We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we even imagined”
Review of Casa Bambora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Bambora
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Better than we even imagined”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Absolutely the most beautiful place to stay in the Tamarindo area. I recommend springing for the top floor, which has panoramic views of the Pacific and incredible sunsets. Casa Bambora sits perched on a hill above the rest of Tamarindo, which gives it unmatched views, yet is is a short 5-10 minute walk to anywhere in town. Each room has a kitchenette which saves on the cost of the vacation, and the casa includes outdoor cooking and grilling space, a fantastic pool with a large waterfall, and plentiful hammocks. Bring a flashlight for the walk up the nature trail.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsa2qa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
143
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was our first time to Tamarindo (3/27/14) and we absolutely made the right choice by staying with Joey at Casa Bambora. Everything you could possibly need in a vacation stay, Joey provided. The meticulous grounds, fabulous pool (our daughter's favorite), amazing views, laundry ( added bonus in my book), and a clean and comfortable studio. The outdoor bar/grill community area was a great socializing plus. We were close to the beach, restaurants, shopping and yet had all the privacy we desired. We truly had a great time and met wonderful people along the way- Karine, Katarina and Jason from Canada. We will definitely stay with Joey, at Casa Bambora, when we return. PS...the 4th floor deck has an awesome view for the sunsets!

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor studio. I enjoyed the privacy of the studio and the king sized bed. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pokerplayermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Casa Bambora for two weeks in March, 2014, to celebrate my 50th. We were very happy with the place. It's close enough to town to walk, but far enough to be quiet at night. Joey was very helpful when we need questions answered or advice given, and took care of all our needs. Our place (2B, the honeymoon suite) was fully furnished, quiet, and clean, and had great views. The amenities there were great for when we wanted a quiet day by the pool, and I became addicted to the hammock. In short, we loved our time there!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have been remiss in writing this review........we have been home from Tamarindo for a month now and everyday wish we were back in Paradise. We spent three weeks at Casa Bambora and would return in a heart beat. Casa Bambora is perched on a hill over looking the town of Tamarindo. A perfect location. Although we had a car during our stay, the location provides an easy walk to town. The building of Casa Bambora was well thought out providing each apartment with privacy and beautiful views whether on the ground floor apartment or the second or third floor. The grounds are kept immaculate and clean and the pool is a perfect addition to Joeys garden oasis. Our apartment was outfitted with everything we needed for our stay and spotless upon our arrival. Our bed in the first floor apartment provided us with the best sleep we have had while on vacation. Joey is the ultimate host. Always there to answer questions and able to make travel arrangements and book excursions with his many contacts around Tamarindo. We loved the bar/grill area where guests gather to cook, have a drink and talk about memories made that day. If you love a sunset, make your way to the roof top deck where you have beautiful views of the ocean and valley. Stunning! The peacefulness of its location, the beauty of the grounds and the hospitality of your host will make you want to return over and over again. Thanks again Joey for a wonderful 3 weeks. We will see you again one day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maraleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We just returned from our first trip to Costa Rica and we were fortunate enough to be guests at Joey's Casa Bambora. There is nothing but wonderful things I can say about our trip. Location is perfect. You are just a few minutes walk to town or beaches.Joey's place has a beautiful view and you are surrounded by lush foliage. We were there for a month and did not have a need to rent a car. We walked pretty much everywhere and when we wanted to do an excursion that was not within walking distance, transportation was not an issue. You can pre-arrange transportation wherever you want to go and there are taxis everywhere. Casa Bambora has everything right there that you could possibly need if you wanted to cook a meal or there are also more restaurants than you could possibly try right within a few minutes walk. We never had a bad meal. I would highly recommend staying at Casa Bambora. Joey and his staff keep the grounds and buildings extremely maintained. We would not hestitate to go back. It is the only vacation we have ever gone on that every single day was as beautful as the day before. Truly a fantastic vacation and staying at Casa Bambora was a very wise choice on our part. Highly recommend if going to Costa Rica, to stay at Casa Bambora.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michiganmaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

we just got back from a trip to costa rica and were able to spend a few days at Casa Bambora. We were so happy with our choice to stay here. the room was clean and had everything we needed. we stayed in the 2nd floor studio and had 2 balconies with ocean views and even an ocean view from the shower which was cool! the pool was awesome and kept the perfect temperature so it was still refreshing and the flowers around the property were gorgeous. The dogs were all so friendly and being dog people and away from our own we were so happy to have them around. All the people we met were nice, it was quiet at night and just far enough away from the town that you didn't hear any of the noise from there but a quick walk into town and to the beach (even quicker drive and plenty of parking if u have a car). the outdoor bar/grill was great - we weren't there long but if we had been it would have been awesome to make some meals there. we saw an amazing sunset from the rooftop, our pictures say it all. tamarindo is an awesome spot to visit - especially for a young couple like us because there is a lot to do and the town is lively at night but still really chill at the same time. i recommend visiting here and definitely staying at casa bambora. there wasn't a cloud in the sky the entire visit here, perfect weather!

Room Tip: the honeymoon suite (2b) is gorgeous if its available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debraR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

What's to say that everyone hasn't already said?! Casa Bambora is an exceptional home away from home. Joey keeps the rooms very clean and the amenities (kitchen stocked with cooking/serving utensils, grill for all to use, overflow refrig with goodies left by other guests and spices galore) make it so convenient to cook and grill at "home." Repeat guests abound with excellent advice on what to do and see. The beach and town are walkable for those ready to hike up/down the hill - no need for your own car. And the views from the balconies are unbeatable.

Room Tip: We splurged for the largest room- 2B. The views are incredible and I liked our location overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindywait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.1 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bambora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambora

Property: Casa Bambora
Address: Mts South Of Seasons Restaurant At the Top Of the Hill 100, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Bambora is a complex of fully equipped studio apartments located on a hilltop with spectacular ocean views just 10 minutes walk from Tamarindo beach and less than 5 from town and numerous great restaurants. Each studio has AC, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, cable TV, internet, king or queen bed, couch and private balconies with fantastic views. There’s also a tropical garden with hammocks and waterfall pond to lounge in by the pool, an outside kitchen, BBQ and an observation deck with arguably Tamarindo’s best views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing