We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with great owners!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge Las Ranas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lodge Las Ranas
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Great hotel with great owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

My husband and I ended our honeymoon trip in Samara and chose to stay at Lodge Las Ranas. We had a great time and the hotel treated us perfect! The room was clean, updated and had a beautiful terrace. The breakfast was good and I became addicted to eating the french toast. The owner, Olivier, was so kind and hospitable. He helped us with anything we needed. The swimming pool is very refreshing and I could spend hours just relaxing and reading on one of the lounge chairs under the umbrella. The hotel is not in the middle of town, which is actually a nice thing. It wouldn't be that far of a walk, however, not the most fun one. We took taxis often and it costs about $3-$4 one way. We would definitely stay at Lodge Las Ranas again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintandErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    52
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
69
161
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

As a freelancer for CoolTravel I travel around the world to discover cool places. Lodge Ranas is for sure a cool place. I stayed here for 5 nights and had the best time ever. It’s located a bit out of Samara on a beautiful hill with wonderful ocean and jungle views. You immediately feel at home here. There is a lovely swimming pool and your lodge is brand new. If you are lucky you even spot some monkeys from your balcony.

The owners are wonderful and can you tell all about where to go and what to do. I rented a bike to discover the area. After a good Tico or Western breakfast I jumped on my bike with a little map drawn by the owner. I cycled through the jungle, crossed rivers, explored Mel Gibson’s beach and had lovely lunches on the way or I prepared myself a picnic on the beach. I even made a helicopter flight to see the area from a different point of view. I can recommend Lodge Ranas highly.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristelAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

We stayed at Lodge Las Ranas as a group of 9 and loved it. Josianne and Oliver are so lovely and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The accommodation is clean and the views are fantastic.
Breakfast is delicious! Fantastic value - hope to return one day

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

We loved Samara so much and dream of it every day. Lodge Las Ranas made our stay extra special. A dip in the clear sparkling swimming pool was very refreshing after a fresh delicious breakfast each morning. We miss the wonderful staff who made us feel so at home and welcome there!

The lodge is very tranquil and has a low-key feel so you can really unwind with beautiful rustic yet contemporary rooms that have panoramic open views. The bed was very comfy too. We awoke to the sounds of crickets in the tropical forest surrounding the lodge and the Pacific waves in the distance. It was magical and I felt fully rejuvenated after just a couple of nights (we stayed on for much longer).

We stayed in a kitchenette suite which had everything we needed including full size tea mugs which made us tea drinkers very happy! We decided against hiring a car as we wanted to be totally free of driving and taxis were so cheap and easy from the town and the walk to the beach and back , assing by the fully stocked supermercado, was good exercise - steep hill at the end made you really enjoy your cerveza afterwards to watch the sun set from the terrace.

The lodge is one of the best in Samara without doubt and I can't wait to visit again, it was so perfect for us.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlswhoboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

My husband and I have spent time in Samara while travelling to Costa Rica on six previous vacations. On our most recent visit we decided to try a new hotel. I found Lodge Las Ranas on the internet and was most interested in a room with an ocean view. They booked us in Room #2 and we were not disappointed. The view over Samara Bay was incredible -- as were the sunrises over the Bay! We also thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations. The beds are right up there with the best we have slept in in the country. Also, the rooms were clean and attractive, as were the pool and restaurant. The monkeys visited the trees off our balcony every day.

Dorothy and Len
Burleigh Falls, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tazzagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley AZ
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

honestly? there is hardly anything that i found on the beach worth staying at other than tree houses on the beach. (which we stayed at as well). other than that, alot of slummy place!s in samara! so glad we found this up on the hill with awesome views! was nice and quiet, rooms was fabby, views were knock 'em dead!! had jungle 1 side, and full beach views by looking slighly over the other side of our gorgeous balcony. rooms and bathrooms were fantastic. great little pool. cute outdoor dinning area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

We spent three days this past spring at Lodge Las Ranas and really couldn't have asked for better quality and customer service than we had at the Lodge. It was quiet, romantic, secluded and just a short drive down to both Samara Beach and Carillo Beach. The breakfast was always great and one morning we woke to find howler monkeys right near our window! Not to mention the view itself from the window is simply stunning! We will certainly be back for more!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Las Ranas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Las Ranas

Property: Lodge Las Ranas
Address: Mts Al Oeste del Cruce de Cangrejal 800 | Box 24, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Las Ranas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 10 rooms that all have a magnificent view of two different beaches as well as mountain and jungle views. All rooms come with: Queen-size bed, Air conditioning, Wireless Internet, safe, small refrigerator, private balcony with ocean view and hot breakfast included. We are located a short distance from Samara and the beach which allows guests to take short 15 min walk or an inexpensive taxi ride if they so choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Lodge Las Ranas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Las Ranas Hotel Playa Samara
Lodge Las Ranas Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing