We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location & value”
Review of Hostel Matilori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Matilori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Loved Samara, and the location and vibe of Matilori were excellent. Lydie and Franck were helpful and accommodating. The hostel is a block from the beach, and we could park on the quiet street right in front of the hostel. What a great little town for relaxing. The room was spacious and comfortable, the kitchen area nice, and the outdoor area perfect for reading, snacking, and hanging out. Great value. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Best place we stayed in Costa Rica (and we stayed at several nice ones)
Solid construction, hot shower (not a given in CR), window mosquito nets (highly appreciated), friendly clean place and perfect helpful owners. Good local food just around the corner (soda Colochos).
Merçi Lydie and Franck from Iikka and Sara!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed in this hostel with friends. The location is wonderful - very close to the town center and the beach, but off the main drag, and thus very quiet. Immaculately clean, more like a B&B than a hostel compared to most I've been to. Hot water in the showers, free coffee and tea, full kitchen (with nice labeled bins for each room's pantry items), and outdoor shower for rinsing after a day at the beach. Lydie and Franck are very good at recommending local spots and give very reasonable rates. Expect to pay in cash. Only possible downside was that upstairs rooms got very warm and could benefit from ceiling fans (standalone fans are in each room). Definitely the place to go in Sámara.

Room Tip: First-floor rooms/dorms are probably going to be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Lydie and Franck run a beautiful hostel. It's location is very close to the beach but on a quiet side street so is not to noisy. Lydie and Franck give great rates and suggestions for what to do in town. Showers are warm and the rooms have fans. Most of all it is pristine!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdcp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

This place has everything you need to have a positive stay. The owner is Extremely nice, caring, and generous. He is the kind of guy you just want to have a beer and chat with. He also has the mentality that it is all about the costumer. The beds are comfy, the kitchen is clean, the coffee is good, and there is even balsamic vinegar!!!!
He is the cheapest place but also the nicest. If you don't stay here, you will wish you did!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejohecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We traveled Costa Rica for 2 months and this was hands down the best hostel we stayed in. We stayed on 2 separate occasions for a total of about 2 weeks.
Although we came across some other great hostels that offered the same cleanliness and comfort none offered the same relaxed feel and friendliness. It seemed that the hostel was designed so that all the travellers chat and meet each other. I don't need to repeat all the great things that have already been said because they are all true. Lidy and Frank are awesome and I miss Pulmar already.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I was there with a friend, we only stayed one night in the dorms. The place is spotless clean, the kitchen is nice and clean as well.Very good location and most of all, has the nicest owners ever. They made our day.They are full of good advices, super friendly and happy people. It makes a big difference to meet such nice people. I recommend this hostel for sure, make sure to book it in advance maybe as they were full the first night we arrived.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeP678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#4 of 16 in Playa Samara
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
103 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Inn
Hotel Samara Inn
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Matilori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Matilori

Address: | From the bus stop, take the road 25m to Carrillo, first to the right, first left ), Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: £11 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Matilori 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is well known for its charming ambiance and invites you to relax in its great atmosphere. This is the perfect place to meet other travellers and most important to have fun!! Our hostel is parted in 2 buildings with a beautiful patio in the middle where you can meet up with other travellers or just chill out in the hammocks. Surrounded by two mango trees and the amazing Costa Rican wildlife you can see iguanas, monkeys and hummingbirds. We have 3 double rooms, 1 four-bed dorm and 1 six-bed dorm, all with shared bathroom and hot shower. The bright and friendly rooms are all well equipped with fans, cupboards and lockers. In the 2 community kitchens you'll find everything you need, even free cafe in the morning. : ) Our hostel is located in the heart of Samara in a quiet street about 100 metres from the beach and the bus stop. Shops, supermarkets and nightlife are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostel Matilori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Matilori Cabinas Hotel Playa Samara
Hostel Matilori Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing