We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for a relaxing beach vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot for a relaxing beach vacation.”
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed during the third week of May, and felt that we picked the best hotel in Samara. It is right on the beach, and landscaped so that you can either sit in the shaded area of the grounds, or move the chairs about 3 feet to sit in the sun right on the beach. Samara is a beautiful beach, and the whole area was not very crowded since it is the "green season", but it really only rained at night. The service was excellent and the owners friendly and helpful in arranging transportation and pedicures. The rooms are well laid out, and have good showers, and the ocean breezes and fans keep it very comfortable. Our adult daughter was with us, and the two-rooms and whole outdoors were a perfect setup. We ate mangos that fell from the trees outside our door. It is an easy 10-15 minute walk on the beach to the town with all the restaurants, but there is a restaurant/bar 2 doors down, and a small but well stocked store just down the block. We did not need a car at all. We would definitely stay here again. FYI, there is a comfortable greyhound style bus that goes directly between Samara and San Jose for only about $8.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysfyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    95
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
210
204
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Staying at the Fenix Hotel for a week was a great way to turn 50. My husband, 9 year old daughter and I enjoyed swimming in the clear, blue water pool. Although quite small, the water is warm and it is a great place to play and cool off. It's about 6 feet away from each of the 6 rooms. Wake up, put on your swim suit and jump in. Then walk for 30 seconds and jump in the ocean. The ocean water is warm. You can get right in, without that chill, and stay in forever without getting cold. The waves were big enough for boogie boarding, yet gentle enough to feel safe and there's no undertow.

The owners Phyllis and Bill are so helpful and really made us feel at home. Their kindness added to the enjoyment of our stay.

The hotel grounds are kept very clean by the friendly staff, and there is a lot of shade. There is a huge mango tree and when the mangos fall off you can eat them! There are hammocks and lounge chairs in a shady, tropical setting.

The rooms all have a bedroom in the back, and the front room has a kitchen, dining table, and extra bed. They're not fancy, but the rooms have a personal touch, are cleaned everyday, and it felt like home. We put the table outside our room and ate all our meals outside, listening to the birds and watching the iguanas. There are ceiling fans that kept us cool at night and you can hear the ocean as you go to sleep.

Trucks will come to the hotel and you can buy fruit and vegetables, dairy products, bread, etc. Jessica comes by on some mornings selling her yummy homemade pastries and quiche. and someone selling ceviche came a couple times in the afternoon.

It is about a 15 minute walk on the beach to town. You can rent horses to ride on the beach, rent surfboards and bikes(we couldn't find any that were small enough for our 9 year old), book tours, get groceries, souveniers and go out to eat. We went ziplining, horseback riding, surfing, and on a boat to see dolphins and snorkel. Or you can just hang out at the hotel and swim or use the boogie boards they have there.

Although it was a bit of a walk to get to town, the location of the hotel is great. There is a little grocery store a block away, and a good mexican/sushi restaurant up the hill. It feels like your own private beach when you are at the Fenix.

Bill and Phyllis really make the Fenix Hotel a very special place and we had a great week there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Our family of 4 (kids 6 &3) along with our friends (kids 6 & 1) just returned from a 2 week stay at the Fenix and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

It's a great location just outside of Samara (it is a bit of a walk down the beach with little ones - 20-25 min). The setting is absolutely beautiful, who can argue with an ocean view right over the kitchen sink! The units are simple, clean, comfortable and well stocked. The small pool is nice for a change from the beach and there are plenty of cozy little nooks to settle into a hammock or lounger for some quiet time.

Bill and Phyllis were always around if we had any questions and were very helpful in suggesting some excursions and setting up transportation when we needed it. As far as practicalities; there was a grocery store right behind the hotel that stocked the basics as well as a fruit/veggie and bakery truck that comes by. The owner's daughter Jessica comes by daily with her freshly baked pastries that are FABULOUS! She made a birthday cake for us when we were down there too and that was just as good. We enjoyed a nice walk down the beach every night to Samara where we had many enjoyable meals.

We totally enjoyed everything about our stay and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havekidswilltravel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

This owner operated hotel right in the center of Playa Samara Beach is a great place to end your vacation in Costa Rica. After 4 days of hiking, exploring, zip lining and driving it was the perfect end to our trip to just RELAX. Phyllis and BIll are wonderful hosts and Jessica coming by each morning with fresh hot pastries was just an added benefit. The rooms were clean with small kitchens and bath with seperate shower. Like having a small apartment on the beach. The Fenix supplies boogie boards to ride the waves. Sand toys are also available for small children. On the weekends a massage specialist is also available at the hotel. Biggest decision of the day walk left to secluded end of beach or right to town.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMIDMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Samara beach was a lovely spot. The Fenix Hotel had just the right balance of wonderful, caring hosts and privacy. With fully equipped kitchens, comfortable beds, these are extremely clean mini apartment units. Although the 6 unit hotel was pretty full, we never felt crowded. The beach grounds has many hammocks and chairs to relax on, laid out for maximum privacy.
The beach itself was quite secluded, but walk 10 minutes down the beach and you will find several restaurants and bars to enjoy. Go another 10 minutes and you are in the village. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is currently being renovated with top of the line appliances and furnishings. We stayed only 1 week, but this is the type of spot that one could easily stay for a month.
The beach here is a beautiful white sand, without anyone bugging you to buy things......some mornings you can sit for an hour and only see the fishermen heading out for the day in their boats and a jogger or 2 going past. There are no undercurrents, so the water is great to swim and play in. The Fenix provides free boogie boards for their guests to use.
Go to sleep listening to the waves, wake up and literally step on the sand!!!

Cindy Burke
Quebec Canada

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

For the sixth time in 10 years we have just returned from spending a month at the Hotel Fenix on Playa Samara, Costa Rica. Nothing can compare to this beach which is beyond beautiful. The hotel, while not luxe, is still very comfortable and has a full range of kitchen facilities. The best feature is that our room is not more than 50 meters from high tide so the sound of the surf is always present. And most important, the owners have always treated us more like family than paying guests.

Harold Strom & Susan Biggar

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cryptichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We checked out a few other places but decided to stay at the Fenix and it was an excellent decision. We had 2 wonderful nights. Friendly hosts, nice rooms, right on the beach, a nice oasis in a place that appears to be getting more popular with tourists.
Marc and Dana, Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpurdo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Property: Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing