We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unforgettable!”
other travellers have booked this property
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
195 reviews
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Front Entrance
Front of the Villa
Entrance to Pura Vida House
Water Feature as You Enter the Villa
Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Relax the Day Away
Enjoy the Fresh Air
Outdoor Dining by the Pool
Hand-made Hardwood Tables
Most Comfortable Beach Chairs in Costa Rica
Spacious Open Kitchen
Indoor Living Area
Room 1 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 2 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 2 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 3 Bathroom with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Room 3 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
One of Three Pools Available to You
Sunset Therapy Steps Away
World Class Beach Club Steps Away from our Villa
One of 2 Spas inside our Resort for you to Relax and Enjoy
Surf the Famous Little Hawaii Break
Your nearly private beach, one of 3 beaches available to you
Beautiful Beach for you to Enjoy!
Incredible Sunsets Steps Away from the Villa
State of the Art Gym Overlooking the Pacific Ocean
Famous Hole #15, a tough par 3 called the Shark Hole
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club is steps away from Your Villa
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course is a links-style golf course with great views
Two Hard Surface Outdoor Lighted Tennis and Pickleball Courts and Club On-Site
Two Mountain Bike Trails (beginner and advanced) with ocean views On-Site
Ride Horses in Tropical Dry Forest and the Beach; Equestrian Center On-Site
Gorgeous Sunsets on 1 of 3 Nearly-Private Beaches within Hacienda Pinilla
This Daily View Steps Away from Your Villa is Sure to Make You Happy!
Birds-eye View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This is All Yours to Enjoy with a Stay at Our Beach Villa!
Aerial View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 195 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
risa180
Columbus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Jorge and Steph have created a wonderful business model for their B & B, which is so much more than an ordinary B & B. My husband and I really felt like part of their family by the time our week's vacation was over. And we enjoyed meeting the other couple from our hometown who was there at the same time. The food is delicious (Pastora is a wonderful cook!) and plentiful. Both breakfast and dinner are served, and snacks are always available. We were so very lucky to see the green ridley turtles on the beach at Playa Ostional! That was a truly remarkable experience - just like you see on a National Geographic special. Steph and Jorge made sure we did everything we wanted to do (zip lines, horseback riding, the rodeo, and relaxing on the beach and at the Beach Club) and showed us a great time. Loved seeing the monkeys, sloths, poison dart frogs, and tucans. When one of our tours did not meet our expectations, they even negotiated a discounted price for us! When you go, get a $20 message on Conchal Beach. It was professional and so, so relaxing. We would recommend Pura Vida House to any and all and would gladly return

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2015
We feel the same way about having you here, we've made new friends/family, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you so much for the kind words, and most of all, we're glad you had a good stay. We are always so happy when people have a good time down here in Costa Rica and see why we love it so much.

Pura Vida, and have a happy New Year!
Steph & Jorge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Pura Vida House offers Authentic Stay in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My husband and I just spent a week at the Pura Vida House for a much needed relaxing vacation. The House, tucked in a well-shaded little forest, was perfect for us. Meals were provided by Pastora, a wonderfully friendly local woman, who provided us with local foods, and plenty of it. The owners of the House were up beat and full of enthusiasm for the area, and were always ready & willing to drive us around. The House is in proximity of many awesome hikes, horseback riding, and of course who can say enough about hanging out at the pool in a hammock? I appreciated that it was near a small village and church, just walking distance. We got to meet some local neighbors and the children were a delight. You can get as involved in the activities as you want, or read quietly in a hammock all day. Another BIG plus for us is that Jorge Morea is a former Davis Cup tennis player, and offers free tennis lessons. His wife, Steph, is also an excellent player so we got to play lots of challenging mixed doubles.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it. We had a wonderful time getting to know you guys, and are so pleased you enjoyed your vacation! Thank you for sharing all of your amazing stories with us, and we hope we can all meet up again some day.

All of our best, Pura Vida,
Jorge & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Authentic Costa Rican Visit”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A very well-run establishment! Jorge and Stephanie are tremendous attentive hosts, who are always trying to make your trip more enjoyable. We've often stayed at all-inclusive resorts, where, other than the weather, you may as well be in the U.S.. This mini-resort offers authentic Costa Rican food, prepared by Pastora, a very fine Costa Rican cook. The area is not a resort with hundreds or thousands of tourists. You can walk around and see the simple approach to living in the neighborhood, These Costa Rican homes have 20-30 chickens each, along with ducks, geese, turkeys, cows, pigs, etc. They have papaya and mango trees, along with their gardens. I really enjoyed just relaxing in one of the well-shaded hammocks. For adventure, we rode horses, that were very well-trained and guided by one of the locals. It was the best horseback riding I've ever experienced. We played tennis. We snorkeled at at an incredibly beautiful nearby beach. We got professional relaxing massages at the beach for only $20 for an hour. We cooled off in the small, but well-maintained pool. We visited the farmer's market at the nearby city of Santa Cruz. Did I mention that I often layed in the hammock and relaxed? I'll miss that hammock.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for the kind and descriptive review, I'm sure those especially show potential future guests what it's like here.

We had a very great time meeting you guys and spending time with you, such amazing and interesting people. We hope our paths cross again - our your way, if you're ever in Ohio, or down here again in CR!

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjcook9
Havre de Grace, Maryland
2 reviews
“Abslolutely incredible experience!”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Absolutely fantastic trip. First time at a Bed and Breakfast and it exceeded all expectations - Jorge and Steph are such wonderful hosts and really made it all about making sure their guests were happy. Tennis, beach, turtles, SNUBA, ziplines, horses...would love to bring my kids to experience it. Home Costa Rican cooking - just FANTASTIC!!!

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Thanks so much for the review, we had a wonderful, wonderful time with you, and we're so happy you had such great adventures while you were here :-)

We hope you're doing well and it's not too cold up there yet!

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great place to relax and have fun at the same time”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in December 2014

If you are looking for relax, adventure and nature this is the best place to be. This is a great place for a getaway from the city life and feel home at the same time thanks to wonderful hosts Jorge and Stephanie. They are very knowledgeable about everything and they do everything and beyond to make you feel at home. Great location to be in contact with nature and local people; you can experience the country in a special way. Accommodations are spacious, clean and with beautiful surroundings. The food is authentic and simply delicious. Had the chance to see beautiful beaches and relax at the pool at the Beach club. Enjoyed horse back riding and zip lining. They offer a lot of different activities to do, the fun is for sure included in the package. If you want to experience real Costa Rican life this is the place to be. Highly recommend!!!

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Hola! Thank you so much for your review. We hope you're doing well, and hope to cross paths again!

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_a...
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slice of Heaven! Pure Vida House is Pura Fun!”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family absolutely adored Pura Vida House- the simple, clean accommodations and the breathtaking environment are only the tip of the iceberg. The true uniqueness of Pura Vida house is the 5-star hospitality of its proprietors', Jorge and Steph. Our family wanted a lot out of this vacation: global experience, local "feel", beach time, exercise, adventure and nature, rest and relaxation, and activities for our sons (9 and 12). We got it all at Pura Vida House. And sleeping every night in the same place rather than running from hotel to hotel was a true delight. A fun "bonus" was spending time with their able advisor, Barb, and their neighborhood cook extraordinaire, Pastora. We came feeling like friends, stayed feeling like home, and left feeling like family- and my sons have already started saving money to return!

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for such a nice review, I really think this will also help future guests as you describe so well how our trips go/what type of vacation we are for people who are seeking that type of adventure :-)

We had a wonderful time with you all, it was a true pleasure hosting you. We look forward to getting together soon when we're back up north!

Pura Vida,
Jorge, Stephanie & Barb!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan K
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family spent spring break 2015 at Pura Vida House with Steph & Jorge. It was the best vacation we have ever had together! Jorge, Steph and Barb showed us parts of Costa Rica that we would have never experienced on our own. We shared experiences with locals who were warm and gracious. Our boys (age 13 & 10) were at home and comfortable and can't wait to return. We experienced the rain forest, waterfalls, river boat tour, horse back riding in addition to a few days relaxing on the beach and at different pools. Pura Vida House was more than a bed & breakfast. We felt that we were leaving friends after our week together. Highly recommend!!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and share about your experience with others, we really appreciate it. We had a wonderful time with you all, you are not incorrect in that you have new friends down here, and back up north when we're there :-) We're so happy you all enjoyed your time so much, we know people don't have many opportunities for vacations each year, so it's so important to us that we make it the best possible for those visiting us.

We hope to see you again soon when we head back this year.
Pura Vida,
Stephanie & Jorge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing