We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We spent 10 days at the Fenix in December and can't wait to go back.. The room we stayed in was very comfortable, even without a/c. It cools off enough at night and with the fans going we needed covers...The grounds were kept nice and clean, and the rooms were clean and tidy... We especially liked the fact that we were so close to the beach. And the walk into town was a short 15 min. treck..
Bill and Phyliss were very helpful in getting us lined up on things to do. The zip line is only a couple of blocks away, a must do. and the turtle egg laying tour comes to the Fenix to pick you up... couldn't ask for anything more... The store is also a couple of blocks away and has most everything you need for your stay.
Bill and Phyliss went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We even got to meet their grandsons. The older grandson would bring fresh bakery good that his Mom bakes up every morning. Yummy... and then in the afternoon, the Ceviche


lady would come around... Don't get much better than that..
Anyhow, If you are looking for a Clean,& comfortable place to stay that is close to town, and has a great view the Fenix is the place to stay...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

We began our Costa Rican adventure at the Fenix which turned out the be a good choice.
The other guests while we were there return each year, but we were included as part of the group for the bonfire, fireworks, etc. We liked the well appointed kitchen, the ability to walk to town, and being right on the beach. Phyllis and Bill make guests feel like they are home.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

If you are looking for a place that is homey, comfortable and offers all you need to settle right into living on the beach this is the place. The Pacific at your doorstep, hammocks and loungers in the shade of palm trees,friendly owners and staff, equipped kitchens and even a small pool, you might never even budge except to go to the nearby grocery store although the town is only a 15 minute beach walk. Units are close so you will know who your neighbors are and that seemed to add to the charm since everyone's real focus is the sea which will lull you to sleep at night or into a nice siesta.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This small hotel is a great find. It was the perfect place for a quiet start to our vacation. We stayed for 6 days over christmas and loved the location, staff and other guests- we were even surprised with a plate of cookies, from Santa (otherwise known as Phyllis) in Christmas morning! Phyllis and Bill, the owners, are very nice and helpful with information about scheduling tours (zip lining, fishing, etc.) and giving general info about the area. Each unit has a kitchen which was great for making our own dinners after a lazy day on the beach. On most days a neighborhood women comes with Ceviche in the morning and a man comes with fresh fish at night. Phyllis's daughter also comes with great cinnamon roles and other pastries in the morning.
We had such a great time that we are already talking about when we can go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Fenix turned out to be exactly what we had hoped for - simple, casual, friendly, and right on the beach. We stayed over Christmas for 3 nights and my family loved the place. it is not a luxury resort, so if that's what you you want, don't go to Samara. Fenix was clean, comfortable and had it's own little charms, exactly as advertised on their website. Our room was just large enough for 2 adults and 2 teenagers (we put the kids in the bedroom so they could sleep late) and took the reasonably comfortable fold down bed in the main room. We made coffee with the Costa Rican coffee apparatus they provided, getting local coffee from the store around the corner, and put our table outside to enjoy the morning. The owner's grandson came around at 9.30 each AM to sell homemade muffins and pastries. A little lady comes by every day to sell ceviche by the cup - it is excellent, definitely try it. Just steps outside our door were places for each of us to find a spot to enjoy the view - by the tiny pool, by our table, in a hammock, on a beach lounger, or in the sand under a palm tree.
The walk to town on the beach was about 15 easy minutes at low tide, with easy access to the surfing school (Pato's) where my family hung out. We flagged down the caballero on the beach for an hour long horse ride before sunset.

Bill and Phyllis were very friendly and attentive, and the staff kept the small grounds clean and well maintained. Beer and water in the bodega room, just sign for what you take on the honor list. The 3 cats and a dog were part of the whole scene. Thanks to Phyllis for the homemade cookies delivered to our door on Christmas morning! Another nice feature was the excellent WIFI on the grounds, so we could use our iPad to plan the day, check tides (for surfing) and weather, etc... while sitting under the palms.

Any downside? No restaurant immediately nearby, so you need to drive (5 mins) or walk to town.

The best thing about Fenix is that it is "on the beach". They are correct in saying no other hotel in Samara is so close to the sand. So if you want to be right there by the sand, the water and the sunset, Fenix is a great choice. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms, and they're all in the same place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilma45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Fenix Hotel this past November for 2 weeks. Another Great Stay as I have been staying at the Fenix whenever I have been in CR for the past 13 years.Fenix is exactly what I am looking for, a clean well maintained and friendly place to relax, unwind and recharge my batteries. Bill, Phyllis and family work hard to help folks enjoy a tranquill environment. The hotel has the feel of an apartment while being in a hotel away from the main town. The kitchens are a huge plus as well as being right on the beach with a short (15 minute) walk to town or a brief stroll to the local store where you can find most everything to fix a meal. Local vendors stop by with fruits, vegatables, fresh baked goods and what is not offered Bill and Pyhillis are happy to help find and have delivered when possible. I will be back there again this year and for some time to come.

Room Tip: I have used all of the rooms. They are all good and if AC is required there is a Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryonAlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Looking back at some of the previous reviews, lets be clear.. this place is not the Hilton and doesn't try to be. Its a simple, clean place to stay right on the beach in Samara. I don't think there is another hotel in Samara where you can walk from your room straight onto the beach. Owners Bill and Phyllis were friendly and helpful. All the units face the pool, we prepped most of our meals while watching the kids in the pool. There is a small grocery store about a block away, which had everything you need to make simple meals. We had a rental SUV and drove into town to eat and shop and do surf lessons.... it is about a 15-20 minute walk down the beach.
To me it has a B&B vibe (it has but you make your own breakfast :) , most of the guests sat outside their units and chatted a bit in the evening and mealtimes. We met a lot of friendly people.
So I definately reco this place, it met all my expectations based on my pre-trip research. We wanted a place to wind down on the beach after our previous town hopping (La Fortuna and Monteverde), somewhere that was away from It always takes a few days to adjust a new place..I'm not sure its possible to wind down and if you only stayed one night. We stayed 5 nights and I really didn't want to leave. If we ever get the chance to return to Samara, this will be the place to stay.
The only Con I noted was the roosters, dogs and Howler monkeys that start their serenade at 3am... but that is CR, early to bed, early to rise.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zombieda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
220 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: £80 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing