We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My trip to Pura Vida House was awesome!”
other travellers have booked this property
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Front of the Property Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
198 reviews
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Front of the Property
Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Relax the Day Away
Al Fresco Dining by the Pool
Hand-made Hardwood Tables
Front Entrance
Water Feature As You Enter the Villa
Entrance to Pura Vida House
Jungle Pool Seating
Spacious Open Kitchen
Indoor Living Area
Room 1 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 2 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 2 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 3 Bathroom with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Room 3 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
One of Three Pools Available to You
Sunset Therapy Steps Away
World Class Beach Club Steps Away from our Villa
One of 2 Spas inside our Resort for you to Relax and Enjoy
Surf the Famous Little Hawaii Break
Your nearly private beach, one of 3 beaches available to you
Beautiful Beach for you to Enjoy!
Incredible Sunsets Steps Away from the Villa
State of the Art Gym Overlooking the Pacific Ocean
Famous Hole #15, a tough par 3 called the Shark Hole
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club is steps away from Your Villa
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course is a links-style golf course with great views
Two Hard Surface Outdoor Lighted Tennis and Pickleball Courts and Club On-Site
Two Mountain Bike Trails (beginner and advanced) with ocean views On-Site
Ride Horses in Tropical Dry Forest and the Beach; Equestrian Center On-Site
Gorgeous Sunsets on 1 of 3 Nearly-Private Beaches within Hacienda Pinilla
This Daily View Steps Away from Your Villa is Sure to Make You Happy!
Birds-eye View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This is All Yours to Enjoy with a Stay at Our Beach Villa!
Aerial View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 198 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Connie P
Elmhurst, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My trip to Pura Vida House was awesome!”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I can't tell you how much fun my friend and I had at Pura Vida House with Jorge and Stephanie. They could not have been more hospitable, and would do anything for their guests. They helped us plan out amazing excursions, including snuba diving with a school of nurse sharks and a moray eel, watching giant turtles lay eggs on the beach, and zip lining and tubing thru rapids. Everything was perfect, the food, the weather, the people and the adventures we experienced. I could not have asked for anything more.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2015
Hola, great to hear from you, and thank you very much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. We miss you guys down here, and your great spirit! I think Pastora is still remembering the spa day you guys have her very fondly :-) Also, we just haven't had the same celebrity-spotting karma either! We hope to see you guys when we head out your way this summer!

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great setting + even better Hosts=Amazing Vacation!”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

From the moment Steph picked us up at the airport, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Whether it be a day at a beautiful deserted beach, an evening with the turtles, tennis, swimming under a waterfall, hiking, an adventure day spent zip lining, rappelling, rafting and mud baths, a visit to Tenorio Rain forest, a day of Snuba, a night at the rodeo or sunset drinks at Lola's, every experience was better than we expected.

Words do not really describe how beautiful the Guanacaste region is, additionally, Jorge and Steph go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. Lastly, the homemade meals prepared by Pastora are over the top delicious!

We highly recommend this trip to anyone even considering a trip to Costa Rica.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for the kind words, but more importantly, we're really glad you enjoyed your time in Costa Rica. We just want to share all of our favorite things about this country with others, and ensure their precious vacation time is spent well.

We had a blast with you all, you are such fun, kind people. And I know Pastora really loved the sad day you guys gave her :-) We also just haven't had the same celebrity-spotting karma since you left :-)

We hope to see you guys when we're out your way this summer.

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
150cheryl...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellent hosts”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Jorge and Steph are great people and wonderful hosts. I visited Pura ta Vida house mainly for the tennis. Jorge is a fabulous teacher. And Steph was a terrific practice partner. Most aspects of the Pua Vida house experience will be different next year when they build at hacienda Pinella. For me, the heat( 91- 95) most of the time and unexpectedly strong. but consistent winds detracted fromt the sporting activities. Jorge is well connected to most local businesses and he and Steph can make just about any experience work out for a. Fun filled vacation

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2018
Hola! We found this review hidden in our files, so sorry we weren't notified of it to reply!!

Thank you so so much for your visit a few years back, and for taking time out of your precious schedule to leave us a review. We remember your visit well, and thank you again for choosing us for your vacation!

Pura Vida!
Jorge & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
930boba
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Visits This Year - Both Amazing”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I was at the Pura Vida House in Jan with 7 people for a tennis camp. We had a great time and everyone raved about every aspect of the trip. Jorge and Stephanie are amazing friendly people. Pastora, the local woman who cooks the meals, cleans rooms and does laundry is fantastic and friendly. I went back last week (March 14 to 20) with 2 other people and once again it was great food, great tennis, great golf and great excursions. I would highly recommend a visit to the Pura Vida House for a first class vacation. Jorge and Stephanie roll out the red carpet and treat every guest like royalty.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Thanks so much for the kind words; you're becoming part of our family down here :-) Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review, and we definitely hope to see you up north the summer!! You guys thawing out yet??

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaival K
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and clearly won’t be our last. The Pura Vida House is the perfect venue to launch the real Costa Rica experience. Jorge and Stephanie are energetic, caring and knowledgeable hosts who provide a tailored, personalized adventure, driving us everywhere, at all hours of the day. Their network of experienced, English speaking guides is top notch. Breakfast prepared by Pastora was a treat for us every morning - fruits, rice and beans, plantains (great with local honey), eggs and banana smoothies. We had dinner every evening, family style, with great conversation. We stayed in the guest house with two separate rooms giving us privacy, ideal with two teenage children. Zip lining, estuary tour, rainforest adventure, evening turtle experience, surfing, snorkeling, massages on the beach were among the many activities we enjoyed. We enjoyed tennis lessons with Jorge and Stephanie. Lunches at the “sodas” were an amazing and inexpensive treat. Our kids, 14 and 16, enjoyed the trip as much as we did. We hope to come again some day soon and stay at Pura Vida House.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Wow, what a kind review, thank you so much for taking the time to do so. And what a sweet, sweet family you all are. It was our pleasure to have you in our house, and we are extremely glad you enjoyed your time in Costa Rica, that is always our goal - to share this country we love so much with others!

You definitely have new friends down here, and in Ohio when we're there. We will definitely le you know if we're out your way at all this summer. And sincerely hope to see you all again soon.

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGK1979
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I first learned about Pura Vida House when I met Jorge and Stephanie in Columbus through friends. I decided that day that I wanted to visit Costa Rica and my vacation there lived up to every expectation of what I'd envisioned. Jorge, Stephanie and Barb are the best guides/hosts one could ever hope for. They made our trip so easy and made everything possible for the different groups that were staying at Pura Vida House. We played lots of tennis with Jorge, enjoyed various beautiful beaches, zip lined, rode horses, tubed on a gorgeous river, took a boat ride on an estuary, Snuba off an island out in the Pacific and went to a local rodeo. Loved the food that Pastora carefully prepared for us. She is one of a kind and so wonderful to be around. Pura Vida House is a great way to experience all that Costa Rica has to offer and really enjoy a most memorable vacation.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Hola hola! We hope things are warming up for you back north! Thank you very much for taking the time out of what I know is your busy schedule to write us a review. Very kind for us, and I'm sure helpful for potential future guests. Hope we can get some tennis in this summer!

Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A
Westerville, Ohio
2 reviews
“Our First Trip to Costa Rica”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Costa Rica is beautiful and it is a rare and wonderful opportunity to make your first visit at Pura Vida House. Stephanie, Jorge, Barbara and Pastora are, indeed, showing you the "real" Costa Rica. They each possess a wealth of information about the flora and fauna and local history they will joyfully share - just ask! The scenery was beautiful. We saw exotic birds, cascading waterfalls and the night sky was magnificent. The meals were great. The beaches were the most beautiful we have ever visited. Steph and Jorge cannot do enough to assure your comfort. Thanks so much for a wonderful time.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We had a great time our week with you guys and looking forward to seeing you again. We hope the cold and snow leave you guys up there soon!

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing