We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly as Expected - Loved every minute of it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exactly as Expected - Loved every minute of it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We got a video of this site from Costa Rica Vacations, and watched it over, and over again through another long, hard winter in Montana. We finally took the leap and booked an 8 day trip here in May 2014. It was exactly as described in so many other reviews, except we had no negative experiences at all. The staff was amazing, from Laura, Floreda, Jose, Joshua, Orlando and the many others whose names we didn't catch, we were always treated with smiles and a willingness to help.

Yeah, we had a few bugs (and a gecko for a few days, but we hear that is good luck!) in our room, but it's to be expected given the lushness of the plants. They didn't bother us a bit. :) The room was lovely, and the huge shower was an unexpected surprise. We took multiple showers some days (we aren't used to heat and humidity,and the ATV tour we took left us covered in dirt!) and it was nice and roomy with places to hang our towels and beach clothes.

The food was amazing. We loved our breakfasts each morning (coconut pancakes were my favorite, omelets for my husband, and the breakfast burrito special was morning was awesome!) We also enjoyed trying the various fruit juices each morning, and I appreciate them serving me a few I wasn't sure about in shot glasses to try, but not waste too much. I ended up liking them all. We had some lunches and dinners there as well, and every meal was amazing, and served with a smile. The prices were similar to what they were in town at the restaurants (Nibbana, Patagonia, etc).

We loved happy hour on the beach in the evenings from 5-6 pm. Nice way to meet others and a great way to see the sunset.

We knew right away the first morning the noise we heard was the howler monkeys. We got to expecting them. One morning I didn't hear them, and that woke me up wondering when they were going to start up. The howling never lasted too long, and we were always able to go back to sleep for a few more hours. We never did see them close up at the hotel, but did see them off in the distance beyond the pool bar one day.

Loved the Igor came and laid at our feet at breakfast our first few days there. Made us a bit less homesick for our own dogs.

The walk back from town our first day wasn't too bad, except we weren't used to the heat and humidity, so we looked pretty tough by the time we got back to Cala Luna. But the fruit infused water by the pool was a welcome refreshment, and the bar tenders never looked at me funny when I gulped down several cold glasses of water at once. :) We got a lot of rides already set up from the activities we had scheduled while there, and it wasn't a big deal to spend the $5 to get to town or back to the hotel. The hotel was great about helping us book additional tours and postpone one as well.

The ocean is close enough that you can hear it, and it's just a very short walk down to the beach. We didn't think we could swim or really get in the water at all based on some of the comments I had read on here, but that isn't the case. At high tide, there is plenty of sandy beach to allow you to go and enjoy the water and float a bit. We saw many scuba divers when we were there. We spent one full day just at Cala Luna (and noticed many other couples doing the same). Beach, pool, food, beach, pool, food, drinks. It was very relaxing and just what we hoped for.

Thank you all for being a part of the most incredible vacation we've ever had. :) #puravida

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nemont_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    160
    46
    12
    9
See reviews for
331
461
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon! Beautiful hotel. Laura and the rest of the front desk staff were fabulous. Very helpful and accommodating. Nice beach access, beautiful pool. Servers and bartenders were awesome. Marlin was an incredible waiter.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DSallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Luxury, boutique hotel. Cala Luna really is only one of these adjectives. For Costa Rica, it is overpriced for what you get. The location is not exactly on the beach. The beach itself is rugged and there is no place to swim. The rooms are nice but small. They need desks. You share the rooms with multiple species of ants. Howling monkeys make it impossible to sleep past 5:30. The restaurant has good quality food if a bit overpriced. The problem is that the portion sizes are highly variable and the service is interminably slow. The service is really where the hotel falls down. Their attitude seems to be, "We've got you here. We're going to bilk you for all your worth and don't give a damn if you come back." Our first impression was a surly front desk staffer that insisted she only had one room which was near a barrier wall and in an area of the property that smelled of raw sewage. Upon pointing out that the room only had one bed and our reservation was for a room with two beds, she smiled embarrassedly, and another room magically opened up in a much better location! This was the tip of the iceberg. We contended with transportation rates that spontaneously increased despite previously agreed upon terms, lack of cleaning of the room during agreed upon times and a masseuse who was 20 minutes late for an hour appointment and then proceeded to provide the worst massage I have ever experienced in which she did not actually do any massage but stretched my joints in strange ways as if she might be trying to tear some ligaments. In case your wondering, this was after explicitly declining her "special stretching technique" prior to beginning. When I brought this up with the front desk staff, te response was, "Yes, we've heard such comments before." ??? Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DrBenway23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calaluna M, Guest Relations Manager at Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear DrBenway23,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a feedback and thank you for your positive comment on our good quality food. I am really sorry we could not live up to your expectations regarding your stay at our hotel. I have consulted with my colleague staff members to see where we could improve our services in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to review our property. Warm greetings, Ann Vervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here, the 5 of us, for four nights, in a villa with two bedrooms and a private pool. Villa is very nice, spacious, very nicely decorated (and not ostentatious). Small pool was a joy for the kids and us. Bigger pool next to the restaurant was nice as well. Good buffet breakfast. All staff very nice and efficient. Would only suggest a bit more equipment in the kitchen of the villas, and maybe a breakfast with more choices (or changing a bit from one day to the other). Overall great experience, well do to all the staff!.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank afderoide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calaluna M, Guest Relations Manager at Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Afderoide,
Thank you very much for your review and for appreciating so much the decoration of our villas. When we contracted the French interioir designer to help us with the decoration we agreed with him that we wanted an eco-chique touch with driftwood from the beaches nearby and recycled wood from the coffee plantations, with warm brown and golden tints and a vivid turquoise to remind us of our location. As to your suggestion of the equipment in the villas, we are actually making an inventory and will use the coming month to complete the missing items. Our chef is eager to explore more breakfast buffet possibilities. Warm greetings from the land of Pura Vida,
Ann Vervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I celebrated his birthday at this unique eco chic boutique hotel and could not have been more thrilled with it. It's beautifully done in every respect, yet very casual and laid back. (And we are super picky.) The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms very large and well appointed. The food is fantastic, a wonderful breakfast buffet is included. The hotel is dedicated to sustainability in every way possible. They even have a free tour of the property for people who are interested in this sort of thing. The pool is lovely, and the beach is a short walk down the hill. Not a swimming beach, lots of rocks, but great for sunsets (and free cocktails) every night. Even the howler monkeys favor this beach at sunset. They also enjoy the trees by the pool, so entertainment abounds. We were there during spring break season, so lots of kids. Don't know what it's like during other times. But the best part of the hotel is definitely the staff. They know their jobs and are very good at them. It must be a great place to work because everyone was very happy and friendly and actually quite funny. They helped me arrange a romantic dinner poolside in one of the cabanas for a birthday surprise with a special menu that was divine. If you want to be in the middle of all the action, including the incessant vendors on the beach, stay in town at the Diria. If you want a totally chilled, quiet, classy place, this is the one for you. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: we were in 314 between the pool and the beach. Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJABQ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calaluna M, Guest Relations Manager at Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear CJABQ11, Dear Christina,
You are absolutely right when noticing that this must be a great place to work and I am glad that our staff radiates this energy! Thank you for being so interested in the sustainability program of the hotel. Our free tour, which we call symbiosis tour, focuses on all efforts made by every member of our staff to respect our surrounding nature with its beautiful flora and fauna.
We too hope to welcome you and your husband Ron again in the very near future. Warm greetings, Ann Vervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Cala Luna for the second half of our holiday in Costa Rica. Having had a fantastic week exploring the Osa Peninsula we hoped for chilled, beach downtime in Tamarindo. The Cala Luna delivered this for us in style. A group of 3, we stayed in one of the villas with private pool, 2 bedrooms, kitchen and living room. The villas are spread out amongst well cared for gardens within the hotel complex. The accommodation was far larger than we had anticipated, a real Villa in fact, well laid out with 2 en suite bathrooms, fridge, big living room etc. Everything worked well for us in terms of the air con and cleanliness as well as the discretion, friendliness and efficiency of the staff. We made good use of our own pool but also enjoyed the main hotel Swimming Pool which is a lovely place to lie, read, soak up the sun and sip a cold Imperial! The restaurant was fine if not spectacular but there are many good alternatives to be found in Tamarindo itself. Lunch time snacks from the pool bar were tasty and hit the spot when a big meal was not required. The hotel is a short walk from a beautiful beach but care needs to be taken here regarding swimming as there are rip tides. We booked surfing lessons and other activities through the hotel and found these to be excellent in terms of quality and value. Tamarindo itself is a laid back surfing oriented town. There are good restaurants and bars to be found and a fair few independant shops to poke around for souvenirs, crafts and clothes. The hotel is a 15 minute walk or a short cab ride away from the town centre so close enough to the high life (!) but far enough away not to be bothered by late night revellers. We spent a great week and would definately visit the Cala Luna again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We recently had travelled through Costa Rica, ending our journey in Tamarindo at Cala Luna
The resort hotel Cala Luna is located just off the beach 5mins drive from the main town, or 20 minutes walk along the beach or roads. It is in a quiet spot And the beach is pretty much to yourself though it isn't the best part of the beach as there is plenty of rocks. The main surf breaks are located on the other side of town too.

We stayed in the two bedroom villa that had 2 bathroom and your own private pool.
The rooms consisted of a king bedroom with larger wardrobe, safe and attached ensuite while the second bedroom is slightly smaller and consists two single beds with a wardrobe, though an in room iron and ironing board is only available on request.
The living area consists of a fully equipped kitchen except for a kettle and teabags. There is plenty of living area if you wanted time away from the main resort though I was a little bit disappointed with the standard/finish on the villas, the bathrooms feature old showers and you are given the minimal amount of towels considering you have a private pool attached, the main couch was inflexible and the TV only had Spanish channels. It certainly did not provide a feeling of luxury.
The private pool is a good size and we put it to good use but even some of the outdoor furniture and arrangement seems like a bit of an after thought. The villas are located further from the beach than the main rooms which is also a downside.

The hotel pool area is a step up and feels a bit more luxurious than the villas, the bar and restaurant are located either side of the pool and are a great spot to spend a lazy day, they have a large number of lounges and day beds, so you should always be able to find a spot to chill out.

The staff are friendly and helpful but seem to be either overwhelmed or on Costa Rican time as nothing happens quickly, even at breakfast.
People in our group did also have some issues with incorrect charging but we did not experience this issue ourselves.

All in all, my experience was enjoyable but the product and service provided did not meet my expectations of a luxurious resort. I stayed at a number of other resorts thoroughout my trip to Costa Rica and feel they all offered a better experience.

Room Tip: No international sockets in bathroom, or room so bring your adapter if you are not from nor America.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigcat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked on Costa Rica's pristine Playa Langosta, the most exclusive, relaxing and private area of Tamarindo Beach, just steps from the Pacific Ocean, Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas is a tropical oasis just two-and-a-half-miles south of Tamarindo Airport. Every inch of this exquisitely lush resort seems to embody the immortal words of author John Steinbeck "We don't take a trip. A trip takes us." With experiences and adventures that tempt, transport and delight, this one-of-a-kind place welcomes those on a quest for the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing