We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place that embodies Pura Vida to perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy Relax the Day Away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
198 reviews
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy
Relax the Day Away
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Front Entrance
Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Water Feature as You Enter the Villa
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Enjoy the Fresh Air
Entrance to Pura Vida House
Front of the Villa
Outdoor Dining by the Pool
Hand-made Hardwood Tables
Most Comfortable Beach Chairs in Costa Rica
Spacious Open Kitchen
Indoor Living Area
Room 1 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 2 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 2 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 3 Bathroom with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Room 3 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
One of Three Pools Available to You
Sunset Therapy Steps Away
World Class Beach Club Steps Away from our Villa
One of 2 Spas inside our Resort for you to Relax and Enjoy
Surf the Famous Little Hawaii Break
Your nearly private beach, one of 3 beaches available to you
Beautiful Beach for you to Enjoy!
Incredible Sunsets Steps Away from the Villa
State of the Art Gym Overlooking the Pacific Ocean
Famous Hole #15, a tough par 3 called the Shark Hole
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club is steps away from Your Villa
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course is a links-style golf course with great views
Two Hard Surface Outdoor Lighted Tennis and Pickleball Courts and Club On-Site
Two Mountain Bike Trails (beginner and advanced) with ocean views On-Site
Ride Horses in Tropical Dry Forest and the Beach; Equestrian Center On-Site
Gorgeous Sunsets on 1 of 3 Nearly-Private Beaches within Hacienda Pinilla
This Daily View Steps Away from Your Villa is Sure to Make You Happy!
Birds-eye View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This is All Yours to Enjoy with a Stay at Our Beach Villa!
Aerial View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 198 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rochelle...
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“A place that embodies Pura Vida to perfection”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Pura Vida House is Costa Rica's best definition of what ticos are all about... Nature, fun and warmth. The owners, Jorge and Stephanie are very kind and will treat you like family. The house is great with a peaceful environment and very close to the most beautiful beaches of Guanacaste. We really had a great time. Fully recommended!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2014
Muchas gracias for the nice review, really appreciate it! We hope it’s not the last time that you guys will be staying at Pura Vida House, our doors are always open and both Steph and I love hanging out with you all. Pura vida queridos amigos! Jorge and Stephanie Morera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackNYC82
New York City, New York
1 review
“The ONLY way to do a vacation in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Whether you're a seasoned traveler or it's your first time in Costa Rica, staying at Pura Vida House is the way to experience this amazing country. Jorge and Stephanie help customize a personal experience that no "all inclusive resort" or individual efforts could match. The way your closest friends show you their city when you visit them is the way Jorge and Stephanie show you Costa Rica -- you're not a guest, you're their newest friend and they can't wait to show you how to live life in Guanacaste.

I know I will be returning and will come with friends in tow. Pura Vida!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thanks so much for the kind review, we know how incredibly busy you are, so truly appreciated it. We had as much (or more) fun hosting you guys at Pura Vida House! Your positive energy, quick jokes and laughs will be missed. If you are ever in the Columbus area please let us know, and when we are in NYC we will definitely let you know so we can catch up. Hope you and Steph can meet up at some point next month in the DC area. Best of luck with the business and hope to see you very soon! Warmest regards, pura vida, Jorge and Stephanie Morera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby L
Lutherville, Maryland
1 review
“Tennis week at Pura Vida House”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My husband tagged along with me on a tennis week at Pura Vida House. The tennis instruction was great. I am building a tennis legacy, Jorge. The trip turned out to be way more than tennis. Our wonderful hosts, Stephanie and Jorge provided wonderful guides to take us on many adventures in this beautiful country. Our hosts and guides were especially helpful to my husband who has a tough time getting around because of back issues. He didn't miss anything-except the zip lining! This was truly a unique experience and one of the best vacations we have had. Stephanie and Jorge treated everyone like friends and family and made sure everyone had a great time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2014
Libby, thank you kindly for the very nice words and for taking the time to post a review, greatly appreciated! We really enjoyed meeting and hosting you and Ted at Pura Vida House! I was so glad that everything worked out fine and you both were able to join the tennis group that week. You were a pleasure to have on the courts; I had so much fun with you and the group and hope that I was able to help out with tennis strategy. Best of luck on your tennis matches this summer! Your friends, warmly, Jorge and Stephanie Morera.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manrique...
Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“incredible experience”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Excellent place to spend holidays surrounded by nature, a reall peacefull place. The house is perfect for a pleasant stay and very comfortable with everything you could ask for an increhible expirience. Very close to some of the best beaches in the country and the kindness and love of Jorge and Stephanie is the best you can get.

Incredible experience, totally recommended.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: En pareja
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2014
Mil gracias por las finas palabras y por tomarse el tiempo de hacer el review! Fue un gran placer el haberlos tenido en nuestra casa, y muchas gracias por la ayuda y excelente actitud en la cancha de tenis; fue muy divertido el haber compartido las lecciones con usted y esperamos que no sea la ultima vez que nos visitan, las puertas quedan abiertas para un futuro. Estamos a las ordenes en todo momento y muchas gracias por la excelente amistad! Muchos saludos y nos vemos pronto! Jorge y Stephanie Morera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kateegrac...
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from an awesome two week stay at Pura Vida House. We have done a fair amount of international travel but this trip was truly unique, thanks to our hosts Stephanie and Jorge. A stay with them is like staying with friends and family and gave us a real sense of Costa Rican life. Their energy and enthusiasm was contagious. And if you notice that reviewers are facebook friends, probably means, like me, we became friends on this trip.
Our days were filled with activities that are included for no additional cost such as beaches, tennis, shopping, bird watching, horseback riding, snorkeling, relaxing, a boat tour of Las Baulas Estuary, and night turtle hunt. For an additional cost we added tours to Palo Verde, and Miravalles, and enjoyed a wonderful $20 massage at the beach. We love to play tennis so it was a big bonus to have tennis included in the cost. We spent a lot of time on the court with tennis pro, Jorge, working on our strokes and strategies. Unfortunately we were the only tennis players staying at that time so we did not play many matches but focused on drills. Jorge is very instructive and encouraging on the court.
Its location in a very small town of Paso Hondo allows plenty of time for relaxation and the opportunity to meet and mingle with local families. Our views from the home included mountains, pastures, cows, horses, chickens, birds, and occasionally monkeys. There was no need to rent a car. Our hosts provided all transportation to tennis, beaches, activities, airport pick up and drop off. The closest activities were about a 25 minute drive. Although nothing was within walking distance we did enjoy walking the area to view birds, animals and a variety of trees and flowers. Stephanie has a lot of interest and knowledge on bird watching and guided us around the area to spot a variety of different birds. Evenings were generally spent sitting on the porch enjoying the night sounds, cool breezes and an ice cold beverage.
The house is a simple Costa Rican design with a lovely wrap-around porch with dining area, shiny ceramic flooring, many locally crafted furnishings and kept impeccably clean. Our room was comfortable and spacious with a large private bathroom and air conditioning. The bed/bedding was fine but not luxurious. A small pool provides a nice place to hang out and cool off. Breakfast, dinner and most lunches were provided and deliciously prepared by Pastora, a charming local woman. I really loved being able to sit outside to enjoy each delicious meal.
We had four others staying at the house so we did occasionally have to make compromises and rework the schedule but it all worked out well. Jorge and Stephanie go out of their way to accommodate everyone’s desires and will customize the visit to suit you.
I recommend you forget the resorts and try Pura Vida House for a memorable, authentic Costa Rican experience. Or make it a combination trip and spend the last couple of nights at a beach resort.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2014
Wow, what a kind review you posted, thank you so much for taking so much time. We really think this helps future guests know what to expect, and certainly helps us out. It was our pleasure meeting and getting to know you guys, and we truly look forward to seeing you this summer up North! We should have a little get together with the other Columbus ladies that were here your week.

Pura Vida, and we hope you guys are coming out of winter now up there!
Stephanie and Jorge Morera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
“Tennis trip”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

It you ever want to feel more at ease and comfortable when you travel, then go to Pura Vida house. Every adventure was a joy and it was not rushed. This vacation allows you to do as little or as much as you like. Jorge and Stephanie were the best hosts that you can ask for. When in Costa Rica, stay with them. One day I will beat Jorge on the courts. Pura Vida!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2014
Steve, thank you for the kind review. We know how busy you are at the clinic, so really appreciate it! It will not be long before you beat me on the court, that’s the reason I did not want to play a set against you … I don’t want to see that 100mph serve coming straight at me! Your best tennis is yet to come, keep it up! Hope to see you guys again very soon; so long from Paso Hondo, pura vida! Jorge and Stephanie Morera.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRMD10is
1 review
“This is the best vacation I had in my life.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Tennis classes were excellent, dynamic and fun. Jorge is a great tennis player and outstanding instructor. The food prepared by Pastora was delicious. Everything was fresh like the bread, fruits, vegetables, rice, etc. The trips and all activities were tailored to the specific taste of each one of the guests. I enjoy the Zip line, the Rodeo night, the boat trip, the dinner at Octavina's restaurant, the karaoke night, pottery with Rosa, the Marimba party with the neighborhood, horse back riding, the beaches, snorkeling, the massage ($20) at the beach and the relaxing "jamaca" time eating fresh oranges under the trees. Jorge and Stephanie were the best hosts you can ask for. They're intelligent, talented and caring wonderful young people. I miss Pastora, Maria, Jorge, Stephanie, the people from Costa Rica and I am planning to go back in the near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
Thanks for such a kind review! We miss you guys, and Pastora says hi (we told her you mentioned her in a review :-). We had such a great time with you, and only regret we didn't have more time with you. We really hope to see you guys sometime soon, whether it's out East or down here :-)

Pura Vida!
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing