We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“We love this place!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have been to the Fenix hotel twice and we just love it there. It is small, cozy, friendly and right on the beach. Plus there are so many nice little details that make it really special: smooth cotton sheets; fresh, fluffy thick towels; hammocks and comfortable (not plastic!) lounge chairs facing the ocean, perfect for reading and relaxing in the shade of the palm trees; a fully equipped kitchen, plus a book exchange, beach toys, laundry, and beverages. There are only six apartments that all open onto a small pool and garden with tropical plants, so it's very private and relaxing. Definitely a great place for people who want to enjoy the beach away from the crowds.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    95
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
210
204
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our stay at the Fenix was delightful. It is right on the beach & truly for those that want to be more on their own rather than in a large resort. It is quaint, with only 6 rooms, all opening right onto a pool & the beach, with boogy boards, hammocks & lounges all at your disposal. The owners, Phyllis & Bill, spent time talking to us and made us feel quite at home - they operate on the honor system in many regards, which was very refreshing! The rooms were cleaned daily & the staff very friendly & helpful. Our room had 2 fans, which I had been worried about, but was more than fine for Feb. It's about a mile from Samara, which was an easy walk on the beach or a quick, cheap cab ride. The only negative thing was a local rooster who decided to make his voice known very early in the morning. The fishermen come ashore nightly & we bought fresh fish twice, which they filleted right there & we brought it back & BBQ'd it right on the beach. We totally enjoyed our relaxing stay there & would highly recommend it. Since it's small we got know some of the others staying there & found it very impressive that several people came annually for their vacation & I'd definitely stay there again myself.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryH051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Fenix has a uniquely perfect location on Samara beach: 15-20 minutes walk to the town of Samara, close enough that you can walk in for a dinner, supplies, or just an ice cream, but far enough that you don't see or hear the surfing schools or bars. We loved their wonderful shady area with hammocks on the oceanfront, other hotels without the shade trees must hang their hammocks at room patios - it's too hot to lie in the sun.

It's a perfect place for a quiet vacation. We loved it, and we're planning to return.

Room Tip: one of the rooms (room 6) has been upgraded as a demo for a timeshare conversion that never happened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My family was looking forward to this trip to Costa Rica for a year and finally arriving at the Fenix On The Beach brought tears to my eyes- it was so much more beautiful than I expected and so much more than a "hotel", it's your own little place in paradise. You're literally on the beach, opening the curtains in the morning was the best! Upon our arrival we were offered some fresh lobster (literally right off the boat arriving on the beach) by a local fisherman which we purchased for an amazing price- we bought some butter and garlic from the local store up the road and my husband cooked it up in our little kitchen and we enjoyed fresh lobster on the beach at sunset. Phyllis has arranged multiple little strategically placed sitting areas on the beach with lounge chairs, benches hammocks and tables to enjoy food, beverages, books, the breeze, the view....Our suite/room was so clean, updated and nicely decorated in a appealing beachy style- the sheets were soft and the bed comfortable, I felt like I was staying at someone's well cared for home. It was so nice to have the private master bedroom, which was larger than expected. So many special details, like fresh flowers, plenty of little floor mats to wipe sandy feet, indoor and outdoor tables. We loved that we could watch our daughters swim in the little pool while we were in the kichen or enjoying our outdoor table. The complimentry boogie boards were a huge hit with the girls (10 & 7) and Playa Samara is so perfect for kids to swim and enjoy the ocean. The early mornings and evenings are so gorgeous, we strolled along the beach to the restaurants along the shore and ate our meals with our feet in the sand. At night the restaurants are lit up with white lights and candles. If you like running, it's a great stretch of beach for a run. We loved the privacy of this small local town and felt so comfortable here. We visited Tamarindo Beach and Rio Celeste during our trip and all voted Playa Samara our favorite. Lastly, don't miss the freshly baked muffins brought around by Phyllis's daughter in the mornings! We can't wait to return, thank you so much Phyllis and Bill for exceeding our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We consider ourselves lucky to have found such a nice small, quiet hotel just by reading reviews on trip advisor. The rooms were very nice and comfortable at night just with the ceiling fans and the air flow thru the rooms.Phyllis and Bill were always willing to share whatever info you needed. The beach lounge chairs and hammocks were comfortable and just 50 feet from the ocean. We bought a fresh fish and cooked it one evening. It is easy to get to,close enough to Samara to walk and far enough to be quiet. Small pool but clean and refreshing. We enjoyed our time there and would go back again.!! We will recommend staying at the Fenix to our friends.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms and they all were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougnJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was our 5th trip to the Hotel Fenix on the beach in Playa Samara. This time we took our 5 year old grandson. He had the time of his life, swimming at the pool, playing in the ocean, picking up shells, playing with sand toys (available at the Bodaga) and meeting people. We were able to book tours and events at from our room. This is a place to relax and enjoy life as it should be. Choose your daily activities from the beach, no traffic, no crowds, and no hassels. We have meet some very nice poeple at the Hotel, doing what we do, relaxing and enjoying the experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bud49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just returned from our seventh month-long visit to the Hotel Fenix in Playa Samara, Costa Rica. This was easily the best of the seven; our hosts couldn't have done more for us as far as making us comfortable and happy, going out of their way to throw in extra little perks.
This year, a remarkable event occurred: one Sunday, the bay was filled with sea bass just waiting for the 100s of fishermen lined up waist-deep in water to pull them in. Needless to say, that evening we all had sea bass for supper, literally pulled straight from the water and onto the barbecue. We also had fresh lobster and shrimp in plenitude brought round by the fishermen to the hotel.
The only disappointment was that the beach in front of the hotel was littered with mounds of rock and coral deposited there by a big storm a couple of years ago. But it was also fascinating to watch the high tides slowly clear them away twice a day. Low tide, however, was stone-free and one could walk at least 200 meters out on a soft sandy bottom.
A memorable holiday. Thank you, Phyllis and Bill.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cryptichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Property: Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing