We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, perfect location!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

2 friends and I stayed at the Diria on the recommendation of another friend. We were not disappointed. It is, by far, the nicest beachfront hotel in Tamarindo. The two pools were perfect, and we spent a lot of time in the rear pool with the swim-up bar. There are iguanas all over, and the monkeys come out into the trees over the back pool in the late afternoon, which was cool to watch. We had wonderful service all around the hotel. The breakfast was incredible (and included!). We ended up booking our excursions separately from the concierge, as I felt he was trying to push us to choose a more expensive option, but we simply walked into a surf shop and booked our snorkeling there for less, and with less pressure. Also, the bus transfer to our next location would have been more than twice as much if booked through the concierge. (we booked Gray Lines online, instead).
The location is convenient to the town's bars, shops, and restaurants. We always felt safe walking the town, and the hotel has staff at the gate at all times. Taxis were easy to come by, if needed, although Tamarindo is so small that you can easily walk all over.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area, it was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back building, overlooking the pool, and the area was very quiet. It is across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktschmatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    943
    364
    176
    127
See reviews for
688
991
79
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Diria and were pleased with the overall accommodations. I should point out that while the rooms are nice & clean, if you book a "Classic" room, you will end up with a view of a wall and nothing else. I'd recommend splurging and paying for an Ocean View. They were nice enough to upgrade us, after they couldn't accommodate our request for a king bed elsewhere. The breakfast buffet that was included was fantastic and definitely a good value. There were a few rules that were a bit odd (i.e. no laptops allowed in the restaurant), but all in all we had a good stay. A couple of tips for people who stay:

1) Don't get a massage from the girls out front of the lounge chairs. I asked for a "deep tissue" as advertised and I am pretty sure I would have got more pressure from a feather. The girls in front of Witch's Rock/Eat at Joe's are MUCH better and charge the same amount. Maybe it's because they are used to surfers with sore muscles.

2) Stop by and see the concierge, Andre. He was incredibly helpful and called around to several rental car places in town to get us the best rate and recommended a really great restaurant for dinner our last night. He really goes the extra mile and even drew us handwritten maps to several surf spots and the airport. THANK YOU!

3) Have dinner at Tkiki one night - the fresh whole fish specifically. AMAZING.

4) If you surf, take a drive down to Lola's/Playa Avellanas (about 20 minutes from town).

This is my third time to Costa Rica and I would definitely stay at the Diria again.

Room Tip: Ocean view room, although the ones near the restaurant have paper thin walls, so you will end up fal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vauerswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I had a great time at this place, for this prices I honest believe they offer for the guest what they pay. I do not think you will find in Costa Rica anything better for the same rates beach front. The room has good space, they are very helpfuk at this place

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stunning atmosphere, decor,pool,restaurants,and service. Open your patio door and it is ocean within 200 feet, breath taking sunsets. You are in the middle of town, stroll to shops, restaurants, shopping,and lots of atmosphere. You are catered to in every aspect. Best hotel of the 2 weeks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Lucia Cotzumalguapa, Guatemala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

In the midst of our three-week backpacking adventure, we decided to splurge on ourselves for a night and stay at the fancy-pants Hotel Diria in Tamarindo. The air conditioning, soft mattresses, television, beautiful beach-side pools and delicious buffet was a nice change from the backpacker lifestyle we had been living. For the price, we got a pretty good deal although $135 a night seemed expensive for a Central American country. Costa Rica's tourism has just exploded in the past ten years so it hurt me a little to return to the country and see how much inflation has occurred. The breakfast buffet was impressive and the pools were clean and refreshing. The staff was friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

If you're looking for a place to stay in Costa Rica that is close to everything including the beach with good staff, great service and wonderful beach views than Tamarindo Diria is the place for you. My fiance and I travelled to Costa Rica this past summer and stayed here and we had the time of our lives. The staff were beyond helpful and our room was beautiful..right on the beach with beautiful views of the ocean. It's also close to everything including restaurants and shopping.

Andre, the manager at the hotel, will go out of his way to ensure that you are having a good time in Costa Rica. From getting us free drinks at nearby restaurants to printing our boarding passes for us the morning of our flight home he truly provided us with excellent customer service. His staff was always willing to help us from check-in to check-out. The room was cleaned every day, the breakfast was always fresh and the safety and security is a 10. If you travel to Costa Rica you must stay at Tamarindo Diria.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get the sunset room; I promise it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rizzos08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I researched many places in Tamarindo before deciding on the Diria for husband, myself and our two kids (8 and 11). I have to say, that most of the time when you look at photos of the hotels on line, the hotel does not live up to your expectations once you see it first hand. Well, the Diria surpassed my expectations and I was very pleasantly surprised. It's true, the rooms on the beach and main hotel side have a "to die for" view of the sunset which was hands down the most incredible sunset I have ever scene, but I was told by other hotel guests that the rooms beachside were subpar. They were not recently renovated and were in much need of a freshening. Our room, however, located on the opposite side of the street from the beach and main hotel had a view of their huge and beautiful pool and was very nicely decorated. Also, (I might add), the AC cranked and we never had a problem with our room being as cold as we liked. The service at the hotel was also great. The fan in our room did not turn on and the lightbulb went out the second night of our stay. Within hours of my informing the front desk of the two issues, they were taken care of. The breakfast was buffet and more than adequate. Certain hot items changed daily and there were plenty of choices for all, even Plato tipico. The food was fresh and well stocked. There is a beautiful restaurant on the beachside where we ate lunch one day under these magnificent trees that were like Banyon trees. It was lovely and the ceviche was excellent. We loved our week stay at the Diria and to be honest, once we return to that charming Costa Rican surfing town (which we plan to), we will once again book with the Diria!

Room Tip: If you want a really nice room that was recently renovated with a granite countertop bathroom, new f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomarkettomarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Esplendor Tamarindo
Esplendor Tamarindo
#9 of 22 in Tamarindo
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Property: Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing