We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun in Tamarindo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun in Tamarindo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

May 2013
We enjoyed a wonderful 6 day stay in Sunrise #27. It is a beautiful condo, that has everything needed for a comfortable stay and is extremely clean. The location couldn't be better, directly across the street from the beach and within walking distance of all the Tamarindo sites, so a car is not necessary. This condo is also just down the street from the Witches Rock Surf Camp. A real plus to renting #27 is it is one of the few units that has a really nice view of the ocean. The pool is really pretty and has a really cool rock waterfall that kiddos can walk through. A stay here will not disappoint. Pura Vida !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    34
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
54
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We recently stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse unit and loved it! We were with another family and were a total of 8 people. There was adequate room and 3 bathrooms so everyone was comfortable. The proximity to the beach and restaurants was very enjoyable and easy to get around. The staff were kind and helpful. This was our first time in Tamarindo and thoroughly enjoyed the scenery, the people and of course the beautiful beach with the amazing waves. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanV115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Our party of 4 adults and 2 children just returned from Tamarindo. We stayed in number 4, which is portrayed as having double beds and a wrap around balcony. There are only single beds and the balcony picture was borrowed from another unit! When we arrived, we learned in horror, that the manager, Joel Hookerman had allowed the previous tenant to stay for 3 extra days, forgetting our arrival, even though I had spoken with him 2 days prior. Only that the woman staying in the condo, agreed to leave and be relocated, did we get to enter the condo that I had paid to rent. Even though I called Mr. Hookerman to request a cleaning lady, none arrived. As such, my daughter in law and I cleaned and changed the bedding! Horrendous! Other than this, the condo is well situated across from the beach, in easy walking distance to the restaurants. However, it is also in between 2 bars/nightclubs that played loud pounding music most of the nights during the week. Sleeping was often interrupted.. I would never stay at this property again because of the noise and the fear of another reservation disaster at the hands of Mr. Hookerman.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Our vacation at the Tamarindo Sunrise was amazing! The condos are located right across the street from the beach. The beach was amazing. Our unit was very clean and well stocked with everything we needed. The ocean view and sunsets were amazing! The pool was fun and the kids loved the waterfall! Noise was never an issue, even at night. We were hoping to see some monkeys, but maybe next time. We highly recommend Tamarindo and this condo.

Room Tip: First floor units are convenient but don't offer much privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Wish that I could have had the great experience others had found at Sunrise Condos.....though our Condo Sunrise 38 was very clean, stocked well, great pool view, good internet access, and a great patio was enjoyed at times.
This is our first time in Tamarindo. Previously we traveled to Nosara and Samara Costa Rica...both towns are amazing. We have already planning to return to Samara next year. The beaches, especially in Samara, are amazing. I was less than happy with the beach in Tamarindo. Very dirty and not kept.

We booked this condo #38 for 3 weeks. The contact at Blue Water were great and very helpful. However they neglected to inform us that this was the noisies condo ever. Every morning we awoke to day traders screaming from their patios as the were keeping their computers up to speed with the stock market. Evening were interesting as well......pool closes at 8pm but the renters in some of the condos decided a romantic moonlight swim was in order....and then the hoopla started until the security guards told them to leave......what time was this, how about 1:30am to about 3:00am...does not make for a good nights sleep. Bear in mind that the pool carries the sound much furthur and louder and of course our condo is right at the pool! The view?.....you get to see a row of stores about a block long, 2 stories and you get to see a sliver of ocean. Very disappointing! Ah...but during the day as you try to relax and enjoy the pool, you are baraged by screaming children (not the sounds of playful children enjoying themselves) who ruin the solitude....and parents that do not ask them to quiet down. One day I was relaxing reading a book and along comes a child with a squirt toy and aimed it at my head and drenched me...needless to say I was startled.....told the parent to take away the toy....I am not alone....othes in and around the pool were targeted as well. Then there was the sounds of saws, hammers, drills etc. for 4 straight days as they proceeded to install a new roof. The best was the replacement of the marble tiles!...no OSHA here....just drill away....the dust flew down from above (as they removed the old tiles... it is windy here in Tamarindo) and drifted into our coffee and breakfast. I especially liked the choking fit because we enhaled the dust. Needless breakfast was quickly over and we ended up going out to eat.
I did enjoy the restaurants,the people of Tamarind, the inside of the condo (although the condo,inside, was dated and needing help) it was very nice and very clean. We cooked in some evenings and the kitchen is well stocked.....nice dishes, plenty of gasses, china, silverware, pots, pans, etc. stove worked well and a nice fridge, microwave, toaster oven and blender.
My recommendation for Sunrise Condos....a huge NO and Tamarindo was less than I thought it would be. I can only hope that should you chose to go your experience is not what mine was. I spent a lot of $$$$ for a not so good vacation.
H. Wysk
Massachusetts

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara29526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seacoast, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Beware that every condo is privately owned at Sunrise. We stayed here two years in a row. Last year's was beautiful - 4th floor. This year's was very disappointing. Unit #02 is in desperate need of paint and updating. Beds and pillows were shabby and uncomfortable. Cushions on living room sofa were quite stained. Kitchen was poorly stocked. Three of four burners worked on the stove top. Overall it was very shabby. Sunrise Condos are safe, grounds are well-kept, it is affordable - especially for families and in a fantastic location, pool is very clean. Walk to beautiful, clean beach just across the street, many shops and great restaurants. Lots of excursions to book just across the street. Just beware of which condo you choose to rent.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the pool/ocean but be careful to choose an updated condo as compared to one tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank SnoopysMom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Condos are individually owned so interiors vary. We stayed in the penthouse oceanview. Our unit was very nice. The condos are a great location for walking to the beach and restaurants. The pool is very nice compared to other condos in the Tamarindo area. Depending on the condo, there may or may not have any ocean views. I would still highly recommend these condos.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank p0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luamey
Hotel Luamey
#6 of 49 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Zullymar
Cabinas Zullymar
#44 of 79 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Marielos
Cabinas Marielos
#46 of 79 in Tamarindo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo

Property: Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
Address: Tamarindo Main Street | Right in Front on Tamarindo's Beach Access, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Resort welcomes global visitors to the very heart of Tamarindo, Guanacaste's top tourist destination. There is simply no more convenient accommodation to enjoy the area on foot. From its location on the main street, guests are just a few minutes from virtually every attraction and service offered in Tamarindo, and literally seconds from the Main Beach (across the street) with swimming, surfing, fishing, cruises, estuary tours, and other ocean sports. Leave your condominium "barefoot, bathing suit, and board under your arm", and dive into the surf. Sunrise Resort guests enjoy one of Tamarindo's largest resort pools, and an interactive cascading pool waterfall feature. Both are surrounded by a wide pool deck and landscaped gardens. The complex offers private parking, 24/7 security, gated entrance, and perimeter wall. Come and enjoy being at the "center of it all" at Sunrise Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Condos Of Tamarindo Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing