We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Samara” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge Las Ranas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodge Las Ranas
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Samara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We found this place after a horrible night at another hotel that was rated number 3 and is now number 5. This was a sight for very tired eyes. Amazing customer service by Cody, Esterling and the rest of the staff. Thank you so much for doing our laundry!
My daughter, husband and myself loved this hotel! Every morning we awoke to howler monkeys. We would hike down the very steep driveway before breakfast and walk the road to see what animals we could spot. After spending the day checking out town and the beaches, it was such a treat to hit the refreshing pool which was surprising cold.

It is situated a little outside of town, up a steep hill with beautiful views in all directions. It is only about a 4-5 minute drive from downtown Samara or a 20 minute walk. There is a little market (verde iguana) very close to the hotel.

Go to Playa Carrillo. Beautiful wide beach with nothing but sand and trees on it.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It was one of our favorites in a 3 week trip around Costa Rica and Nicaragua.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelMonkey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Hola TravelMonkey73,

We would all like to send our thanks to your for the wonderful review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. It is the most important thing to all of us that everyone leaves with a great experience.

I'm sorry that I was in San Jose on business for most of your stay. I hope see you the next time around!!

Pura Vida!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    52
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
69
162
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

the owner cody was very nice and we enjoyed a stunning view from our private balkony. we would always come back and take a swim in the wonderful pool area!
it is up the hill, so you have to have a car when you choose to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evistern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Hello Evistern,

On behalf of all of the staff from Lodge Las Ranas, I would like to take this time to thank you for the wonderful review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel as well as the natural beauty we have here in Costa Rica.

We hope to see you soon!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

I traveled right after hurricane Sandy in Nov 2012. The hotel (but luckily all my hotels) were very cool working with me as I changed and re-changed my dates. Early Nov is the end of the rainy season. The hotel was just ramping up as I arrived. I would not reccommond traveling to Costa Rica in Sept and Oct based on what people in country told me about the challanges during some rainy seasons. Anyways, on to this hotel. Cody who is the manager went above and beyond. From local restaurant advice, to asking if I needed anything when he was running out to the store, to making local calls to see if a bike shop 3 hours away would do a tour, he did it all. Super nice ex-pat from canada. Had a lot to talk about too just shooting the breeze, as I was traveling solo. Hotel was nice if you want the jungle experience, overlooking the jungle and the playa samara. If you want a 5 star resort experience where everyone is falling over themselves to pick up after you this isn't it. But if you want adventure, a clean comfortable room, and a nice beach town vibe, while not being an overcrowded tourist trap - this is a great destination for you. Overall - totally recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOBIlls213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Hello,

We would like to thank you for the wonderful view. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Samara as well as here at Lodge Las Ranas. I hope that the rest of your trip after you left us was equally as enjoyable.

Thank you,

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

Even before our arrivel, Cody was a great help on everything. During our stay, he was even better. The rooms are very clean and the view over Samara is superb.
Thats no douth that the people from the hotel make a lot.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sérgio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review. Knowing that our guests have enjoyed their time at Lodge Las Ranas is the most important thing to us.

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your time in Costa Rica and we hope to have you stay with us again.

Pura Vida,

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Very compfy, clean little hotel, hosted by Cody, a young Canadian who makes his grandpa's dream come true. Within 1 km from the Samara Beach, supermarket nearby, no moskito's and free wake-up call from the howlermonkeys out of the nearby forest. (:-)). Amenities include nice and well maintained swimming pool, terrace with nice view, A/C and fridge in our room. Cody and his right hand Sterling will give you very valuable advice on what to do around Samara!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion_vdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Hello Marion,

Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy the hear that our guests have enjoyed Samara and the services of our hotel.

We hope to see you soon!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, CR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Is the perfect place, it’s quiet, relaxing, very helpful staff, a lot of animals, birds, nature. It has all that you need to have the best time in Samara.

It’s a bit far from downtown, but no so far, it’s about a 1Km, actually, this is something really good, because you won’t bothered by the noise of the ATV’s, cars, or other people.

The rooms are very nice and clean, you will find a fridge, internet access, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, but there is no TV (I don’t need it anyways).
The pool is great, very clean, I think is the best place after the sunset. The breakfast is really good, coffee was great!

I’m looking forward to go again to this magical and peaceful place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauzumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Hello Mauzumo,

I would like to take this time to thank you for writing a review for Lodge Las Ranas. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, services and the beautiful town of Samara.

See you soon!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel is awesomely situated on a hill on the outskirts of the town of Samara and has beautiful views of the beach and ocean. If you have a car (its probably a bit of a walk to the town) it is worth it for the location and the quiet atmosphere.

The grounds are beautiful and the room (at least the one we stayed in) was beautifully outfitted with a four poster bed with air conditioning. No tv, but we were on vacation and spent a lot of time in the pool and lounging beside it reading.

What tops it off though is Cody, the hotel manager. From the easy way we booked and confirmed our hotel I knew we had found a winner. Cody is a Canadian expat, so those wanting to make sure someone speaks english, that is no problem. Cody met us and checked us in, and took care of everything we needed, from food to tours and recommendations. The whole experience was what you would want from a vacation.

I wanted to mention about the other guests at the hotel when we stayed there. One American vacations every year in Costa Rica, but only to this hotel. The other was a family that owned a house in Playa Tamarindo Costa Rica, but preferred to get away from the touristy area to here for a real holiday each year.

We would stay here again without thinking twice!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Hola Matthew,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Lodge Las Ranas. All reviews are invaluable to us to ensure that our guests leave here with nothing short of a great stay. All of us here do everything we can to make sure that all guests have a very enjoyable stay and we are delighted to hear that you have left us with this feeling.

If you should find Playa Samara on your travel itinerary in the future, give us a call. We would love to have you stay with us again.

All the best,

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Las Ranas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Las Ranas

Property: Lodge Las Ranas
Address: Mts Al Oeste del Cruce de Cangrejal 800 | Box 24, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Las Ranas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 10 rooms that all have a magnificent view of two different beaches as well as mountain and jungle views. All rooms come with: Queen-size bed, Air conditioning, Wireless Internet, safe, small refrigerator, private balcony with ocean view and hot breakfast included. We are located a short distance from Samara and the beach which allows guests to take short 15 min walk or an inexpensive taxi ride if they so choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lodge Las Ranas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Las Ranas Hotel Playa Samara
Lodge Las Ranas Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing