We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbelievable vacation, a must-do, highly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
195 reviews
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Front Entrance
Front of the Villa
Entrance to Pura Vida House
Water Feature as You Enter the Villa
Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Relax the Day Away
Enjoy the Fresh Air
Outdoor Dining by the Pool
Hand-made Hardwood Tables
Most Comfortable Beach Chairs in Costa Rica
Spacious Open Kitchen
Indoor Living Area
Room 1 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 2 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 2 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 3 Bathroom with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Room 3 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
One of Three Pools Available to You
Sunset Therapy Steps Away
World Class Beach Club Steps Away from our Villa
One of 2 Spas inside our Resort for you to Relax and Enjoy
Surf the Famous Little Hawaii Break
Your nearly private beach, one of 3 beaches available to you
Beautiful Beach for you to Enjoy!
Incredible Sunsets Steps Away from the Villa
State of the Art Gym Overlooking the Pacific Ocean
Famous Hole #15, a tough par 3 called the Shark Hole
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club is steps away from Your Villa
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course is a links-style golf course with great views
Two Hard Surface Outdoor Lighted Tennis and Pickleball Courts and Club On-Site
Two Mountain Bike Trails (beginner and advanced) with ocean views On-Site
Ride Horses in Tropical Dry Forest and the Beach; Equestrian Center On-Site
Gorgeous Sunsets on 1 of 3 Nearly-Private Beaches within Hacienda Pinilla
This Daily View Steps Away from Your Villa is Sure to Make You Happy!
Birds-eye View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This is All Yours to Enjoy with a Stay at Our Beach Villa!
Aerial View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 195 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Joseph M
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable vacation, a must-do, highly recommend it”
Reviewed 6 March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have been to many resorts and countries around the world, yet we have never found a place so warm and interesting as the Pura Vida House. The house is set amongst a beautiful natural setting, surrounded by hills and all types of trees. Birds abound, and you can hear them chirping all day long, what a magical experience. My family and I counted 36 types of birds in one week around Pura Vida House, including two types of toucans.

The community of Paso Hondo is warm and welcoming, we met many members of the community, had dinner at their house twice, went to get fresh coconuts from their trees, got a horseback tour from a local cowboy named Papun on the mountains and saw a waterfall, we all did a hand pottery lesson at the house of another lady called Rosa, and our daughters played for hours with Maria, the maid’s daughter. The maid was called Pastora and she was as warm as the rest of the community members. Her cooking was phenomenal, a vast array of Costa Rican typical dishes and most importantly, all the food was fresh and organic. What a delight!

The best part of the trip though, was the personality of our hosts, Stephanie and Jorge Morera. Always high energy, and from the moment we met them at the airport to the moment we sadly said goodbye a week later, they catered to all our tastes, took us to every beach we wanted, local celebrations, neighboring houses, kayaking, played tennis, went surfing, snorkeled, tubing, paddle boarding, golfing, and fishing. They were there with us carefully planning every activity and driving us to each place. Everything was arranged for us to perfection, most activities were included in the weekly rate, and the few ones that we had to pay for, the prices were very reasonable. What a treat this was, we had two knowledgeable full time guides at our side for an entire week! In previous vacations, we were dropped off at a resort and we were in charge of coming up with what do to on our own. This vacation at Pura Vida House was very different, before we even arrived Costa Rica, Jorge and Stephanie gave us a list of all the activities and based on our feedback, they created a very fun draft itinerary for us to approve/tweak.

I can keep on going on and on about how wonderful this vacation was, but bottom line is, it’s the best vacation my family and I have ever had. I highly recommend it for families, adults and kids alike. Pura Vida House is a natural gem, and the community and wonderful hosts make it feel like home. Five stars all around, we miss Costa Rica, a million thanks Jorge and Stephanie, we plan to come back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saturated in Authentic, Local Experiences”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Where to start with a review? With the turtles laying 80 eggs in a nest on the beach, or the horseback rides with Papun up into the beautiful hills nearby, or the giant blue morpho butterfly over the crashing waterfall at Volcan Miravalles? Or maybe the Christmas pinata party for 34 village children? Oh, or maybe it's my clay pot that Rosa taught me to make from the river clay she brought for our lessons in her yard. Definitely the meals that Pastora cooked at Pura Vida house deserve a bunch of stars - how does she make that tilapia? And every day should start with fresh mangoes for breakfast.

So many indelible memories to take home and warm me through the long winter up north.

Thank you for being the perfect hosts and sharing this beautiful country in a unique way I'll never forget.

Barbara P.

--

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine201...
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
“The best in every way.”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Just back from 2 wonderful weeks at Pura Vida with Jorge and Stephanie. First this couple are a delight and they bend over backwards to make sure you are enjoying yourself. They were only to happy to jump in the car to take us to tennis, swimming or an arranged birding or turtle watch tour and so much more. But what makes the time spent at Guanacaste so special is that you are living and interacting with the locals. And what dear people they all are. Where can go when the local people come to the terrace early evening with the freshly cooked organic food and then eating on the terrace. Another neighbor comes to serve meals, clean up and even do your laundry! The whole experience is so unique and the most complete travel adventure I have ever had. Not only will you have an abundance of outdoor activity but your heart will be touched. Only caveat is if you are looking for 600 thread sheets and hot water showers, this is not the place for you. I found the accommodation lacking in nothing. The atmosphere that Jorge and Stephanie create is one that makes you feel so at home. Two weeks were not enough so I will have to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted G
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Sensational Seven Days”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

"HURRAY" for Jorge and Stephanie. The two of them and Pura Vita. Made our week one of the most memorable experience of our life. The setting,the attention to detail and the variety of activities was superb. The golf and tennis were great, as was the food and side activities (especially the massages on the beach) it was great to meet some of the local people and interact with them.The abundance of wildlife and the ability to be part of nature was a highlight of the stay. We look forward to another visit to such a wonderful time. Thanks again for your untiring effort to provide us with a top-notch trip.
Ted/Sue Guarasci
PS .Even though Jorge is a Tennis pro, I think he is working toward becoming a golf pro as evidenced by some of his shots.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words. We had an unforgettable week hanging out with you two! Thank you for trusting us with your vacation to Costa Rica, and thanks for the golf comment, I'll keep trying to play like you, Ted!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrienner...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing time in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 16 December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My fiance and I were in Costa Rica in early Dec. 2012 and Jorge and Stephanie Morera did an amazing job planning our trip. From the moment we stepped off the plane until the moment our vacation was over, we didn't have to worry about anything. They took care of all our of excursions, surf lessions, transportation, and even had us over to their home for horseback riding and hiking. We even had a chance to meet some of the locals which was great! Jorge and Stephanie are such nice people and love what they do which shines through! We would highly recommend booking your trip through Sports of Nature! We will be visiting again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2012
Thanks guys! It was our honor to host you both in Costa Rica, and very glad to hear that you had a good time. Happy Holidays! Warmest regards, Jorge and Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“What a vacation, five stars!”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My wife and I were in Costa Rica last week and had an awesome time. Jorge Morera and the staff of Sports for Nature did a great job in planning the week for us, and taking care of all meals, beverages, transportation, tours, tennis lessons, golf rounds, and basically being our attentive full-time guides.

The accommodations at the Pura Vida House were great, we had our own spacious room with a full private bathroom, maid service every day, we were pampered, meals were great, the house is in a fantastic location close to everything yet surrounded by mountains and in a very relaxing setting. We loved the beaches, played golf at Hacienda Pinilla and The Westin Playa Conchal, went to Arenal Volcano, did fantastic hiking around the house, saw a bunch of howler monkeys daily, iguanas, birds, you name it, we saw it. Did the Palo Verde tour as well, and kayaked and snorkeled at Conchal Beach. Spent several afternoons at Tamarindo Beach watching a to-die-for sunsets.

I highly recommend Sports for Nature, they took care of every detail and charged a very affordable rate that included everything for the entire week. This was one of our best vacations ever, we’re definitely coming back to Costa Rica next year. Thanks Sports for Nature!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2012
Hi Jason, thank you for your very kind comments. It was a pleasure to host you and Alice here in Costa Rica for a week. We are looking forward to seeing you both in Columbus again next summer, and hopefully playing some more mixed doubles and going on fun dinners afterwards. Take good care; we wish you all a blessed Holiday Season! Warm regards, Jorge Morera.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry S
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Very fun trip! This was an awesome vacation!”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Jorge Morera and the Sports for Nature staff were great in planning our trip in Costa Rica. They took care of every detail from the start, they planned our personalized itinerary weeks before we arrived, they picked us up at the airport on time, and every activity we did during the week we spent in Costa Rica was carefully planned and very fun. We did zip lines, went to Arenal Volcano (a must-see!), we did the Palo Verde boat tour, went horseback riding a few times through the mountains, and ate incredible typical Costa Rican meals, and spent plenty of time at different beaches. The trip was a good mix of relaxation and outdoor activities, just perfect!

Pura Vida House was very nice, it’s spacious and modern, surrounded by beautiful mountains that you feel like you can almost grab with your arms. The maid and cook were very nice. Jorge and his wife were basically our full-time guides. They were very patient in explaining many aspects about the Costa Rican culture, its customs, and they showed us around local towns. It gave us a good perspective of the true Costa Rican culture, something that is often missed when you stay at a big resort.

This trip was unforgettable, highly recommend it! My wife and I are already thinking of coming back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing