico Adventure Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We rented the one bedroom studio apartment for a week. It is a large sized, well furnished, bright, airy room, with an open balcony and easy access to town. Samara beach is in easy walking distance. The hotel landscape is lush and relaxing. The pool is terrific.
Problems arose when the people above us were overly noisy and disruptive. Management (i.e. Chris) paid immediate attention to our concerns. In the heat, and somewhat buggy climate, the room became stuffy at night. Management (i.e. Chirs again) acted right away to give us an extra fan from elsehere. Planned renovations over the next year should fix all of these issues - sound proofing, more open windows, window screens, and more fans. We felt truly heard and cared for.
All the way through, the staff (e.g. front office and room service) were welcoming and responsive.
We would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gavin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

To follow up the previous review this man returned us twothousand seven hundreds and eighty dollars of 3800 which we had forwarded to him. We had no signed contracts and only stayed there eight nights. We felt he was greedy and the advertisements for the place did not reflect what it lwas really like. We would not recommend this place however we found another place with the.t.v. and breakfast included for half that price and a bonus of warm friendly people, at this time we are still in Samara and really liking here but will never revisit due to our initial introduction of greed

Room Tip: Room service doesn't exist and the kitchen is a joke. There was little black bugs and masses of...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ethel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We paid $75 US for the apartment and for what we got it was a total rip off. Anywhere else in the area the same place would have been $30 - $40. They really oversell the place. The apartment above us were broken into while we were there, so there are still security issues. The grounds are pretty. But be really careful what you book here - some of the rooms they rent are tiny! One couple that was there when we were paid $4000 for 3 months! And then were put into the tiniest room possible. It is pretty naive to pay that much up front, but it was totally dishonest of the owner to put them is such a crappy room without a kitchen or table or chairs for 3 months. I think they got some of it eventually sorted, but I felt really sorry for them. This place is also NOT close to the beach at all like they advertise. It is at least a 15 minute walk, maybe only 10 if you find all the short-cuts. There are much better deals closer to the beach than this.

Room Tip: Ask for the square footage before you book! Some of the rooms are super small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed one night at the Tico Adventure Lodge. The grounds were beautiful and our room was very nice with a nice balcony overlooking the garden. We didn't have any security issues while we were there like others have mentioned recently. Our only complaint was that it was pretty noisy and we had a hard time getting any sleep. Our room was at the end of the building right next to some sort of building or house where there was a party or gathering of some sort going on with some local people. Loud talking and laughing went on late into the night. There were also a lot of barking dogs and loud talking and children in the room next to us. It was frustrating, but part of staying in hotels I suppose. We had trouble setting the code for our safe, and the staff was very helpful in solving the issue. They were all very nice, friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydiaB226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

One of the worst experience of my life as traveller. I was so happy to be there, the place is nice and the apartment as well, but the first morning I realized that someone stole my purse during the night. Keep an eye on!!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank dariaindub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Dariaindub,
All of our rooms have lock boxes that we recommend our guests use. We also insist that our guest lock their windows in the evening. We hope to keep TAL an open air and very natural hotel, with safety has our number one priority.

Samara is a safe town and creating a secure environment for locals and tourists alike is a common goal of the Samara Police force, as well as Samara business owners.

We share with you the unease, given the nature of this situation. We hope you can visit Costa Rica again in the future.

Best,
TAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We lived the worst experience of our travels.
During the first night, "someone" broke the window and took ALL our stuff (passports, credit cards, camera, Ipod, money & much more) that were on top of the internal table. We were sleeping above the reception, with night guard in front of the only stairs to reach the apartment.
Even if it was written to pay attention, this is something that shouldn't happen, especially if the night guard was there, hopefully working and not sleeping (or being the lookout..maybe!)
So, "someone" knew we were there and totally knew the position of the table & room facilities.
Moreover, gate was ALWAYS open at night time.

Anyway, staff was very friendly and helped us with phone calls and during our stay (we slept there 3 nights to figure out about our staff and organize meetings with the embassy), but of course not enough to solve our problem(s).

Unfortunately, as a couple of travellers, even if the place is nice, we do not reccomend it, Playa Samara is very unsafe (we heard other people were ripped off on the beach with guns!) and this is something that is happening very often.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Hello Irnick,
All of our rooms have lock boxes that we recommend our guests use. We also insist that our guest lock their windows in the evening. Our night guard patrols the property every hour on the hour. We do not lock the front gate as per our emergency evacuation procedures.

Samara is a safe town and creating a secure environment for locals and tourists alike is a common goal of the Samara Police force, as well as Samara business owners. The beach is also continually patrolled by police. We share with you the unease, given the nature of this situation. We hope you can visit Costa Rica again in the future.

Best,
TAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed here in April and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was for the price. The rooms are cute, clean and comfortable and most have a little veranda with a hammock. There was a common-fridge in the hall to keep your drinks cold.
There is a lovely little pool tucked into the back of the courtyard which was amazing at the end of a long day of surfing.
The staff and guests were very friendly - I was travelling solo and there was a nice mix of young/ old / Euro / Canadian / US travellers to meet. The guests included singles, couples and even 2 young surf families.
I took surf lessons through the hotel and they were great and affordable.
There is a common kitchen you can use which was nice to make a cup of tea and toast and then go lie in your hammock.
The only funny thing was that in April all the coconut trees drop their seeds/pods and the hotel has tin roofs... what a racket! Anyway, it only happens one week of the year and we all had a laugh about it.
This hotel is a 3 minute walk to the beach. The very small town is safe and friendly with good surf and food.
Happy Travels!

Room Tip: You can request an upstairs room so you have a balcony with more privacy. But the hotel is small so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleFlaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
402 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
#12 of 32 in Playa Samara
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tico Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tico Adventure Lodge

Address: 150 N 150 E Plaza Deportes, Playa Samara n/a, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: £28 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a tropical oasis during your Samara Beach vacation. Our hotel opened in December 2004, away from the bustling main street, amongst a lush, green, jungle-style garden. Near the center of Samara, the Tico Adventure Lodge is just 120 meters (100 yards) from Playa Samara and a short walk to restaurants and services. Wake-up in your clean, comfortable room surrounded by the exotic sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tico Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tico Adventure Hotel Playa Samara
Tico Adventure Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing