We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
George Town, Cayman Islands
1 review
“Nice Hotel, Great Staff”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Cala Luna was beautiful. We went on our honeymoon during slow season and they were nice enough to upgrade us from a deluxe room to a villa. The villas are beautiful, and huge! You have your own pool and kitchen. The rooms were pretty, but a bit buggy. We know that this is because of the season we went, but it did get a little annoying to have to kill 10 bugs every night before going to bed. The grounds were beautiful, and the restaurants were convenient. The food was excellent, although more variety would have been appreciated. The location was about a 20 minute walk into town, which was nice. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kippie311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    174
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
370
500
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Fab value, super friendly and helpful staff from concierge to the bar to the cleaning staff. Clean, excellent location in quiet end of tamarindo. Spacious room, bed and bathroom. Boutique atmosphere, brilliant cocktails, excellent food. Simply gorgeous. Cala
Luna even paid a (>$100) restaurant bill in town for us, as their credit card machine had broken and we had no cash. Cala Luna simply put it on our tab with no extra charge. That is service!

Room Tip: All rooms seem fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBC1981_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I arrived, along my mother and our friend to this hotel by mere chance. However, the service was premium from the very beginning. We were received with a delicious juice and a very needed and useful wet towel. Later, when we got to know our rooms, we couldn't be more delighted: the beds were really confortable, the AC worked perfectly and the bathroom was the best you can ask for: big, super-clean, with running hot water and a beautiful and wide hot-tub. The wi-fi also worked just fine. Now, the food was plain excellent: the breakfast included, among other options, natural juice, a wide selection of delicious breads and cookies, fresh fruit and the best coffee I've tasted in a long while. The menu for lunch and dinner, on the other hand, offered the best gourmet cuisine, and the prices were quite reasonable. The restaurant staff is very professional, and the setting of the tables was pretty neat and tidy. The pool was always clean, and the whole property is surrounded by flowers and lush vegetation. You could even spot a bird or a squirrel!. The hotel Cala Luna is also near to the beach, and they were kind enough to gift the guests with a free coctel while watching the sunset. It's a very quiet and relaxing place, and the staff was always ready to help us. If you want to get a pleasant night of sleep, wake up early in the morning to get the most delicious breakfast, be able to walk by the beach and feel the kindness and warmth of Costa Rica's people, this place is for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The hotel was great. We went for our honeymoon during the low season and it was fantastic! The customer service was great and would answer any questions you had. The pool was opened 24hours which was great. The beach was very close although you could not play in the ocean by the hotel due to the volcanic rock, but the surfing and amazing sand is less than a mile away. We walked from the hotel to the main down town area, along the beach, almost every night. The food at Cala Luna was expensive and therefore we went down town almost every night. I would recommend Cala luna to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The staff was more than friendly...there were warm and helpful, and eager to please. The grounds were kept immaculately clean. The beach cocktail hour included white tablecloth service. The bungalow we stayed in was beautiful. The decor was elegant and impressively well thought-out. The restaurant serves some of the best food, and they had just hired a new pastry chef who was creating some masterful breakfast breads.
We had a car, and so easily popped over to town, out for day trips, and twice to the laguna beach club.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This review is for a September stay in the hotel portion of the property by a younger (non-honeymooner) couple. We returned from Cala Luna two weeks ago and though my girlfriend and I have had considerable time to discuss our trip we have nothing but the highest praise for this property. Believe every good thing previously written in the TA reviews section. The grounds are beautiful. The staff is ridiculously friendly/personable/accommodating/helpful. The small scale, high quality, and hospitality all make for a VERY welcome departure from all the Hiltons, Marriotts etc of the world. The beach (though not swimmable) is extremely picturesque and makes both a great sunset pic and a perfect backdrop for nightly free sunset cocktails which vary daily. If the beach were wide and flat like the beach north in Tamarindo it’d be slammed with vendors of every variety. Thankfully, it is out of the way and only populated by hotel guests and residents of the houses and condos down the beach. If you’re into surfing the surf break in Playa Langosta is right down the way and accessible without a car.
The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is huge complete with a tiled tub. The lack of a useless western-standard hotel desk is a welcome change (anyone who’s planning on vacationing in Costa Rica and using a desk needs to have their head examined). The beds are extremely comfortable and on par with our setup at home. Each room has its own separate entry path and open patio (no hallways, elevators, balcony railings etc that you’ll find in large faceless resorts). There are various pathways through the expertly-manicured grounds that lead to each and getting to your room feels like a stroll through a botanical garden. There are even papaya trees if you wish to serve yourself….
The pool is arranged between the restaurant and bar and has the perfect tropical relaxation vibe. Since we came during the “green season” the hotel was not packed and we generally felt we had the pool to ourselves. Also, the pool is 24/7 so no being thrown out if you’re dying for a midnight dip. The restaurant serves 1st quality food at all meals and a good variety of styles though the menu is not huge. The meat is obviously local, fresh, flavorful and tender as are the fresh local veggies and locally-sourced deserts (gelato, pastries, fruits). Breakfast was always excellent with French-press coffee and your choice of meals off the menu (no buffet) and fresh squeezed juices that vary daily.
Every Friday night the hotel puts on an event as a combination charity, food/wine tasting, and musical entertainment which we found to be the perfect closer for our last evening in Costa Rica. The owners are on-site frequently and are extremely hospitable and gracious. There are two resident dogs that are perfectly docile and friendly: Igor and Maya. We felt their presence increased the home-style feeling of the hotel. You’d have to have a severe dog phobia to find either of these perritos intimidating!
One important thing we have to mention: we booked our trip though the Cala Luna website and through a website error received a RIDICULOUS discount on our stay which management honored without complaint! As this occurred several weeks before our trip this was our first clue that we’d booked a legit hotel and an indicator of service we’d see during our stay. Thank you to all the Cala Luna staff for a wonderful experience!! WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in September... It was really a charming hotel.... Lots of personal attention.... Staff were great.... Danny, wilburt, Bryan, Gilles, Frazier and Carlo.... Just to name a few... The only person who wasn't so great was olleusca... At the front desk... Quite rude and unfriendly. Not professional at all.... Didn't know how to deal with Hotel guests in a friendly and diplomatic way.... She even "told me off" because I was a bit nervous around the two hotel dogs ( owners dogs) when they got a bit hyper.... She should have been trying to cal me down, rather than saying "don't yell... You will scare them".... Uhhhh... Isn't it more like the other way around... Them scaring me... And besides.... Who was the guest here.... Me or the dogs? At any rate, everything else was great.... Pool lovely... Breakfasts delicious... Fresh fruit juices were the best!!! Only two other little things they should pay attention to is make sure mini bar is well stocked... Check it everyday to make sure nothing is missing... We took water out of the minibar fridge and it didn't get replenished. That was kinda annoying... Also, when we complained to olleusca about the shower setting in bathroom being too hot or too cold... She told me I shouldn't move it around.... I said, that is exactly why I am moving it around because the water temp doesn't stay the same... She said she would send someone over to take a look at it, but ofcourse, nothing was done.

Ann vervoot, the tours manager and general manager of sorts is wonderful and very receptive to feedback.... So that was the pleasant finishing touch to our trip,

Overall, we would recommend cala Luna to anyone who wishes to take a break... Hotel is beautiful... Poolside bar is very lounge and cool and pool cabanas are gorgeous!!! Tamarindo itself is a cool surfing town... With nice beaches.....overall, it was a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viju73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,455 reviews
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.6 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked on Costa Rica's pristine Playa Langosta, the most exclusive, relaxing and private area of Tamarindo Beach, just steps from the Pacific Ocean, Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas is a tropical oasis just two-and-a-half-miles south of Tamarindo Airport. Every inch of this exquisitely lush resort seems to embody the immortal words of author John Steinbeck "We don't take a trip. A trip takes us." With experiences and adventures that tempt, transport and delight, this one-of-a-kind place welcomes those on a quest for the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing