We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaaah-mazing!”
Review of Lodge Las Ranas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge Las Ranas
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Gypsum, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aaaah-mazing!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have traveled to Costa Rica many times and stayed at several B&Bs along the pacific coast and in the peninsula. Our experience at Lodge Las Ranas was by far the best! Cody (the manager/owner) went above and beyond, provided us with great insight into the area and excellent conversation, not to mention where to get awesome pizza delivery late night...that actually has pepperoni, instead of jamon :) Walter and Aura also made us feel very welcome and directed us to some excellent restaurants (highly recommend El Lagarto). Our room was really lovely - a nice sized bedroom and separate bath with a private balcony; incredible views of the ocean and treetops, toucans on the branches within feet of us, and howler monkeys. The pool is really nice for a morning, afternoon or evening swim and pool-side chairs are set up to provide shade when it gets warmer. Can't wait to go back, this is definitely our future and permanent destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaherty7277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Hello Flaherty7277,

I would like to say thank you from all of us here at Lodge Las Ranas. Guest feedback is a great tool for us to make sure our guests leave here with a "pura vida" experience as we say here in Costa Rica. We understand that it can be difficult to get the time to write these reviews when trying to get back into the swing of things back home.

Once again a big thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    54
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
168
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel was easily the best part of our Costa Rican holiday. The room we had was perfect, with an awesome view of Playa Samara. The tipico breakfast was excellent, and the staff was always friendly and helpful.

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel on all levels.

Room Tip: If it is available, room #2 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwatson8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Hello dwatson8791

I would like to thank you on behalf of all of us from Lodge Las Ranas for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in Costa Rica.

I look forward to seeing you again!

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

When I first saw our room with its beautiful views of both the jungle (complete with a Howler monkey family) and the beach view I said "I think I found paradise." We were in Costa Rica for 2 weeks and this was my favorite place that I stayed. Cody and his staff do an outstanding job of making guests feel welcome and maintaining the place. It is absolutely beautiful and immaculately maintained. The beach is not that far (especially by car). The nice thing is staying here you can enjoy a really peaceful environment when you want - I am really glad we didn't stay right by the beach. The pool is great for afternoon dips and keep your eyes out for the toucans who were there daily when we stayed. I would definitely recommend Lodge Las Ranas if you are going to Samara Beach. I couldn't imagine staying elsewhere in Samara Beach after being here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbapete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Hello Kimbapete,

I would like to send a big thank you your way for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are always privileged to know that we have played a part in our guests' enjoyment of Costa Rica.

Once again a big thank you and we hope to have you with us again soon!

Cody N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The pictures of this place do not do it justice. The rooms are beautiful and the view is jaw dropping. The staff is also super friendly. They attract wildlife through their kindness. We saw them bathe 4 toucans with the hose while there. This place is a fanatic getaway for a couple.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Hello Terri,

We are please to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We always enjoy sharing the views of our area and of the animals with our guests.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review! The are a very useful tool for us to make sure we are providing and optimal service for all of our clients.

Pura Vida,

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We booked Lodge Las Ranas on the web and once we arrived in Samara we were Extremely GLAD we did! Everything about this hotel was perfect. The location was just the beginning of perfection, as it sits on a hillside just outside of the main-town. The rooms were very quiet and clean, mattresses were very comfortable, and the views were unbeatable! (we had two rooms... both were great) The grounds were beautifully kept and the pool was clean and refreshing. Breakfasts were always fresh and delicious. We stayed for 6 nights and after the initial exploring of town, we preferred to simply stay around the hotel! Cody (the owner/manager) is one of the most amazing people we've ever met. He supported us throughout our entire stay, going out of his way to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. THIS hotel was the BEST PART of our trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aireal-Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Hello Aireal,

All of us here at Lodge Las Ranas would like to thank you very much for writing this review. Feedback is the most valued information for ensuring our guests enjoy their time with us. It was my pleasure to be able to share our piece of paradise with you.

We hope to see you again soon!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We liked this place. The rooms are a bit basic but the balcony incredible and the views amazing - we saw Toucans and monkeys. The pool was quite dirty and the entrance is a bit sketchy - very steep and not the easiest to navigate but the overall energy of the place is really good and it's a very nice place to come to relax - the only thing, you need a car to come here as it's really too far to walk from the pueblo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hello Christina,

Thank you for your review. These comments are key for us to providing a great stay to our guests. I am very happy you were able to enjoy the animals and grounds at Las Ranas.

I remember speaking to you about our pool and how at certain times of the year, it can be hard to keep the leaves and seeds out 100% of the time with the hotel surrounded by trees. The only way to completely eliminate this would be to cut down all of the trees which would clearly be the last thing anyone would want.

As for the "sketchy" entrance, I have to say I am not quite sure what you are talking about. Most people enjoy our entrance and appreciate the full tree cover which commonly have monkeys and many type of birds in them.

We wish you the best,

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revelstoke, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This small hotel restaurante is situated on a hilltop above the beach town of Playa Samara, Costa Rica. Only a five minute walk to town you will find yourself debating whether to bother, so good are the views. Surrounded by jungle covered slopes and old ranches, and with a view of the western sunset over Playa Buenavista it is a great spot to just chill.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hello Dutchgrove,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write the review. I am happy I was able to share this little piece of paradise with you.

All the best,

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
887 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
235 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Las Ranas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Las Ranas

Property: Lodge Las Ranas
Address: Mts Al Oeste del Cruce de Cangrejal 800 | Box 24, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Las Ranas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 10 rooms that all have a magnificent view of two different beaches as well as mountain and jungle views. All rooms come with: Queen-size bed, Air conditioning, Wireless Internet, safe, small refrigerator, private balcony with ocean view and hot breakfast included. We are located a short distance from Samara and the beach which allows guests to take short 15 min walk or an inexpensive taxi ride if they so choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lodge Las Ranas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Las Ranas Hotel Playa Samara
Lodge Las Ranas Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing