We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of service for Slow Season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Botella de Leche Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lack of service for Slow Season”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Place definitely showed potential for a good stay however I think I got screwed. I assume they put a lot less effort into slow season. Arrived late the other night looking for a cheap bed and beer. It was reasonably priced however the bed had no sheet and I had to walk 100mts up the road to another hostel to get the beer. I'd just got into Tamarindo after a 13hr bus trip. Wasn't in the mood for going anywhere honestly just looking to crash for the night. Stayed 1 night wasn't impressed and moved to the hostel that provided me with the beer. Overall, I just wasn't vibing the place. The customer service ok and the people staying there weren't friendly wasn't feeling the love.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CHLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    33
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
63
59
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly here, although one night the guy had all his mates around and took over the common area, but they were not loud and left at a reasonable time. Good a/c at night, decent sized kitchen, may be lacking in a few pots though, they do board rental and there is a resident dog. We would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toohotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Soo...this review is quite overdue, but I still do remember well staying here for a few nights during a long stay in Costa Rica...what a great hostel! Very welcoming to an international crowd, and friendly service...you don't feel like they are trying to get paid but more taking care of you...and as two young ladies travelling alone have learned, this counts for something. Very communal vibe in the kitchen and common area, and beautiful garden and clean. nice little pool, but we were here for the lovely beaches of course. Tamarindo on the other hand did not impress me, kind of a touristy vibe there. A local girl I stayed with referred to this area as "mini-America"...lots of English spoken and that party vibe...fun if you are into that, but not what I seek out for my travels personally. lovely beaches though, stay here!! safe, quiet and very nice staff.

Room Tip: we were two girls travelling alone and just ended up paying for a full 4 beds to have privacy in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My dad and brother have been traveling to Tamarindo for surf trips, for several years now. They have always ranted and raved about staying at La Botella de Leche. This past May, I finally got to experience it for myself. The place is great. A short walk from the beach and town, but far enough down the street to be quiet at night. The owner is very friendly and accomodating. There are private rooms available, and rooms for two people if you are traveling as a couple. There is a sweet little open air kitchen for everyone to use. The rooms are clean, and its a great place to meet other travelers. We made friends with other people staying here and ended up taking a few surf trips with them. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I very much liked this hostel. It almost felt like a little hotel as me and my friend had a private room. The bed was super comfortable, with a private bathroom and a little terrace with balcony and table.
The pool is also very nice and it's located close to town and the beach.
I would have given at 5 stars but the service here was poor. The staff was not very friendly and not willing to answer questions..Other then that, just a very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I loved this place, the staff was really nice. It's quite small and all the rooms were built around the pool, which created a great atmosphere. One of the few cheaper places with AC. Rooms were kept clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank YvonneKle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Great hostel with AC that you can use between the hours of 7pm to 10AM and there is even a small swimming pool. The only problem I had (since I'm allergic to cigarette smoke) is everyone there was smoking (in the pool, out of the pool, in their rooms, outside of their rooms). Nice kitchen/dining area and a couple of couches. Every room had a hammock and table and chairs set up outside of the room. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drvgtopless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 23 in Tamarindo
2,481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 23 in Tamarindo
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#6 of 74 in Tamarindo
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Botella de Leche Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Botella de Leche Hostel

Property: La Botella de Leche Hostel
Address: Tamarindo Beach | 50 mts from Banco Nacional de Costa Rica, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Botella de Leche Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first hostel in Tamarindo. In business for more than 15 years, we know what we are doing. Our objective is to help you have a problem and stress free holidays here with us. Family owned, comfortable and quiet. We are always improving to satisfy our clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Botella de Leche Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Botella De Leche Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing