We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gave me the best week! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gave me the best week! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

These guys will make sure you have the best time at their hostel. I really recommend the surf package, they are great instructors, they take you to other beaches and the lunch cooked at the hostel was amazing every day. They also hooked me up with yoga and hiking, they really made sure my trip was everything I wanted and they are always super friendly. The hostel is what is expected, they have a nice common area inside and outside with a hammock for napping, and A/C for escaping the heat, as well as a communal kitchen. Everything you could want is close by. I truly recommend la Oveja Negra hostel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    26
    17
    13
    7
See reviews for
2
24
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We were there because we get a great advise form lonely planet. Omg!! Place is dirty in the showers and toilet. Our room has ants in the bed and in the morning we found cockroach in the morning just behind our beds. Sheet for the beds was horrible and I left with bug-bed bites. Stay away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tito_Edu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed at la oveja negra for a week and had a spectacular time there.
The owners are always around to help you with any information you need to move in town. The staff is great!
dorms, showers and common areas are perfect for a hostel in order to what you pay.

They also offer daily surflesson and surftrips , wich is a plus!

I wish i come back some day, I really recomend la oveja negra!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucia1112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Agree with the last reviewer, this place is pretty run down with old utenils in the kitchen and ripped couches in the common area.
Dorms were spacious and beds comfy but the place is not very clean especially the showers and common areas.

Good place if you are looking for somewhere cheap and close to the beach and the supermarket.


There are better options in town like Tamarindo Backpackers

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Came to stay at the hostel for a weekend with some friends and ended up working their for a month! Located right in the centre of town near to everything, and has everything you need in walking distance! The owners are really friendly people who will help you as much as they can! Really friendly and welcoming atmosphere! Will definitely be coming back next season and i recommend La Oveja Negra to everyone! PURA VIDA

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hundredollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

La Oveja Negra was rated the top hostel to stay at in Tamarindo in Lonley Planet so booking our stay here seemed like a good choice. Overall, the place was pretty run down. If you're just looking for a convenient place to stay in town with a young, surfer crowd, then this place is for you. The walls are thin and it gets quite noisy at night so if you're a light sleeper, i'd bring earplugs. The owner (whom I believe was the bald guy) was very friendly though and was knowledgeable about the town's best surf lesson rates.

We originally planned to stay 2 nights but we ended up just staying for 1. For the price we paid ($25 pp / night), it was nothing spectacular, but it sufficed for a one-night pit stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I came to Tamarindo to learn how to surf. I was originally only going to stay at this hostel for 3 nights then move to a new one but i ended up staying the entire time. Everyone there made it such an amazing experience I didn't want to leave. The surf instructors helped me out a lot. The from desk girl was pretty cute too. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan_Stew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.2 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.3 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#6 of 79 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
#3 of 79 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Botella de Leche
La Botella de Leche
#1 of 79 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp

Property: La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp
Address: Playa Tamarindo, a dos cuadras de la Avenida Central | Frente al Hotel Portofino., Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing