We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our family of 5 with kids ages 7-12 had a fantastic time at the Cala Luna! It was a great first stop in Costa Rica, giving a flavor of local culture and environs, while still providing every need our suburban American family felt would be necessary ;)

We had a size-able 2 bed/2 bath villa with its own pool, which our kids were always eager to use. A full fridge was helpful to keep drinks cool and food from the nearby Mercado Langosta for quick lunch sandwich prep.

The breakfast buffet and the restaurant services were perfect.

The staff were uniformly eager to be helpful, smiling and thorough, friendly and personal. We enjoyed the property tour with Ann.

We only walked into town via the beach at low tide, which was quite nice and took 15 minutes, but otherwise we called on taxis to shuttle us.

We loved it. Thanks!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    165
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
351
478
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Carlos from the front desk greeted us with a wide and cheerful smile as we entered the cool marble reception area and were presented with a cold concoction of delicious fresh fruits, not some rum punch ladled out of plastic jug as we've experienced before in many tropical climates. I knew we had found a gem. All the staff at the front desk continued to be cheerful and genuinely interested in us as individuals, with individual needs or questions, they were always happy to see us throughout our stay.

Carlos personally walked with us to our Villa, number 107, which was 150' or so from the central area of the hotel. The jungle foliage is thick surrounding each private villa and sounds from other parts of the resort do not filter through. Number 107 we found to be a large two bedroom one story private villa with two full baths, a large kitchen, a dining area, a reception lounge area and a stone patio off the living room looking down over a grass lawn to our private swimming pool. The pool area was surrounded by flowering plants, palm trees and banana trees laden with fruit. A path led from our private pool area to a walkway that led through the jungle to the central building of the resort. The concrete pathway is gently and beautifully lit at night and crosses one or two small wooden bridges along the way. I could imagine Steven Spielberg or Ron Howard or Frank Capra using it for a long tracking shot of their romantic leading actors as their eyes swam with tears of recognition that "yes" this was love at last.

The main pool is just the right size for a boutique hotel of this refined quality. There are a few curtained cabana areas around the perimeter and a open air bar cafe at the far end. Clean, simple elegance with rich tropical vegetation scattering the sun light into dancing patterns on the azure pool and surrounding areas.

The restaurant at Cala Luna has a first class reputation all on its own. The food was without exception delicious. The included breakfast in the morning is unlimited and a gastronomic delight. Amazing coffee and fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juices of all types. Omelets made to order, sausages, bacon, French toast, local Costa Rican breakfast dishes, wonderful grilled tomato slices that beg to be scarfed down with a bit of sausage. White Throated Magpie Jays watch with wry amusement from the surrounding trees cocking their tufted heads at potential opportunities to be awarded a treat of fresh fruit or their absolute favorite, a brown packet of natural sugar. Meanwhile Igor, the hotels trusted beagle, saunters casually amongst the tables making sure everyone is content and happy.

The hotel has it's own section of frontage on the Pacific, accessed by a short stroll of 2 or 3 minutes down a pathway to the shore front. There one encounters a rugged igneous shoreline where sunset drinks are served by the hotel as the Pacific Ocean slowly embraces the Orb of Helios, each night from 5:30 until 6:30. A short walk, maybe about 10 minutes south along the lava shoreline is a glorious beach separated from the lava shoreline by a small cool freshwater river/stream that must be crossed at low tide, but is well worth the stroll. No major road runs anywhere near this beach and so there is a luxurious sense of privacy when there.

Tamarindo is a five minute drive from Cala Luna. Tamarindo is like what Venice Beach might have been like in the mid 1960's. A iconic surfer town populated with bistros, a hundred surf shops and surf schools, souvenir shops and one main drag running right along the coast. The road from the Cala Luna into Tamarindo is awful. Part paved, part dirt, always dusty and riddled with pot holes, drivers don't pay much attention to which side of the venue they are supposed to transverse opting instead to occupy the smoothest portion of the road where ever it can be found. Surfers on bicycles with their boards tucked underneath one arm weave around the potholes on their way to or from the steady curl of the waves off Tamarindo Beach.

In essence, we had a great stay at The Cala Luna. Having a car enabled us to travel around without having to rely on cabs or the hotels shuttle service. I didn't think the driving was particularly dangerous, certainly not compared to driving in New York City, but the roads are small for the most part and wind around blind turns in hilly country sides. We took a two day trip during our stay at Cala Luna to drive up to Arenal, the volcano. There the jungle thrives more than on the west cost and the zip lining excursions over and through the jungle canopy are thrilling. The whole family, 13 year old to senior citizen had a total blast. We went zip lining with Arenal Mundo Aventura. They were amazing. 12 zip lines crossing over and through dense jungle canopy with waterfalls awe inspiring views from every angle.

But enough, enough... surfs up!

Room Tip: Villa # 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed four nights at Cala Luna in early April and enjoyed every minute of our experience. The staff was great from check-in to check-out, food was good, and the property was in stellar shape. Other reviews comment about bugs, which there are a few, but they do not invade your room in any meaningful way. And, the monkeys hanging out by the pool more than make up for a few ants here and there.

The front desk couldn't be more helpful in arranging transportation to town or activities around the area, whether they are sanctioned by Cala Luna or not, they will make the calls and get you set up.

Taxi to town is necessary most of the time to avoid the nearly 20 minute walk. $5 each way and you should plan on doing that most nights to eat dinner and during the day to get to more of a lounging beach or area to surf.

People aren't kidding when they say the beach in front of Cala Luna is rocky, it is completely not swimmable but looks great at high tide during the sunset happy hour.

We would recommend Cala Luna to anyone for a stay in the Tamarindo area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with its own pool, many available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcad0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for 4days/nights in a double room and had a great experience.

The pros:
-Beautiful hotel and grounds; very clean
-Rooms was clean & spacious - no complaints whatsoever
-Great pool setup; rooms are all close to the pool and non-swimming beach (nothing is far to walk), but rooms are separated enough so that you don't hear anyone else (or people from the restaurant/pools). The entire pool area is a great setup with various cabanas and loungers. Could spend all day there.
-The staff / service is exceptional
-Food (both the breakfast and meals are reasonable and delicious)
-The sunset / drinks is
-Refreshing infused water by the pool
-Yoga instructor is great in a really tranquil setting

The cons:
-The hotel is a bit further of a walk than we expected. It wasn't until the second last day that we found a quicker way to the beach which only took ~5-7mins (they really should have signs / instructions). The town is 15-25mins and the dirt road isn't great to walk but the beach is nice. They do offer a $5 shuttle to town (didn't really figure out how to take it back). Although this is a con, I will say it is nice to be removed from the busier streets of Tamarindo. This hotel is quiet.

Neutral:
-Yes, there are some ants around and other bugs, but its Costa Rica, what do you expect? The hotel is very clean.

I highly recommend Cala Luna if you're looking for a luxurious boutique off the beaten path. Honestly, the only downside is the walk to town/main beach (and perhaps some greater instruction around it), but if you're okay with that, then this is a 5-star place through-and-through in every respect. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 300-block of rooms right between the beach and pool area are extremely conveniently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ranquiros, Director of Sales at Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi! Thank you very much for your comments and inputs! We highly appreciate them, and will take into account your inputs regarding the signs on the road to town, and our shuttle service. Hope you may come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The first thing to recommend are the people--a super staff, very kind and accommodating. The rooms are just right, private, comfortable and well cared for....the food is excellent...all combined we look forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler10708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our family of 5 enjoyed our stay at Cala Luna for 4 nights. The villas provided some nice privacy with our own pool. The restaurant had a wonderful free breakfast that we enjoyed each morning. We also dined a couple nights in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Our waiter, Orlando, was so nice and we enjoyed talking with him as much as we enjoyed the meal. The front desk also gave exceptional service. Carlos during the day and Damien in the evening, both came to our rescue many times when we had questions or needed anything extra for our stay. Four of us had massage/spa treatments while we were there that were awesome.

A couple of fun parts about staying here were seeing and hearing howler monkeys and parrots in the trees. Being able to walk down to the beach and see the sunset over the ocean. We also were able to walk along the beach to town a couple of times and then took a taxi back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at Cala Luna in a 3 bedroom villa with our own pool! It was wonderful. The villa was spotless and the pool cleaned daily. Grounds are well kept with lots of security and beautiful pool and bar area. A family of monkeys visits the pool trees daily. Breakfast is included and made to order, off the menu, with a great fruit and pastry bar. Enjoyed great dinners in the hotel restaurant as well. Carlos, at the hotel, provided us with great friendly service!
Tamarindo is a nice little town either walkable by beach or a short taxi ride. Great shops and restaurants in town. Also cute little bars near the hotel with live music that are close enough to walk to in the evening. This was our first time to Costa Rica and we loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa near the lobby or a room close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked on Costa Rica's pristine Playa Langosta, the most exclusive, relaxing and private area of Tamarindo Beach, just steps from the Pacific Ocean, Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas is a tropical oasis just two-and-a-half-miles south of Tamarindo Airport. Every inch of this exquisitely lush resort seems to embody the immortal words of author John Steinbeck "We don't take a trip. A trip takes us." With experiences and adventures that tempt, transport and delight, this one-of-a-kind place welcomes those on a quest for the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing