We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place for my 10 yr old daughter and me to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2009

We stayed only one night, which was too short, but it was still well worth it. We wanted a quiet sunny beach where we could swim and relax. Eating in was easy in the well stocked kitchenette. Friendly owners and guests. I had read the report about the burglery, but still chose to try it based on our friends' recommendation, and I would go back in a heartbeat! We felt safe and comfortable. Boogie boards and sand toys were available to use for free. We were literally ON the beach. It was great.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Fenix on the Beach from Feb. 24th to March 4, 2009 and had a wonderful vacation. Phyllis and Bill, our hosts, have been most helpful; at the same time they have been discreet and present. The garden and the beach are particularly inviting and we have spent numerous hours on the beach chairs and hammocks. We have also appreciated having the occasion to buy fresh quiches and pastry from Phillis' daughter. The sea is beatiful and it was a delight to watch the sunset every day over Samara. We recommend the hotel specially for families and people appreciating relaxation and a quiet place. Jacques from Montréal.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacques37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Our stay at the Fenix was the most enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable vacation ever. Tucked away at the "quiet" end of the beach, it is almost like you are the only one on the beach. This is really "on the beach", only a few steps from your room to the beach. The rooms are clean, colorful and tastefully decorated set up like a suite with a separate bedroom area with everything imaginable to make your stay comfortable. The equipped kitchen is wonderful for days that you want to stay in and cook , much of the food is provided by the local vendors, including fresh vegetables, fruits, local fish, shrimp and lobster; not to mention the wonderful pastries baked by Bill and Phyllis's daughter Jessica delivered fresh and hot to your door every morning. Often you do not even have to leave to shop, the wonderful foods are brought right to you and there is a grocery within walking distance for any necessities.
Outside the room you will find a beautiful garden with pool, the surroundings are breathtaking, you are truly in another world.
I can't say enough about the owners, Bill and Phyllis. These great people graciously take care of anything you need arranging transportation, answering questions and assisting in anything you need to make your stay safe and comfortable. This is a very quiet and safe hotel, with a night guard keeping a careful eye on the hotel from dusk to daylight.
The help at the hotel is delightful! Bambi the grounds keeper will entertain you without even trying and Sandra the housekeeper is very friendly and helpful. Everyone we came in contact with made our stay the best vacation ever.
After staying at The Fenix for 10 days, I can't think of a thing that could have made it any better except for more time! There is nowhere else I will ever go on vacation and can't wait until the next time to see all my many friends at the Fenix and Samara.
Thank you all for a unforgettable wonderful stay!
Vicki

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohkygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

My husband and I were so fortunate to spend the month of February at the Fenix. Bill and Phyllis are the perfect hosts, helpful, kind and upbeat. We have travelled to many places but have never been this excited about going back. The beach is right out of paradise. It was great to meet local people and be able to interact and not feel like we were just at any old resort. I will rate this as one of the best vacations that we have ever had.
After returning from dinner in Samara we enjoyed a night sky that could have been right out of a child's vivid imagination. What a memory to hold. Our stay was just perfect.

Ted and Brenda
Niagara, Ontario.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiagaraOntarioTandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

So often you see advertisements of beautiful beaches with palm trees and you wonder where are those beaches! Often you are disappointed when you get to your destination because the beach doesn't look anything like the photo in the travel brochure.
Well, Fenix Hotel will not dissapoint.
We totally enjoyed our stay there for several reasons:

The beach is truly beautiful (no false advertising here!)
The rooms offer comfort and are super clean.
The view from each room is drop-dead beautiful.
The hotel is small and therefore maintains its Costa Rican charm - we didn't feel like we were in Canada or the USA!
The owners are friendly and always available.
And we loved the grounds-keeper, "Bambi". In fact, I'd like his job!!

Thanks Phyliss and Bob.....best of luck with your future plans.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaskatchewanMargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Fenix for 5 nights and very much enjoyed it. The owners, Phyllis and Bill were very welcoming and looked after us in a nice informal, down home style as we oriented ourselves to the facilities and what the hotel had to offer. The beach front is one of the nicest, if not the nicest and most private on the entire beach. We read books went for walks along the beach and enjoyed the restaurants in the small town of Samara, just a 10 minute walk up the beach.

While the six suites are right next to each other and while it is hard to avoid bumping into your neighbours we really enjoyed the ambience. In the morning we often found ourselves sitting out in front of our suite enjoying a coffee while talking to neighbours who invariably were both interesting and personable - after all, they were looking for the same ambience that we were looking for. At the same time we also discovered just how quiet and peaceful it could be - not surprising since we were all after the same peaceful and relaxing atmosphere .

The hospitality is unique. Phyllis and Bill have a deep love for their hotel, its setting and the atmosphere it projects. The culture they invoke reflects their easy going nature. A well stocked beer and refreshments fridge can be accessed anytime - just check off what you have taken. if you're short of anything just let them know and they provide it.

An earlier posting complained that Phyllis hadn't confirmed when a flight was departing (it was late) after she had kindly offered to drive her hotel guests to the airport. I can't recall when any hotel owner I have ever met offered to drive me to the airport so I was actually stimulated by the posting to find out what kind of people Phyllis and Bill really were. As it turns out they are the genuine McCoy and a real treat to know. We even had the chance to appreciate their hospitality when we tried in vain to find a cab that would drive us to the next hotel we had previously booked. After throwing up her arms at the difficulty in finding a cab she drove us herself to our next hotel. That's class and a wonderful reflection of the kind of people they are.

By the way, check out the massage lady (a friend of Phyllis's) whose name is Jane (she's Irish). My wife swears it's the best massage she has ever had.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank johnnymacx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

It has been said that the real test of something is what happens when something goes wrong. Something did go terribly wrong on our vacation and The Fenix Hotel and owners Phyllis and Bill Root failed dramatically.

While out to dinner at a near by restaurant someone broke into our unit by smashing a huge hole in the exterior wall of our bedroom. They stole everything. Surely the Fenix could not have foreseen this? No but I do have some questions.

-Why was the wall so flimsy, nothing but drywall and2x4’s?
-Why was our exterior light bulb left burnt out?
- Why didn’t the security guard come on duty until 9pm.? It is dark at 6pm. Most people are out at dinner between 6 – 9 pm . Wouldn’t it make sense to have someone watching when vacationers are out?
- Why wasn’t the room’s safe not large enough to accommodate our laptop and cameras?
- Why didn’t someone from the hotel come with us to the police station? We were robbed but their property was damaged? Did they not feel any responsibility?
- Why when the chief of police told us that all hotels, by law, had to have insurance did owner Bill Root later scream that they didn’t have any “[-] Insurance!”
- Why when we later sat down to discuss the robbery with Phyllis and Bill were we verbally abused , screamed at and subjected to menacing and threatening behaviour ?
- Why were we forced to pay the entire cost for our unit – hole in wall and all?
- After we left the police supposedly contacted the Fenix concerning the recovery of our goods. Why didn’t Phyllis take any details, what police force, a name or location? An expensive and time consuming return trip resulted in nothing being recovered and a denial that anyone had ever contacted the Fenix.

To be robbed is shocking and disturbing. However, I felt far more threatened and alarmed by the treatment dished out to us by our host Bill Root. I had to sit and listen to Billl verbally assault our friend with language like “[-]”, “ [-]” , and “Fat [-] “. I have just one last question for you – Are these the people that you want hosting your next family vacation?

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank CLP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
861 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
904 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
549 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: £81 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing