We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lodge Las Ranas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Inn(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Samara Inn(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Samara Beach(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador de Samara(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho De La Playa(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
261
59
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
59
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeyssteep drivein townthe ownercosta ricasamara beachsitting on the balconypeaceful hoteleach morningrocking chairsenjoyed staying herewatch the sunsetseveral choicesnight's sleeppolloa wonderful staythe pacific ocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

...Cody, Esterling, Giselle & LLR = 5 Stars

Never underestimate the power of a service minded lodge owner and his stellar staff. The crew at LLR take an already esthetically pleasing hotel in a wonderful location (just a stones throw from town, not far whatsoever) and place it far above any others in Samara. My stay was a top notch a experience from beginning to end -- and this is coming from a discerning traveler.

Needless to say, I'll return to LLR sooner than later -- make a smart choice and inquire about a stay, you'll see what I'll taking about from the minute they return your first email or pick up your call...you can take that to the bank!!

Adios, Jason

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

We would all like to thank you for your kind review Jason. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. I am very happy to hear we were able to help you wind down and relax during your time here.

Hopefully we will be able to see you again with us at Christmas

Cody Nikolaychuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I can't say enough great things about Lodge Las Ranas. First, for an extremely reasonable rate (approx. $90/night), you can expect a beautiful room with high ceilings, tastefully decorated, and impeccably clean. You'll have your own balcony, and I believe many of the 10 rooms have a great view of the nearby beach. It can be a rough road to get to Las Ranas, but we did just fine in our tiny sedan and would happily do it again. Cody, the owner is a wonderful host and we enjoyed several conversations with him throughout the course of our 3 day stay. Playa Samara is a quick few minute drive, and yet you're far enough away to have peace and quiet. Out of the 4 hotels we stayed at during our vacation costing up to $330/night, this hotel was the absolute best! We hope to return to Costa Rica in the future and make Lodge Las Ranas the hub for our entire trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

All of the staff here at Lodge Las Ranas thank you for the wonderful review you have written. We are very happy to be a part of your vacation in Costa Rica and we hope to see you again in the near future.

All the Best,

Cody Nikolaychuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

In the search for our hotel, through dirt roads, and following the signs throughout town, we were very impressed with what we found at the top of the hill! We were greeted by Cody, the manager, who made us feel very welcome. He even offered to store our luggage for us, as we arrived early. Once in our room, we were blown away by the view from our balcony, and the very nice interior including a canopy bed. While sitting by the pool, you can hear howler monkeys in the distance. Cody also took the time to show us some unique wildlife, and plants. We recommend staying for a few nights, as the beaches are amazing and you'll want the time to explore.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonKarleeWillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Playa Samara and at Lodge Las Ranas. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the nature and beaches that Costa Rica has to offer.

All the best and we hope to see you again in the future

Cody Nikolaychuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great place to stay as long as you have your own transport. Well run, clean, good breakfasts and good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

On behalf of all of the staff at Lodge Las Ranas, I would like to thank you for your kind review.

Pura Vida,

Cody Nikolaychuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Location was outside of dowtown Samara, but easily accesible by car or walking. Great views of the beach and surrounding areas.. a relaxing and beautiful setting. The pool and lounge area were excellent and rarely used by other guests, well maintained and perfect to relax around. Rooms were good sized and well maintained. Air conditioning worked well and overall very clean complex. Cody and his staff are what make the difference. Extremely helpful and knowledgable of the area and information on excursions and restaurants. Staff made the trip enjoyable and very relaxing meeting every need quickly and professionaly. Would highly recommend this location looking for quiet off the beach and downtown areas. A fantastic complex with fantastic staff!!

Room Tip: rooms 4 and 5 were upper rooms with idea views of the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

All of the staff here at Lodge Las Ranas would like to thank you for your review and for staying with us. We always enjoy hearing that we were able to play a part in a wonderful vacation in Costa Rica for our guests.

We wish you all the best and thank you for choosing Lodge Las Ranas

Cody Nikolaychuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews