We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
sdq1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during the green season, and had a wonderful time. The owners are friendly and helpful and we felt safe and relaxed at all times.

The hotel is a little bit outside of town but there is everything you need within 2 blocks- including a restaurant/ bar, fish market, small grocery store, and a great zip-line tour operation. Right at the hotel there is a laundry room and a cooler with drinks you can purchase as you go.

We cooked most of our meals at home and spent most of our time reading on the beach, swimming, and walking around the small town. If you want to relax and don't need to be constantly entertained this is a great place to stay for more than a couple nights. We loved it!

  • Liked — Location on the beach, laid-back atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Rooms are not terribly private (windows open at all times) but it wasn't a problem.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    95
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
207
204
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

Our family of four stayed at the Fenix Hotel for four nights, and we were absolutely pleased with everything about this little hotel. The location couldn't be better - you literally walk out of your room and you're on the beach! We had to move the chaise lounges back during high tide...it is truly beach front! We liked the fact that it is away from the main part of Samara - it was quiet and relaxing. The walk to town on the beach is lots of fun and very quick so we didn't feel isolated.

The hotel is very clean with excellent maid service. The pool, though small, was clean and refreshing. There is gorgeous landscaping with flowers, palms, mango trees - everything tropical you can imagine. Our kids loved the big iguana that lives nearby, the "laughing geckos", and the squirrels. We heard and saw howler monkeys nearby.

The owners, Bill and Phyllis, were terrific. They gave us good advice and were fun to talk to. Phyllis drove us to a nearby river where we fed chicken legs to a crocodile...yep, a 12 foot crocodile! It was something we'll never forget.

We ate out a few times, but were glad to have the small kitchen. The cold drinks (available on the honor system) were a nice touch, too.

We loved the Fenix. If you're looking for a relaxing, authentic feeling experience (rather than a glitzy resort), you'll love it too!

  • Liked — Access to the safe beach
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJWOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2008

We just returned from a 9 night stay at Hotel Fenix. We loved this little hotel situated right on the beach! It has a great little pool, beautiful landscaping, very comfortable rooms with a complete kitchen, fans in each room, hot water, a bodega where you can get all your cold beverages, laundry.., . If you are looking for a chill little relaxing place to enjoy the amazing beach and play in the waves, this hotel is perfect. It had all that my two kids (ages 6 and 8 ) and I needed including free use of their boogie boards. The owners Bill and Phyllis are very hospitable as well ,and really made us feel at home there. Phyllis's daughter is an amazing baker who brings fresh baked bananna bread, and cinnamon rolls by in the morning. There is a market behind the hotel that sells about everything. It's a bit of a walk from the hotel to the town of Samara, about 10-15 minutes strolling on the beach. We generally walked in for dinner and took a cab home that ran around 1000 colones($2.00 US).
There is also a great surf school next door(Samara Surf School) where my 8 year old was up and surfing on his second wave. They offer some very challenging yoga and pilates classes right on the beach that are taught by a certified instructor.
!Es Pura vida!
Stephanie Irving,
Winter Park, CO
Los EEUU

  • Liked — Location, amenities, size
  • Disliked — The insects
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milagroWinterPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2008

A great place to stay is one that overcomes the sudden adverse conditions with grace and style. The Fenix Hotel did this with high marks. We recently stayed at the Fenix for two nights during what turned out to be the first tropical storm of the season. Torrential rains and high winds were in full force, but our adventure was something we'll remember for a long time and the Fenix provided the perfect safe harbor for the storm. The owners went out of their way to ensure that we had all the provisions we needed when the lights went out in the entire area because of down trees.
The quaint hotel is absolutely perfect for enjoying the area - far enough from town that you feel out of the traffic, but close enough that you can either walk into town or drive for only a few minutes.
Although we can't speak to the wonderful beach conditions, etc. I can only imagine how perfect this place would be in the sun.
Great beach chairs, cute tables to sit and play cards, the foliage is amazing. I hope we get an opportunity to go back, but if you are visiting this area, I would highly recommend the Fenix.
The rooms are large and beautifully decorated - the shower is a walk in with more than enough hot water. Kitchen fully stocked, so that you could cook your own meals, if you desire.
Great place!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank parrot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

We stayed at the Fenix once again this January and February, it is even better than last year, the rooms have all been updated and the updating was very well done. Had a great time and enjoyed this wonderful little place even more this year.

Booked already for next year too.

  • Liked — The king size bed and the beautiful beach front garden
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Endlesstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

Just got back from an amazing 2 week trip and we stayed 2 nights at Hotel Fenix....but wish we had stayed longer. Our room was #2 and it consisted of a full kitchen, bedroom and sitting area. The kitchen had pots, pans, dishes etc. There was a safe in the bottom cabinet. the kitchen table had fresh flowers on it which was a very nice touch. The shower was huge and the water warm. The bedroom was large, and it had a king size bed, closet, 2 end tables and a great fan. There is not a/c, but we never needed it. The breeze kept us cool. The hotel is basically about 6 rooms/apartments in a half moon shape facing the pool and beach. The rooms were clean and I never saw any ants, bugs, etc. in the room. There is a grocery store (very small) down the street, but it had everything you needed. We had sandwiches and breakfasts there at the hotel, which was very nice....especially after eating out every day the previous week. The beach is absolutely gorgeous! The lounge chairs were dark wood which cushions on top....very comfortable! We sat at the lounge chairs from 9-6 one day and it was the best day of my whole trip! There are drinks and beer available and it is based on the honor system. You just mark down how many beers, water, colas you used and pay for them when you leave.....a very nice touch. Our kitchen did not have a coffee maker, but had a coffee sock, like the Costa Ricans use. I absolutely loved it!! The hotel does not accept credit cards so we paid for the room in full via paypal before we left to Costa Rica (we didn't want to carry a lot of cash). You need to bring bug spray if you want to hang out on the beach at night.

When we were there, the hotel was full and all of the other guests were repeat customers. That says a lot right there. I hesitated to write a review because I don't want everyone to know about this one....but I thought I owed the review to the owners, Phylis and Bill, who were outstanding hosts.

We've already decided that when we got back to Costa Rica, we will stay here for our beach stay....there is no need to go to any other beach location. Samara is beautiful and Hotel Fenix was perfect.

  • Liked — The room and the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorna216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

Hotel fenix was a great place to stay i stayed there for 10 days and had a safe and fun time no problems with anything. The owners are good people and friendly and i would stay there again next time iam in samara.

  • Liked — on the beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sabre2ooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Property: Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing