We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tico Adventure Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I brought a group of 20 students here to do service projects in and around Samara. In addition to a great facility and everything we could ask for, Tico Lodge handled all of our group activities - surfing rentals/lessons, canopy tour, and arranged for beach hikes up to the turtle sanctuary. They have a variety of rooms available, perfect for 1 or 2 and even up to a large group like ours. We'll definitely be back next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank Matt B!

You love Tico Adventure Lodge and we loved having you stay with us! What a great group! We are so happy you enjoyed all the fun things there are to do in Samara! We strive to help our clients experience the best, be it surfing, kayaking to the Isla Chora, Canopy tours, horseback riding and more! We look forward to your future visits! Thank you for your support! Best of luck with your travels!

Pura Vida!
T.A.L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Had a great weekend in Samara and this hotel played a large part in that. We stayed in a room that was almost a home away from home with full kitchen facilities, lots of space and a swimming pool outside our door. The owners were always friendly and helpful and the morning coffee was definitely well received.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Frances,

Thank you for the positive review! It was a pleasure having you stay here with us! We love Samara and it is so nice to hear that visitors enjoy the lodge and this small community as much as we do. Please come and visit us again! You can relax by the cool pool and have some nice hot coffee.

Pura Vida,
Tico Adventure Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the Tico Lodge for a week in May. The owners, Chris and Janice, are excellent hosts. They were extremely accommodating for all our requests and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. The rates were very reasonable for what we had. The room was clean and comfortable and they have a great outdoor kitchen and dining area and gym. The guest houses and common areas were Costa Rican style, which we loved and appreciated. All the staff were also extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay immensely and highly recommend anyone coming to visit Playa Samara to come stay here.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Hello Lisaman!

It was so nice having you stay here with us! You filled the place with a great energy and we hope to see you again during your next visit to Costa Rica. Our doors are open.

Happy travels!
Tico Adventure Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

I had a great experience here. The staff is super helpful in advising what to do/see in and around town. Feels like my home away from home. Great pool, super clean, super friendly. Stayed in the "mini" apt. Perfect for one or two people. Had a full kitchen and loved my neighbors the Howler monkeys!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Hi Gowander!

Thanks Chica! We miss you! It was so nice having your here with us for over a month! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the fun things to do in the área, including getting a stand up paddle board! You rock! Please stop by and visit, and you know "nuestra casa es su casa" :)

Que le vaya bien!
Tico Adventure Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

I loved my time at the Tico Adventure Lodge! The staff was wonderful & property very welk maintained with lush trees & flowers throughout. The communal kitchen is great for your morning coffee break. The pool is nicely shaded to keep the pool nice & cool on hot days. I live the outdoor gym for true Costa experience. Congo the property mascot (3 legged blacklab) is a sweetheart. Rooms are very clean & cleaning staff great!. I will definitely return on my next Samara visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Hi Nicole! It was a pleasure having you here! Whenever you want to come back we will have hot coffee and a cool pool awaiting your arrival! Oh and Congo will be wagging his tail! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Wonderful, beautiful, comfy hotel! The open air kitchen has fridge, freezer, blender, etc. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The surf shop they partner with was great!!!! (C&C surf)
STAY HERE!!! it's a little bit of a walk to the beach, but not enough to matter.
We LOVED it here!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool will be noisy in the mornings with cleaning staff and children. Room 5 was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The American owners are proud to have built Tico Adventure Lodge without cutting any trees. The place is charming and exotic. Our room was small with a cool balcony. The common kitchen is very basic and I would not count on it to really cook. Common fridge to share was a nice touch. At the reception, Anina was super helpful and we could not thank her enough for her guidance with the area and possible activities. There was a wind storm on one of the night we stayed at Tico Adventure. We woke up to a loud bang and it kept banging all night with avocados and other fruits falling on the metal roof. We fell like we were under attack :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
402 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
#12 of 32 in Playa Samara
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tico Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tico Adventure Lodge

Address: 150 N 150 E Plaza Deportes, Playa Samara n/a, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: £28 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a tropical oasis during your Samara Beach vacation. Our hotel opened in December 2004, away from the bustling main street, amongst a lush, green, jungle-style garden. Near the center of Samara, the Tico Adventure Lodge is just 120 meters (100 yards) from Playa Samara and a short walk to restaurants and services. Wake-up in your clean, comfortable room surrounded by the exotic sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tico Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tico Adventure Hotel Playa Samara
Tico Adventure Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing