We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, good price”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there on peak season,
Located in downtown Tamarindo you can walk to almost all the bars and restaurants in town.
Good security, nice condos and pool area.
Had some issues with the AC and the fridge, maintenance came quickly and fix it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lrimolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    35
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
55
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked this unit through the owners website http://www.discovervr.com/ as we had booked their Manitoulin Island cottage last summer. We found our room to be clean and very large. I loved that we had 2 full bathrooms, full kitchen and a washer and dryer. Plenty of room for our family of 5. The pool area was great at the condo, really close walk to the beach and all the amazing restaurants. Would stay here again, however we found Costa Rica to be very expensive, 13% tax, groceries were costly (we had a car so we went to other area and still expensive) Restaurants were about $20 an entrée plus a 10% service fee. Tamarindo Beach was very busy, great for surfing, we liked Flamingo Beach better - about a 15 min drive. Less people and less vendors, the kids loved the waves and the white sand.

Remember if your traveling to CR, they have a lovely $29 per person "departure tax" at the airport, not sure why since it's not an island but times that by 5 people = expensive! Although we liked Costa Rica, we didn't love it and probably won't be back as we have travelled to many other places including Maui and besides flights, it was less expensive to dine in Maui then CR. Just an FYI...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Koda555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed in Unit 40 on the fourth floor and had the best view of the sunset in the entire town of Tamarindo. The unit was clean, the furnishings were comfortable, and did I mention the view was amazing?

Room Tip: Unit 40 was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainking0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our group of 10 women stayed here the last week of February. We found the listing on VRBO. The place was amazing! 5 bedrooms, 5 baths, 5 terraces. We spent a lot of time on the rooftop terrace sunning ourselves, and soaking in the hot (cold) tub. The heat element was broken, but we didn't mind because it was so hot there, and it was refreshing to take a break from the sun in the jacuzzi. We were a little disappointed that the tub wasn't cleaned for us, but luckily one of our girls knew how to take care of it. We had a maid, Evila, take care of us all week. She was there first thing in the morning until early afternoon. She didn't speak english, so it was difficult to communicate, but we sorted it out. The water pressure is low, and the water temperature is iffy. It could be due to the fact that 10 women needed to shower. It didn't bother us much, but thought I should note it. There was a bees nest on the roof, but the bees didn't seem to bother us much. The manager, Joel, had someone in to spray when we shared our concerns. Didn't do much though, because I think the nest is far inside the roof. Joel took care of any issue we had right away. If you book an airport transfer through Joel, I would recommend ensuring the drivers will be there at the stated time. We almost missed our flight. Anyway, overall this condo is beautiful, large, and perfect for a large group. We had a fantastic time here, and will definitely consider renting it again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthgurlsreasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

As a family of 4, sunrise 12 was great! We had plenty of space, and all that we needed. The unit was very clean and we'll maintained. It is right off the main road (across from the beach), but we found it very quiet. We loved the pool and my kids loved the pool's waterfall. We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Two of us rented this two-bed, two-bath unit on the top floor of the condo complex. The location is great - right in the middle of town with easy walk to beach, restaurants, shopping. Including taxes, this unit was $1745 for a week in February. It was a bit big for just two people, but there isn't a market for nice one-bed condos and it was nice to have some room to spread out. Nice, well-appointed kitchen if a tiny bit tired, high ceilings, super comfy bed in the master but the pillows were not so great. Luckily we were able to snag others from the second bedroom which were much more comfortable. The unit has central air which is a huge relief in the heat. The master bedroom abuts the balcony of the next unit, so it was a little disappointing to be woken early by the neighbors. The water pressure is adequate but not what we are accustomed to in the States. Was so nice to have a washer & dryer in the unit. The pool & grounds were kept clean & tidy by what seemed like an army of property managers each morning. There were a couple small things that weren't perfect (see pics), including the non-functioning ice-maker & water dispenser. Someone quickly came to look at it on our third day, and again the day before we left but to our knowledge it wasn't fixed before we left. Nonetheless, we recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_MPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Spent a wonderful Thanksgiving Holiday in Sunrise Condo #13-TamarindoBeachRentals.com. The unit is a 3BR-2Ba ground floor unit that is poolside. This really made it nice because we could expand the living space all the way to the pool and never had to lug bags and surfboards up the stairs. The unit is air conditioned and outfitted with a Flatscreen TV, Cable and High Speed Internet. The power and plugs are compatible with USA so all of our devices worked and kept us up-to-date with friends back home.

This is my family’s third year of vacationing in Costa Rica and we thoroughly enjoy it. We usually spend a couple of days in the mountains at one of the boutique resorts at Lake Arenal enjoying world class windsurfing/kiteboarding, horseback riding and hiking. On this last trip we stayed at Borinquen enjoying the hot springs, mud baths, ATV and horseback riding. We like to spend the rest of the week at the beach and by far Tamarindo is the most family friendly beach we have found with an abundant supply of businesses supplying board rentals and surf lessons. There are shops just outside the Sunrise Condos to get cold drinks, adult beverages and snacks to enjoy at the beach. The ocean water temp is near 80 degrees in the winter.

The best part of Tamarindo is the food! The family argued every night about where to eat dinner. Our favorites were the Argentine Steak House, Pizzeria La Baula, El Lagarto and the Lazy Wave. My favorite lunch is Bavaria Negra and fish tacos at Nogui’s Restaurant on the beach but the rest of the family likes the sushi and burgers in Joe’s Bar at Witches Rock Surf Camp. The best part of all is once you get to Tamarindo everything is within walking distance and it is generally safe place to wonder around even at night.

If you rent a car I recommend getting every insurance option you can. Maybe 20 percent of the roads are paved in Costa Rica so you should rent a 4wd SUV. This trip we drove from Tamarindo to Playa Garza. Most of Hwy 160 is dirt and rutted and we had to ford 3 rivers to get there. Somewhere along the way I lost the front licenses plate which cost me $200 even with all the insurance. We ate dinner at the Harmony Hotel – Nosara (in Playa Garza) and at 8:00PM watched Turtles lay their eggs at the refuge in Playa Ostional. That made the 2hr off-road adventure well worth the time invested. Overall, this was another 5-star family vacation.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor by the pool...#1,5,9 and 13. Also #33
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luamey
Hotel Luamey
#4 of 47 in Tamarindo
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Marielos
Cabinas Marielos
#45 of 75 in Tamarindo
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ten North Tamarindo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo

Property: Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
Address: Tamarindo Main Street | Right in Front on Tamarindo's Beach Access, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Resort welcomes global visitors to the very heart of Tamarindo, Guanacaste's top tourist destination. There is simply no more convenient accommodation to enjoy the area on foot. From its location on the main street, guests are just a few minutes from virtually every attraction and service offered in Tamarindo, and literally seconds from the Main Beach (across the street) with swimming, surfing, fishing, cruises, estuary tours, and other ocean sports. Leave your condominium "barefoot, bathing suit, and board under your arm", and dive into the surf. Sunrise Resort guests enjoy one of Tamarindo's largest resort pools, and an interactive cascading pool waterfall feature. Both are surrounded by a wide pool deck and landscaped gardens. The complex offers private parking, 24/7 security, gated entrance, and perimeter wall. Come and enjoy being at the "center of it all" at Sunrise Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Condos Of Tamarindo Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing