We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
270
61
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
61
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys in town the owner costa rica samara beach each morning watch the sunset pollo pura vida an oasis breakfast was included short drive fruit platter cody shelly balcony jungle
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We spent a wonderful week at Las Ranas for a friends wedding. The staff was fantastic. Shelly went out of her way to make it a memorable holiday and ensure we had everything we needed. The room was nice and clean, the pool was great and we were just a short drive to Sámara.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank CAND1C3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

My flight home through Houston was cancelled as a result of Hurricane Harvey's flooding, so my adult son and I had three extra days in Costa Rica. We booked Las Ranas on short notice and arrived before Noon to see if there was any chance we could drop our belongings off early while we hit the beach. Shelly could not have been more welcoming. She set us up with prime rooms and we were given lots of ideas to fill our afternoon and evening. Kika served us breakfast each morning and proved to be a Fantastic host. She was engaging and informative as she provided great recommendations on surf lessons, restaurants etc. Breakfast each day, which was wonderful, stretched into lengthy coffee and chat marathons with both Kika and Shelly.
The rooms are spotless, a good size and the patios are a treat for early morning (ie. dawn) or late afternoon audio/visual experiences with local Howler's, birds etc. The pool is the coolest (temperature) we found in Costa Rica and spotless. A real treat after a day of hiking or surfing.

Room Tip: Las Ranas is about 1 km from Samara so very helpful to have a car. Lots of parking and just a short drive.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We are just coming to the end of our six night stay with our two teenage daughters and cannot praise this place highly enough. It is situated on a small hill a little way out of Sámara with wonderful views over the surrounding countryside and bays. The rooms are comfortable and not overlooked. There is a smallish but delightful swimming pool and we were visited by all sorts of wildlife (monkeys, iguanas, butterflies and birds of all kinds) we felt as if we were in the middle of a wildlife reserve. The lodge only serves breakfast but visitors are very welcome to bring their own lunch/ evening meal and the staff will help with ordering meals to be delivered for you. It is true that the lodge has a very steep drive but it's only a 15 min walk to the beach and a taxi to/from the centre of Sámara is only US $4. I have saved the best for last: the staff couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. The manager seems to speak just about every European language and her team keep the place spotless. Thank you to Cody, Kika and the rest of the team.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Toby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Lovely little hotel on the hill.
Our triple room was comfortable and clean. We had a nice terrace with a view of the sea.
The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. They had several recommendation for our short stay in Samara.
The breakfast was lovely. Complementary coffee and coffee maker in the room.

The hotel is a little way out of town a would require a car. We liked the fact it was out of the way and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YRedpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Lodge Las Ranas...is off the beaten path but beautiful view. No grounds to speak of. The rooms sit atop a hill just outside of Playa Samara. Roads are dirt, driveway is one lane and steep, but not a problem. I happened to be the ONLY guest there the 4 days I was there. As I was traveling alone, it would have been nice to have other guests to converse with, but having said that...the view out of my windows and off of the balcony was beautiful.Lots of wildlife. Took videos of coatis eating in the morning. If you want to see animals, get up at sunrise...and just be quiet and look! So many birds! Monkeys in the trees, Iggy the Iguana lives atop room 5...if the sun's out he's out and about...and there are FROGS!! Ranas is frogs I guess...it rained a bit while I was there and it made the frogs very vocal!! alllllll night! It was very cool! The rooms hang on the hillside, but the reception and breakfast area is on a flat piece of land with a beauritul pool. Free parking, Free wifi...lost power once.Diana was fabulous, fluent in English and very knowledgable about town, roads and travel...She is a great resource!f Cody the owner is very friendly and knowledgable about the surrounding areas as well...I didn't see any of the other hotels in town, but would highly recommend Lodge Las Ranas!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews