We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarindo Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

First we would liked to stay for 3 nights but we decided to stay longer because we loved the place so much. We really had the feeling to be in a safe place (like home). You feel always very welcome because the owners and the staff were so friendly!
The rooms were very good en and they have all the facilities that a backpacker needs.
We would like to thank Chris, Anne, Anne's mom, Marcel, Daniel & the house cat so much. Thank you guys for giving us such a good time!
With many love, Laura, Judith & Ilja

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ilj_aaa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Tamarindo Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrived in Tamarindo around 4pm on Halloween without a hostel booked. Some how we ended up at Tamarindo Backpackers, and we were sure happy we did. From the moment we arrived both Anne and Chris went above and beyond to make Tamarindo Backpackers feel like our home away from home. Everyone was so friendly - something that, believe it or not, I'm having a hard time finding kindness these days at hostels.

The hostel is fully equipped with a great kitchen, TV living room area, a couple of bathrooms, and a pool. I honestly couldn't get over how clean it was. I was in a 3 bed room - 1 double and 1 single. It was 45 USD per night for the room and that came with a TV and .... AIR CONDITIONING - only one I had all trip. It's also about a 5 minute walk from the main drag, with is great because you won't be kept up from the music at the bars.

I will definitely be back next time I'm in Tamarindo :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyd5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I went to Costa Rica for 2 weeks during the summer of 2013 and had planned to visit the whole pacific coast. I got to Tamarindo Backpackers thinking I was only going to stay for 2 days but ended up staying there for 1 whole week! I was greated by Chris and Anne who had just bought the place a couple days before and i fell in love with the place. Chris and Anne are awesome they will show you how to have the best time and the hostel is by far the cleanest/best hostel that i stayed in Costa Rica. I highly recommend this place for anyone who is visiting the country and i plan on going back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing and really clean!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaston A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was a great experience. The owners and staff were friendly and made me feel very comfortable and welcome. The place has a great layout for hanging out and relaxing and also very safe and secure. Only 5 minutes walk to the main part of town but far enough away not to hear all the noise so you feel like you're in the middle of the forest. No complaints and will be back next time I'm in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Specialpermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

After having stayed in many hostels in costa rica, this is by far the best experience. Chris and Anne who runs Tamarindo backpackers take you in with open arms and will do everything to make your stay the best. We stayed in a dorm and it's big rooms with air condition and it was cleaned every day. They have a living room with terrific communal kitchen, dining table, sofa and TV. If you want relax and enjoy the atmosphere you can either lie in hammocks or poolside. The hostel owners are genuinely concerned about your comfort and experience of tamarindo. They create an environment in which everyone can take part in, personally we felt like part of a small family during the days we spent in tamarindo backpackers.

This is great value for money!

Sophie and Susanne from Norway.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed two weeks with my girlfriend....Like all of you we read the trip advisors before headin in there. Some people are a bit nutty when they say certain things . To far from the beach ?! Bahhh no way 4minute walk max maybe 5 on tico time ;) don't be lazy ! There is a world outside the hostel. as for the staff well they are the 5th star in the 5 star rating. Best staff your going to find around not really staff as they are more your buddies gonna miss you crazy people!!!! And let's just say our favourite staff member is arnie!!!! You will understand when you get there ;) rooms are clean air conditioning works !!! Pool is cold. And when we were there they had people spray this mosquito killer to get rid of them! Hmm what else to say ? They definitely are putting some work into the place and can't wait to see what it looks like when we return. As this is without a doubt the best hostel in Costa Rica we stayed at ! Surfboard rentals are a plus. Oh and ask them about the sports bar as it was our favourite place. The wifi works awesome good enough for some pokerstars The ONLY complaint for us was they need some new pots and pans. which I am sure will be replaced soon as they read this ;) and maybe like a hostel group tour would be awesome. Or surf lessons as I know all the staff can surf like champions! That's it for now can say way more but don't want To spoil the best time you will have in Costa Rica with your pants on! Bye bye tamarindo backpackers until next time ;)
Collin and Antonia

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annietamarindo, Owner at Tamarindo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks so much for your review Colin and Toni! It was so much fun getting to know you, we miss you guys already! And I am going to San Jose to buy new pots and pans and some extra plates next week. We really hope to see you guys again... and of course as returning guests, we'll hook you up with a great discount! Safe travels back to Canada. Anne, Owner, Tamarindo Backpackers, www.tamabackpackers.com :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a week and loved it! Anne, Chris & the other staff were amazingly generous and became long life friends. They recommended some tours and activities and we did them all and loved it! Literally down the path from the beach and grocery store. I couldn't recommend this hostel enough, price was low and the experience high! :)

Ps don't forget to head to Sharky's for beer pong! :)

Room Tip: The privates are nice but it honestly doesn't matter, I stayed in a share room and that's Al...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annietamarindo, Owner at Tamarindo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you SO much for your review! It was great having you here and we're so happy that you had a good time. Come back to Tamarindo! We give discounts to ALL returning guests or any friends you refer to us. Pura Vida :) Anne, Owner, Tamarindo Backpackers, (506) 2653-1720

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#7 of 73 in Tamarindo
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
#2 of 73 in Tamarindo
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pura Vida Hostel
Pura Vida Hostel
#16 of 73 in Tamarindo
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarindo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Backpackers

Address: West of Supermarket 2001, turn left at Kahiki then 2nd road on the right at the end of the cul-de-sac, | Tamarindo, Guanacaste 50309, Costa Rica, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range: £7 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamarindo Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo Backpackers is a boutique beach hostel. Anne the owner works very hard to improve the hostel on a daily basis. Tamarindo Backpackers is a small, friendly place to stay just minutes from the beach. Get to know fellow travelers in the communal kitchen or chilling by the pool. Its a super friendly and fun atmosphere. We are the Lonely Planet Guide recommended hostel in Tamarindo for several years running! Here's what Lonely Planet has to say about us: "Our favorite hostel in Tamarindo, this intimate, all-star backpacker spot, in a gorgeous yellow hacienda is big enough to make new friends . . . small enough to feel more like home. The common kitchen area has a large, full-stocked shared Kitchen, cable TV and FREE coffee. Dorm and private rooms are clean and comfy. Outside, you will find lovely tropical gardens, small pool and hammocks, all surrounded by woods where you'll hear howler monkeys every morning".- By Lonely Planet 2011. The author's choice from ALL hostels in Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Tamarindo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing