We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Costa Rica experience & coldest pool in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tico Adventure Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tico Adventure Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Costa Rica experience & coldest pool in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

I loved my time at the Tico Adventure Lodge! The staff was wonderful & property very welk maintained with lush trees & flowers throughout. The communal kitchen is great for your morning coffee break. The pool is nicely shaded to keep the pool nice & cool on hot days. I live the outdoor gym for true Costa experience. Congo the property mascot (3 legged blacklab) is a sweetheart. Rooms are very clean & cleaning staff great!. I will definitely return on my next Samara visit!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Hi Nicole! It was a pleasure having you here! Whenever you want to come back we will have hot coffee and a cool pool awaiting your arrival! Oh and Congo will be wagging his tail! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    42
    21
    2
    12
See reviews for
35
55
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Wonderful, beautiful, comfy hotel! The open air kitchen has fridge, freezer, blender, etc. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The surf shop they partner with was great!!!! (C&C surf)
STAY HERE!!! it's a little bit of a walk to the beach, but not enough to matter.
We LOVED it here!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool will be noisy in the mornings with cleaning staff and children. Room 5 was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The American owners are proud to have built Tico Adventure Lodge without cutting any trees. The place is charming and exotic. Our room was small with a cool balcony. The common kitchen is very basic and I would not count on it to really cook. Common fridge to share was a nice touch. At the reception, Anina was super helpful and we could not thank her enough for her guidance with the area and possible activities. There was a wind storm on one of the night we stayed at Tico Adventure. We woke up to a loud bang and it kept banging all night with avocados and other fruits falling on the metal roof. We fell like we were under attack :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our one week stay at the TAL was in the poolside bungalow. It was comfortable, clean, private and there were no concerns over security. The communal kitchen was open-air, clean and well stocked with everything we needed to prepare our meals. It was also a nice spot to visit with other guests over morning coffee. The swimming pool was truly an oasis with lush gardens surrounding it and a refreshing water temperature. Samara is a small town so everything was in walking distance and by our calculations only 5 minutes to the beach. Chris, Janice and their staff were very friendly, helpful and committed to making our stay very pleasant. We traveled around Costa Rica for three weeks and this was one of our favorite stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We rented the one bedroom studio apartment for a week. It is a large sized, well furnished, bright, airy room, with an open balcony and easy access to town. Samara beach is in easy walking distance. The hotel landscape is lush and relaxing. The pool is terrific.
Problems arose when the people above us were overly noisy and disruptive. Management (i.e. Chris) paid immediate attention to our concerns. In the heat, and somewhat buggy climate, the room became stuffy at night. Management (i.e. Chirs again) acted right away to give us an extra fan from elsehere. Planned renovations over the next year should fix all of these issues - sound proofing, more open windows, window screens, and more fans. We felt truly heard and cared for.
All the way through, the staff (e.g. front office and room service) were welcoming and responsive.
We would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

To follow up the previous review this man returned us twothousand seven hundreds and eighty dollars of 3800 which we had forwarded to him. We had no signed contracts and only stayed there eight nights. We felt he was greedy and the advertisements for the place did not reflect what it lwas really like. We would not recommend this place however we found another place with the.t.v. and breakfast included for half that price and a bonus of warm friendly people, at this time we are still in Samara and really liking here but will never revisit due to our initial introduction of greed

Room Tip: Room service doesn't exist and the kitchen is a joke. There was little black bugs and masses of...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ethel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripletoes
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We paid $75 US for the apartment and for what we got it was a total rip off. Anywhere else in the area the same place would have been $30 - $40. They really oversell the place. The apartment above us were broken into while we were there, so there are still security issues. The grounds are pretty. But be really careful what you book here - some of the rooms they rent are tiny! One couple that was there when we were paid $4000 for 3 months! And then were put into the tiniest room possible. It is pretty naive to pay that much up front, but it was totally dishonest of the owner to put them is such a crappy room without a kitchen or table or chairs for 3 months. I think they got some of it eventually sorted, but I felt really sorry for them. This place is also NOT close to the beach at all like they advertise. It is at least a 15 minute walk, maybe only 10 if you find all the short-cuts. There are much better deals closer to the beach than this.

Room Tip: Ask for the square footage before you book! Some of the rooms are super small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tico Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tico Adventure Lodge

Property: Tico Adventure Lodge
Address: 150 N 150 E Plaza Deportes, Playa Samara n/a, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a tropical oasis during your Samara Beach vacation. Our hotel opened in December 2004, away from the bustling main street, amongst a lush, green, jungle-style garden. Near the center of Samara, the Tico Adventure Lodge is just 120 meters (100 yards) from Playa Samara and a short walk to restaurants and services. Wake-up in your clean, comfortable room surrounded by the exotic sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tico Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tico Adventure Hotel Playa Samara
Tico Adventure Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing