We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous home!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Shared Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Santa Cruz, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kvousden
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Gorgeous home!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We just returned from our stay at this home and I can't say enough about it. It was immaculately clean. It's floor plan was perfect for our family, offering lots of privacy, with the bedrooms spread out over two floors, each with it's own bathroom. I immensely enjoyed cooking breakfast in the kitchen with it's spectacular view out to the ocean from the massive floor to ceiling glass doors running the length of the living room. The kitchen had everything we needed. The furniture was beautiful and very comfortable, particularly the living room furniture. My kids wanted to just spend the whole day curled up on the couch or in the armchairs. We saw different colourful birds each day and loved the sound of the Howler monkeys in the distance at dusk and dawn. My partner and I loved to sit on the balcony off the Master Bedroom in the evenings with a drink in hand looking at the stars and listening to the waves. The swimming pool is up at the top of the complex with a number of stairs but well worth it once you get to the top with it's panoramic view of Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero and Playa Danta. My elderly mom had a bit of a difficult time with the stairs but still managed. Even though the pool is shared by the complex, we had it to ourselves almost every time we went up. We went up for the sunsets. I've never gotten such spectacular sunset photos! Playa Penca and Playa Prieta are about a 5 minute walk down from the home on a rocky and slightly bumpy path, as you would expect in rural Costa Rica. Playa Penca has white sand and calm waters. Playa Prieta has silvery black sand with waves for the slightly more adventurous. What we loved most about the beaches were sharing it with lovely Costa Rican families and not a vendor in site. There are a few delicious Soditas within walking distance of the house for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We loved Numu for dinner which is located just in front of the Krain offices in town. A short drive away was our favourite Italian restaurant La Sodita Italiana. Krain was wonderful and very responsive to any questions and helped us to book a great tour while we were there.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franceand...
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing condo with beautiful view and sunsets !”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 5 weeks at this beautiful condo. The place never felt crowded even for 6 people. The kitchen was a very well equipped with everything we needed. We spent a lot of time at the infinity pool where the view was incredible. We enjoyed excellent TV channels and very strong internet. It was nice to have a phone for local calls too. There are several beaches within walking distance: Penca, Prieta, Azucar and Potrero. We did not have a car , we were a bit restricted, but managed to get groceries at the three nearby "Super" and the Thursday morning market called "Feria". Once a week we took a taxi to Super Massei near Playa Flamingo where they had a better variety of food and fresh and frozen meats.
Krain , the property management company was excellent to deal with. We made very good use of the concierge services they provide free of charge. Eunice was so helpful , she booked several tours and airport transfers for us, all at better prices than we could find on-line. She also arranged for dishwasher and bathroom repairs immediately when we called.
I can't say enough about this place, the cleanliness, comfort and safety made our trip a very memorable one. We would love to return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosimo C
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular - Location was Perfect & House was Terrific; definite return destination”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The house was part of a beautiful guarded complex. Weather was perfect....Views from the balcony were spectacular. There is a gorgeous infinity pool in the complex that had the most incredible views (watched many sunsets)...The House has fast WiFi and i was able to say connected and make free calls with phone apps, was able to do some work while in a beautiful setting (if that's your thing).

There are two different incredible beaches only a three minute walk away. Lots of places to explore nearby and Locals were incredibly nice and there are so many fantastic restaurants, super markets within walking distance and fruits stands too (incredibly delicious and cheap).

All restaurants also had free WiFi so i was able to stay connected without a roaming plan.. The House was so beautiful, we had 8 people in our party and it was spacious and fully equipped; we even had HBO!!....

I definitely, plan to return this house again. It was the perfect balance of luxurious accommodations, walking to distance to beaches, pool, the complex and house was situated with perfect altitude to enjoy breath-taking vistas from the comfort of the balcony or pool...

Certainly a must see.... I enjoyed tremendously.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View amazing, House was spacious and clean. loved it.
Liked least: honestly nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah4501...
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled to Villas Catalinas #16 with three friends. We absolutely loved it!

The views from the home are simply beautiful. The floor plan and number of windows and patio doors make you feel so close to the ocean and the beautiful sunsets. The villa was very clean and its kitchen was very well equipped with pots, pans, silverware, dish soap, dish towels, etc. The washer and dryer came in handy and the bathrooms are all very, very nice. My bed was very comfortable and I had no problems getting good sleep. The entire villa felt so spacious!

There are two beaches within walking distance (although it's not exactly sidewalk type of walking, more like a light hike type of terrain). You can definitely make the short drive to the one beach and there are trees there for shade and parking there. If you want to drive a bit further, there are beaches all around the area and within minutes of the villa.

We spent the majority of our time up and the stunning infinity pool. The views from the pool make you want to stay there forever! The only warning I would give is that there are quite a few steps up to the pool. They didn't bother me, but if you have trouble with steps, it might be something to consider.

Krain employees were very helpful and friendly. They are happy to answer any questions you may have. We signed up through them to do two different tours. Do a tour! So much fun!

My last thought is... eat at The Shack!!! It's very close to the villa and it was so good we ate there nearly every day, sometimes twice a day LOL!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing