We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place, fantastic location, friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place, fantastic location, friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

If you want to stay on the beach in Samara, you'll struggle to beat Fenix Hotel.

The location just can't be beaten - you can close your door, and have your feet in the sand of the fantastic Samara beach in about fifteen seconds! It's a ten minute walk along the beach from the centre of Samara (to the south end I think), so is away from any evening noise, with minimal effort to get to the majority of shops/restaurants etc. You can even walk to the next beach (Playa Carillho) in about 30-40 minutes from here if you want.

The rooms - I'm not sure how mine (I had room no. 1) compares to the others, but it had a reasonably large sized bedroom with double bed, with a decent sized kitchen/dining area with large window looking out to the beach through the palm trees. Be aware that these rooms (apart from room 6 I believe) have a combination of windows and net covers, so from a noise perspective its like having all your windows permenantly open. This wasn't really a problem for me, becuase it is in such a quiet area, but I'd imagine might bother some people. The rooms were pretty simple, but nicely decorated, and clean, with everything you'll need, including a large fridge. There were also fresh flowers, which was a nice touch. No a/c, but I was there in December, and you didn't even need the fan at night, so it was no problem. Wifi was reliable.

The place - just 6 rooms, around a small pool, separated from the beach by just a few palm trees. There is no bar or restaurant at the hotel, but you don't need to go far for anything. You can borrow a boogie board any time, and help yourself to cold drinks (just note down what you've taken to put it on your room tab), and there are washing machines if you need to do your laundry. The American owners (Phyllis and Bill) are happy to happy to help you with any trips or travel plans etc. (They mentioned I should try a "pipa" coconut water, and then had the cleaner leave one in my room for me later that day! (By the way, they also look after a couple of disabled squirrels!)) There is also a thorough information pack in the room when you arrive, with suggested tours, and lots of details about the local area - all very organised!

All in all, a simple but pleasant and well run place, with a perfect location. Fenix Hotel is difficult to beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    95
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
208
204
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Fenix is among the nicest little hotels we have been to in our travels through Central America. It is attractive and clean, the American owners are friendly and know the area well. The kitchen in our room was well equipped and there is a good local tienda for fast groceries (a Pali for harder to find things in the town of Samara about 2 k away walking along the beach). The Fenix is quiet, with a well kept beach front, lots of shade, boogie boards for general use in the surf. Many of the guests were repeat visitors or had been recommended to the hotel by friends. Its the sort of place you don't want to tell too many people about because you'd like to go back yourself. The only thing I might wish for would be fewer roosters gracing the yards of the Fenix's Tico neighbours. If you are a light sleeper you might want to pack earplugs. The really nice thing about the Fenix and Samara in general is that is is not overdeveloped. Its a sweet place for a quiet vacation on great beach.

Room Tip: They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenSnapdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Our family of 4 spent three nights at Fenix Hotel this past December. We loved having the beach just footsteps away and our 4 yr old and 9 yr old loved using the boogie boards provided by the hotel. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk on the beach to town. The beach was tranquil and there were no riptides to worry about. We loved making our own meals and then hanging out and dining around the pool area to wrap up the day while the kids swam. We will be visiting Samara again in March and plan to stay at Fenix Hotel once again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tecmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We spent three nights at the Fenix this month and did not want to leave! The rooms, actually all fully equipped apartments, are right on the beach, set around a small swimming pool and surrounded by tropical gardens. We found three sets of fresh flowers in our apartment when we arrived, which was a really nice touch. The hotel couldn't be any closer to the beach, you literally walk out of your room and are only meters from the sand. There are several hammocks and sun chairs, and you can rent boogie boards for free! Phyllis and Bill are welcoming hosts and were always around for a chat with the guests who were around during our stay. We loved the Costa Rican-style coffee maker in our apartment, and the kitchen even came with a blender. Phyllis recommended an inexpensive Tico store just down the road where we got everything we needed for a homemade breakfast. Every day when we returned from the beach, our room was cleaned and the apartment was always spotless. Highly recommend The Fenix and hope we will get the chance to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrottergirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We are very pleased to have found this gem of a place to visit and revisit. It is the perfect place for families, slightly away from town (a beautiful 10 minute walk) on a gorgeous beach. There were no rip tides to worry about and my six year old learned how to boggie board on the boards provide free by the owners. There is no extra charge for children which make it a wonderful value.

Phyllis, one of the owners, was very helpful providing us with detail instructions on how to get to an amazing tidal pool and other activities that were for free. She went above and beyond any owner I've met so far throughout Costa Rica, and we've seen many places as we are living here for a couple years.

The room was clean, bright, and cheerful. The kitchen was well equip with Phyllis loaning me a special pineapple cutter. And there is a small store within walking distance.

The hotel is located in a Tico neighborhood with many friendly folks, but it is a different standard of living from the United States that may make folks who like fancy resort uncomfortable. On the other hand, it's a laid back, friendly place with average Costa Ricans. It's the real deal, in an incredible setting.

We heard a howler monkey growling in the morning, and the call of roosters (which is common in many places in CR). So if you're a light sleeper, ear plugs may come in handy.

We plan to go back, bringing family and friends along with us!

Room Tip: There is air conditioning in room 6. But we were fine with the fans inside and the breeze from the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We had the best vacation because we stayed at Fenix Hotel. It is right on the beach with a very nice small pool. There is an outdoor shower so you can get the sand off your feet before you walk into your room after playing in the surf. Plenty of hammocks, tables and lounge chairs right on the beach, you can get oh so comfortable. There are boogie boards to use whenever you want them (the kids were so stoked). For younger kids they had a bunch of sand toys. The couple that runs this place pays attention to the details. I love that! Don't miss the baked goods that come around for sale in the late morning. OMG - everything is so delicious and I am a foodie snob. Our room was perfect, clean, well equipped and beds were very comfortable. We had a very nice view of the beach from our room. Thanks Fenix.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraavlBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

It was a great stay and nice location to kick back and learn to surf. A little store is nearby and a lady comes through every couple of days with great ceviche and your are also brought fresh cinnamon buns- delicious!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Property: Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing