We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little part of paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2008

When we arrived at the Fenix Hotel I felt like I had just stepped into paradise it was so charming and lovely. The grounds were beautiful and inviting and the flowers were spectacular!. Our accomadations were excellent,. Step outside and you were right by the pool or a few steps to the beautiful beach, with water like a huge big relaxing warm bath and a great hammack or beach furniture to relax on and read or just take in the beauty and peaceful atmosphere. Our accomadations were extremely clean, well equipped and very comfortable. The owners Bill and Phyllis assured us that if we needed anything to just let them know and they would help us with it. We rented a car to do some site seeing and Phyllis made all the calls and arrangements to get it for us! She was helpful with suggestions on places to see and points of interest. Both Bill and Phyllis could not have been more hospitable or friendly. The maid service was better than some places I have stayed in the States! We liked it so well we recommended it to our friends and they went and said they were definately going back again. We are definately looking forward to when we can go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Fenix for a few days of our honeymoon and it was a piece of paradise. The large rooms with full kitchen are very comfortable and clean. All the rooms face the beautifully landscaped gardens and the ocean. There is nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of the surf just 25 meters away. Bill and Phyllis are wonderful hosts and it was a pleasure talking with them during our stay. There is a great Mexican restaurant a short walk away as well as a beach front bar. The town of Samara is a leisurely 20 minute walk right down the beach. Whether you're looking to fall asleep in a hammock with your favorite book or to go boogie boarding in the perfect surf, grab a cold beer or juice from the honor bar and have a great time at Fenix!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McD_In_Ocotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

It is a very nice hotel, in front of the beach, clean, and a very good price. I liked so much that if I had the money I will buy it!!. The owners are very kind, and they do everything to make you feel confortable. I am sure that if I decided to come back to Samara I will like to book it again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Norafrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Started our 4th trip to CR at Fenix again – and felt totally relaxed after about a day and a half... We’re traveling w/2 kids (under 10yrs old) and this hotel is small, but definitely a GEM:
* the property is right on the beach and the kids just go back and forth between the ocean and the pool. It’s small enough so you don’t lose track of the young ones (plus we picked Samara b/c there’s a reef outside that breaks the big waves).
* Hammocks and lounge chairs are nicely arranged in a beautifully landscaped garden (between pool and beach) with birds, lizards, crabs. The owner even showed us some fruit bats in one of the palm trees. With ocean view and the peaceful setting you can get lost in a book or sit on the beach at night to watch lightning out at sea.
* Another great thing about the setup of Fenix is that the rooms have kitchenettes. With the small supermarket about 75m away and locals coming by with fresh fruits or fish, you can be independent and don’t have to run out for every meal (which again is a real plus when traveling with kids). There are plenty of restaurants in Samara to choose from if you’d rather have someone else do the cooking.
* The owners keep the place in good shape, even build the furniture – they are an amazing combination of hard working and laid back. Hint: Their daughter makes *awesome* pastries or even birthday cakes.
* Stuff to do: Jesse’s Surf School very close and very good, too. And there is lots of stuff to do in the area (we always rented a car): Carillo Beach (about 6km South) is a picture perfect palm-lined white beach with easy access and no development. This is where you can feed crocs, too (nearby creek). Always a highlight for our gang. When the timing is right, there are some beaches in the area where turtles come ashore at night to lay their eggs. We’ve been to nearby tide pools and water falls for more swimming.
We've traveled through CR quite a bit, usually trying to stay away from the hustle of the tourist spots. Fenix, hands down, is one of our favorite places to relax - kids and grown-ups alike.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank guenthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Although we were really afraid, that Fenix Beach is that much above our budget, the very friendly American owner gave us a really good price for the wonderful apartment. The apartments all are very clean (you can flush toilet paper...!!!) and have kitchens. There's a pool which you can use and they have a bodega where you can buy some cold drinks or use the washing machine,so you don't have to go to Samara downtown for laundry service. It is pretty cool, that you can also borrow the Boogie Boards for free. One of the best things at the hotel is that it's located directly on the Beach. They have hammocks and canvas chairs in the palm garden in front of the sandy beach and Samara's oldest Surf School is just 20 meters away. There is a really great mexican restaurant and two bars close to the hotel, as well as a little supermarket. If you don't have a car but a lot of luggage, you should look for a taxi, because it's a little outside of Samara downtown, which means about 1 kilometer. But during the day you can walk from downtown to the hotel at the Beach, it's a really nice walk. The owners are really nice, they help you and really care about you (i.e. the morning we left it started raining and they gave us a ride to the bus station), also they have good advices what to do (they don't want to sell tours, they just give suggestions) and where to do. If we should go back to Samara, we would stay there again, we had a really great stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Close to the beach
Small and private
It was nice to have more than one room and feel like the place was yours.
Clean
Lots of birds and critters to look at
Kitchenette was great with fine dishes and equipment

Hot water in showers only but that works fine and is common in Costa Rica

Fresh towels available but you might like to bring napkins or paper towels for the kitchen

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MEE08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I made my reservation at the Fenix based upon the reviews found here on TripAdvisor. After experiencing it for myself I understand why it has received so many 5-star reviews. The owners, Phyllis and Bill, are super friendly and helpful and I think that I was the only first-timer staying there; the rest of the place was full of long-time customers. This does not surprise me, as I am sure that the next time I am in Samara I will be staying at the Fenix. Beautiful accomodations (with a fully stocked kitchen), fantastic location, and wonderful people.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bajarnicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
220 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: £79 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing