We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice art place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Leon, Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice art place”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Place is located in central Tamarindo. A nice enviroment and very clean place. The price range for the service, is quite good. All the rooms have air conditions..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    27
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
3
26
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Everyone is really laid back and at night you just party with everyone. Good location and just great for young people. I've never been hangover so much but wanted to drink more the next day than in that place. I can recommended it to all my friends. PURA VIDA!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Loris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Can't say anything negative about this place, I stayed for 3 weeks and loved every minute. The staff were excellent and very helpful the beds were comfortable and the place was always clean. I can't wait to go back for a holiday soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This hostel was awesome, so relaxed. Fun staff, happy and helpful. I would highly recommend it. Everything was clean. The very happy lady that so nicely cleans every morning was singing while working and it really just made us feel safe and at ease. If you want somewhere with a chilled atmosphere but also fun then this is the place for you. And the owners are there every day which to me shows they take some pride in what they do.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a cheap one night stay you could get away with staying here otherwise for a longer period I would recommend somewhere else.

The beds are not comfortable (and not made), they don't have towels, the wifi is unreliable, it's noisy, the security doesn't appear to be great and we could open our day without a key. The shared bathrooms are a bit tired and grimy as well.

Overall - not good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

These guys will make sure you have the best time at their hostel. I really recommend the surf package, they are great instructors, they take you to other beaches and the lunch cooked at the hostel was amazing every day. They also hooked me up with yoga and hiking, they really made sure my trip was everything I wanted and they are always super friendly. The hostel is what is expected, they have a nice common area inside and outside with a hammock for napping, and A/C for escaping the heat, as well as a communal kitchen. Everything you could want is close by. I truly recommend la Oveja Negra hostel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We were there because we get a great advise form lonely planet. Omg!! Place is dirty in the showers and toilet. Our room has ants in the bed and in the morning we found cockroach in the morning just behind our beds. Sheet for the beds was horrible and I left with bug-bed bites. Stay away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tito_Edu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#6 of 74 in Tamarindo
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Botella de Leche Hostel
La Botella de Leche Hostel
#1 of 74 in Tamarindo
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pura Vida Hostel
Pura Vida Hostel
#15 of 74 in Tamarindo
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
#9 of 74 in Tamarindo
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp

Property: La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp
Address: Playa Tamarindo, a dos cuadras de la Avenida Central | Frente al Hotel Portofino., Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing