We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Tamarindo!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Maui, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Tamarindo!”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I don't even know where to start with my review. As a solo, budget traveler, Blue Trailz is definitely the best place (& value) to stay in Tamarindo! So good, that I stayed for 3 weeks in March 2012.

I stayed in the 6-bed dorms, and it's great to come home to a cold A/C room, hot shower, and brand new comfortable mattress after a day out surfing. If you are a budget traveler who doesn't want to eat out all the time, they have a fridge right in the room to store your food & drinks.

The two owners are amazing, both very personable, and ensure that your stay is as great as you want it to be. They are always around the hostel, and if you stay at Blue Trailz during certain weeks, they may take you & others to see the sunset from top of a mountain and/or release turtles at Playa Junquillal. As well, they are always open to comments & suggestions and have acted upon a lot of them, through their incremental improvements to the hostel (new mattresses, shower curtains, kitchen utensils, etc.).

The entire staff is equally amazing. I always had a great time simply hanging out with them at the surf shop, at the beach, or simple around town. Feel free to ask them anything including where to surf, where to go, or how to get around, what's good music, or whatever. The housekeeper is also very kind, and definitely works hard to keep the place clean, even after the place gets trashed the day before from pre-gaming or all the sand brought in from the beach.

Lastly, the hostel brings in a great mix of travelers, and for most part, we'd always hang out together and go out to party, to the beach, and to some tours. Each week was different with the type of people that was there, but the small hostel allows people to get to know each other well. Setup is great for both solo & group travelers.

If you have traveled to many hostels, then when you come to this place, you'll know that it's a great place to stay. I don't need to say more. Cheers to Blue Trailz!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HurricaneHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    31
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
29
83
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
statesboro, ga
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My fiance and I were at bluetrailz last week for our first time in Costa Rica! The hostel is great we met so many awesome people from around the world and lots of people from all over the U.S. aswell. I proposed to meghan our first day there right in the middle of their courtyard and I couldn't have done it the way I wanted without the help of everyone at bluetrailz. Aleksander and Koen y'all are awesome!!! They took us to see a beautiful clifftop sunset, we rescued baby sea turtles, and of course fell in love with the PURA VIDA lifestyle!

WE WOULD HIGHLY RECCOMEND BLUETRAILZ TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Everyone here was so warm and friendly! True Costa Rican hospitality going on here. My friends and I had an amazing time here and we were very impressed by the amenities. Just as we got in, they were bringing in new mattresses! Such a treat considering many hostels think that they can get away with having subpar mattresses because of the price.
But seriously guys, at $12 a night being right across the street from the beach with AC, microwaves, refrigerators, and new mattresses, it doesn't get any better than this! The hammock outside was definitely a perk as well. The rooms were extremely clean and the housekeeper was so sweet even after I tracked in a ton of sand right after she cleaned the room (oops!).

If anyone reading this has already stayed at a hostel; this is as good as it gets. If anyone here is an avid hotelie sketched out by the thought of staying at a hostel, you won't be disappointed.

Make sure you talk to the surf instructors that work there even if you're not going to take lessons; both of them are such gems full of local tico knowledge that they are willing to share.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Absolutely great place to stay. Really great atmosphere in the common areas and the staff were all incredibly nice and helpful with everything we had questions about. The dorms were extremely well kept. The surf instructors were really great and patient with us. Extremely close to the beach and pretty much everything else you could possibly want to do within Tamarindo. They even took care of setting us up with any activity that we wanted to do! Really great overall. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I had a fabulous time at Blue Trailz. All of the people who work there were so accommodating and sweet! Our mountain biking tour guide even put up with us taking double the amount of time for the bike tour because of flat tires! The location was absolutely perfect-right across from the beach and down the block from a ton of restaurants and bars. The rooms were nice and and came with a kitchen so it was easy to save money by having some groceries instead of eating out for every meal. The rooms do get a little dirty because the floors are tile so when you shower the floor tends to get wet and sandy but they're cleaned daily so not a big deal!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This was a wonderful place to spend a week in Costa Rica. Everybody was extremely helpful and fun. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin0235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It's been a year since I was there and I miss the incredible staff there. Wendy, Marcela, Marta and Geovanny really make Blue Trailz. I found the accommodations good. I love how close it is to the beach (just a few steps away). Perhaps, my favourite area of this whole place is the common area. It's set behind the storefront (Blue Trailz also rents surfboards and mountain bikes) and is a really great place to hangout (it's covered and lit). I've met some incredible people there, some of whom I still keep in touch with (and I actually met up with mi amigo at another locale). Another fave, yoga. They offer yoga classes and retreats. Emily was the instructor at the time and she was excellent.

I cannot wait to go back to Tamarindo because I know I'll be staying at Blue Trailz again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank underscore_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp

Property: Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
Address: Main street next to Alamo Rent a Car, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp in Tamarindo, Costa Rica, is a vacation experience for budgets of every level. We offer; stays in our intimate hostel, surf lessons under the guise of our local bilingual instructors, board rental from our extensive range at our our surf shop, tours of the local area (if you stay with us) and package deals incorporating all this (and more!) with our value Beginner Surf Camp, Yoga Surf Camp or Luxury Surf Vacation. We’re located just steps away from the crystalline sea, on Tamarindo’s main street, near the buzz of all the best bars and restaurants. And both our private and dorm rooms offer unlimited air-con, hot showers, kitchen facilities and orthopedic mattresses. Making friends and chilling out comes easily too, thanks the hammocks and speakers we’ve kitted out our common area with. Book with Blue Trailz today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing