We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rupia Manzu(Santa Cruz)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Castillo Divertido(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Angels Ecolodge(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kikes Place(Santa Cruz)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Permont(Santa Cruz)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
69
55
16
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
55
16
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspata negracosta ricasurf shopoff the beaten pathgreat surfdry seasonhot waterlaid backceiling fansurf breakunfriendly staffhermit crabspataconesonly reason i didn't giverelaxing restauranttide poolsstayed days
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Loved this Hotel and was sorry to leave. Staff great, casitas private and peaceful, deserted beach for long walks, clean pool and loved being able to be shoeless to enjoy the naturalness of this Hotel. Don't expect fluffy bath robes and chocolates on the pillow - It is far better with it's natural Costa Rica charm. A very special place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great place for surfing and quiet/relaxing time. Nothing nearby (good and bad) but the bungalows are perfect for families and the restaurant/bar provided great food. Definitely need a 4x4 during rainy season.
My kids enjoyed it more than the resort we went to in Tamarindo which says something! Surfing lessons from Manu were also fantastic

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stifle2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Pros: Beautiful place, cute individual huts. Stayed in Mid-November and luckily had some amazing weather. Beach is beautiful, is fairly rocky right in front of the resort although has sandy regions just a little walk down. Employees speak English which is very helpful!!

Cons: Off Season is a great time to go to Costa Rica although the only downside is many places are closed, only restaurant open in the area was the resort restaurant (fairly expensive). Wi-Fi is very sketchy if this is important to you. BUGS BUGS BUGS, bring your bug spray and keep yourself covered even at night! We happened to be at the resort at the same time as a large group of young families, this usually would be fine although it was quite miserable overall. This group has rented out the entire resort in the past, it seems to be an annual stay for this group. The did not rent out the entire facility this time so there were 4-5 other couples or people staying there at the same time. The group took over the entire resort….the pool, the restaurant/pavilion with no consideration of those around them. Screaming children running around our table when we were trying to have a nice dinner (the only restaurant open in the area), taking over the restaurant for a "talent show", all of the clothing/empty beer bottles/ towels left at the pool all day and over night every day, SCREAMING children…etc. Ruined our experience at what could have been a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieL_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband grew up surfing and wanted to go to a great surf spot to stay. This place was charming. The birds would sing in the morning We stayed in the higher end style of villas. which had air conditioning and hot showers (this is Costa Rica). The two units shared a kitchen. We had hammocks and an outdoor shower and table. This is a rustic kind of place, without TV and spotty internet, but if you don't mind that..the beaches are lovely. Bring your 4 wheel drive vehicle and your Deet and leave your American expectations for a highly recommended beautiful place with good food and a very romantic sunset on the beach.

Room Tip: The larger huts have AC and hot water in the showers, this is Costa Rica.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A great place to stay by the ocean and relax or surf. Accessible by car. The huts were beautiful and clean. The bar is a great place to eat. There's a pool for kids and it's on the beach. It's quite remote but we ended up staying a whole week even though we had planned on staying only 3 days. I defintiely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A1anP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews