We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely lose track of time...and love it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Paraiso Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bahia Paraiso Hostel
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Completely lose track of time...and love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Hanging out on comfy hammocks...catching the ocean breeze...sure, I'd love another cocktail with that slice of pizza! Ryan, the hostel's owner, was such a gracious and welcoming host. Just passing by for some dinner and maybe a drink, we ended up with new friends and a place to stay during our next trip to Tamarindo. This place feels like your favorite local spot at home to grab a bite or a drink, where everyone knows you and notices when you're late to arrive. Except you're not home--you're in a beautiful, tropical paradise. The brick oven pizza is yummy, and the company is warm. Arrive early enough and watch the sun set over the Pacific from your 2nd floor perch!

Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank redrosetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

After a long tiring day my friend and I dragged ourselves out of our hotel in search of food. We had been hearing about the fabulous pizza at this place so we thought we'd give it a try. Ryan, the owner, greeted us warmly and within minutes we were introduced to other folks staying and dining at the hostel. The pizza is handmade and cooked in a brick oven, tasty to say the least. Despite our exhaustion we remained there drinking and chatting with folks until the wee hours of the morning. Delicious pizza, fantastic company and a laid-back friendly vibe. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bolerjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Right at the beach, this is the best place to be. Great breakfast for free and good atmosphere. They have a stone pizzaoven so you can by the best pizzas in town there. Gonna stay there again!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

My husband and I traveled to Tamarindo 3/27-4/2. We stumbled upon the hostel/restaurant and we greeted with a friendly, welcoming host, Ryan. We were then treated to the best pizza we have EVER had, while learning about Ryan's history and success with his hostel. The facility was clean and relaxed. And full. We would highly recommend this for affordable lodging and excellent food.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbDeNault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin_stl
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

From the moment I arrived to the moment I left I had a blast and felt safe and at home. Ryan, the owner, and everyone else were so friendly and helpful. I had everything I needed- the prices were reasonable, the food was delicious, and the people were awesome. Not to mention, the location couldn't have been better, its right in the middle of all the action. No matter what you are looking for, I guarantee you will find it here. The name is very fitting.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristin_stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

The Bahia Paraiso hostel was the perfect spot for our week in Tamarindo. Amazing location just across from the beach and close to everything. Clean rooms with air conditioning and our own shower and bathroom. An unbelievable open air patio overlooking the heart of town is the perfect place to relax in one of the hammocks or take in the views over complimentary breakfast each morning. We found ourselves eating the inexpensive and delicious wood fired pizzas in the evening. Ryan, the owner, and his staff are friendly and helpful whether you need to use the wireless internet or are looking for a good place to eat or grab a drink. For our group of five there could not have been a better spot. No doubt about it, I'm staying in the Bahia Paraiso on next trip through Tamarindo.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Hard to imagine how stay could have been better. Bahia Paraiso had everything you would expect from a first class hostel:

Safety and security
Clean rooms w/ own bathroom
Comfortable beds
Super friendly staff
Delicious meals
Friendly laid back atmosphere (met so many cool people)
Surfboards
Hammocks
My only regret , I should’ve stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank learningtosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Zullymar
Cabinas Zullymar
#44 of 79 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#6 of 79 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Hostel
Sunset Hostel
#10 of 79 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Marielos
Cabinas Marielos
#46 of 79 in Tamarindo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ten North Tamarindo Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
#4 of 79 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Paraiso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Paraiso Hostel

Property: Bahia Paraiso Hostel
Address: Main intersection of Tamarindo, second floor of Plaza Conchal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Paraiso is located in the heart of Tamarindo; it's the newest hostel in town and the closest to the beach. We offer surf lessons, board rental, free breakfast, pizza dinners, own bathroom/shower per room, A/C and free WiFi! Second story hostel gives us a great view of the Pacific Ocean as well. Please come see us! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing