We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Hotel on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel on the Beach”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

After reading other reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to book a room at Fenix Hotel. Our hotel room was the perfect size for our family of 4 as there was a twin bed and trundle in the living area for our two boys and a queen bed in a separate bedroom. We didn't have an A/C in our suite as we stayed in a standard room, but the ceiling fan along with the ocean breeze coming through our windows kept us cool. Despite the fact that we ate at the local restaurants most of the time, I like that the room came with a kitchen (fridge, stove, sink, dinnerware & utensils) so that the we could snack and have leftovers at the hotel (there's a microwave in the bodega). The room service was wonderful--every day we came home to a clean room and when we washed our laundry in the bodega, they were quick to put our clean laundry back in our room. There isn't a pool for toddlers, but we spent most of our time in the ocean--the tide was low and gentle while we visited in March--and the beach looking for crabs, fish, and seashells. When we wanted to relax, there were plenty of beach loungers and hammocks around. It does take 15-30 minutes to walk (depending on how fast we could coax our kids to walk along) on the beach to get to a restaurant, but we enjoyed our walks and if we wanted to get to a restaurant faster, we drove our car and it was only a few minutes away. I think the only negative parts of our stay were that the shower's highest heat setting was warm (it was hot once, though) and the neighbor's roosters crowing in the morning. Oh, and please don't forget your insect repellent! Phyllis and Bill are great--very informative and helpful during our stay. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xomaricel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    95
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
210
204
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was our second trip to the Fenix and our third to CR. We were there last year and decided to return again. We love so many things about this little piece of paradise: friendly Phyllis & Bill, proximity to the water, the delightful hammocks, the fresh fruit truck, homemade pastries, to-die-for cerviche, walking down the beach for dinner - or cooking fresh seafood either from the local fishermen as they come in with their catch at around 4:30 or from the Pescaderia around the corner, feeding the crocs at the crocodile bridge at Playa Carillo and watching the amazing sunset. It all works! The rooms are configured in a half circle and all have a view of the water. This, as others have mentioned, is perfect for getting to know other travelers staying at the hotel. Many of us gathered around 2 tables at night after the children were in bed and enjoyed a nice glass of wine, beer from the bodega, and stories of our vastly different lives. A hat that won't blow away in the breeze is a must, as is the sunscreen! The hotel is right on the beach, the salt air can take it's toll but Phyllis and Bill do try to keep up with things and the rooms are cleaned daily by two wonderful women. This is not the JW, it's smack in the heart of a small tico neighborhood with dogs, chickens and all. This unpretentious hotel is truly a slice of paradise cut into the heart of a typical CR setting. If you want to experience a quaint CR surf town (not as built up as Tamarindo) then this is an excellent choice! Pura Vida! Smile :-)

Room Tip: Room #6 is the most up to date, the only one with A/C and its own microwave. There is a microwave i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenix_Samara, General Manager at Fenix Hotel - On The Beach, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
I love your name “Smiley”. When you first arrived you were smiling because, as you said, you were so happy to be back. The entire time here, you had a smile on your face. It is nice to be part of something that is so positive. It is nice to have such nice families return. Thank you.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Phyllis & Bill @ The Fénix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to CR and cant wait to get back. Phillis, Bill and their family make you feel warm and welcome, even letting me play with their pets (missed the furkids from home). The rooms are set up well, beds are comfy and the sound of the waves do lull you to sleep. Most everyone sits and eats outside around the pool which is the perfect temp to cool down from the heat.. Theres an honour system soda and beer fridge if you run out in the bodega, and the bbq area is now my favorite kitchen in the world to cook in. You can buy fish from the boats when they come home, fruit mongers come to the front sometimes and their daughter runs a bakery in town and sends her son over with delicious foccaccia, quiche, muffins and cin rolls to purchase. There is an excellent little corner store where you can get charcoal for the bbq, some veggies, bread, milk, wine, groceries etc that had great prices. Hammocks are comfy to read and fall asleep in under the palms watching the ocean.Chat with neighbors, or go for a boogie in the waves. If you dont feel like cooking, walk to town via the beach, its nicer and shorter than the road. Walk to the south end of the beach for a snorkel over the rocks to see damsels, angels, wrasse and blennys.
Bring sun screen, bug spray and anti itch as the noseeum bites are relentless if you itch just once.
Fenix is a warm, friendly relaxed hotel away from the bustle of town but close enough to be a part of it, with everything you need to forget where you came from with your bum in a hammock and toes in the sand.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoryWynnLyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had never been to Costa Rica before and choose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. It did not disappoint!! The rooms were clean, the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and Phyllis and Bill were very hospitable hosts. It felt like vacationing with a bunch of friends. The rooms are quaint and cozy, very clean and well kept. We're looking forward to many more trips!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willernie, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

If you're looking for beautiful scenery, tranquility, lovely accommodations and friendly people, look no further! I went on this trip with four friends, hoping for a relaxing spring break and Bill and Phyllis at the Fenix Hotel more than exceeded our expectations. The hotel is quaint but completely accommodating, we didn't lack for any anything (other than cell phone service, Verizon doesn't work in Costa Rica - Oh well! Didn't miss it! The Wi-Fi worked fine for contacting family back home.) Three of us stayed in room #6, a beautiful, fully equipped room with air conditioning. Everything worked like clockwork (were there clocks there? I don't remember and didn't care!). The pool out front is small but just right for a quick cooling off dip if you're not wishing to swim the salty ocean water. Speaking of ocean water, what a beautiful beach! Most times we were the only people on our beach or in the surf. They provided us with boogie boards - perfect waves, we had so much fun! Bill and Phyllis went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and fun filled, we arrived as strangers but left feeling like family. Thank you so much, I will be back again, and again, and again!

Lori, Willernie, Minnesota

Room Tip: If you must have AC, go for room #6. We could have lived without it, but it was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori_Minnesnowta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just a few girlfriends traveling to the best little hotel, in the best little town. The owners, Bill and Phyllis go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need, all questions answered. They have created a beautiful oasis in the sand, with trees and bushes abound. Hammocks and chairs and loungers enough for all.
I loved the Tico neighborhood, with a grocery market just a few doors down, and a fresh fish market just around the corner. We cooked some of our meals in our room, or used the Bar-b-q while watching the beach and also took a short walk to town to enjoy many of the wonderful food and drinks. Getting money at the two banks and countless ATM's was never a problem.
The beach is long and great for running or just a quiet stroll, with so many things catching the eye.
I have been to Mexico a few times and around Costa Rica some, and I strongly feel that the Fenix Hotel was by far the bast vacation experience I have ever had, so much so, that I shed a few tears leaving.
Every person we met in town was so very friendly (Hi, Nick St. Clair) either getting directions or getting help with the exchange rate.
If you want a romantic little spot, or a family trip, or just a few friends hanging out, i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the deluxe room with A/C, but you really do not need it with the wonderful breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freezin_in_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My second visit to CR was a delightful surprise on several counts. The drive from Liberia seemed a lot shorter than last year as it was mostly on paved roads. The Fenix Hotel was nestled in a palm oasis, a semi circle of six rooms with a delightfully refreshing pool in the center. Sixty feet through the palm trees(depending on the tides) awaits the ocean, with an amazing warm soothing temperature. The afternoon bogey board surfing was great fun for all!
The kitchen has everything to keep a cook happy and nearby fishermen kept us supplied with fresh fish. On nights the cook went on vacation we walked down the beach towards Samara finding many great restaurants facing the beach ten minutes away.
The Fenix was a comfortable and relaxing vacation getaway off the beaten track hosted by Phyllis and Bill. Don't forget to ask what time Jessica the amazing baker comes by with her unforgettable cinnamon buns and variety of equally wonderful delights.

Room Tip: All rooms have adequate fans, one room has a/c, if this is desired ask for room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Property: Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing