We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diria!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent 10 nights at the Diria. We stayed in the Garden section with the adult only pool. This section was wonderfully quiet. It was nice to have the option to hang out at the ocean side then move to our quiet nest across the street. Cesar and his team at the front desk were incredibly friendly and helpful. Rolando and his team of tour organizers and guides were awesome! Juan, a guide, was incredible in stopping and pointing out howler monkeys, birds, tons of plants and other animals. He was so much fun! I can't say enough about the rest of the friendly helpful staff. The only reason I have given this a 4 is that I feel the sales people right outside the beach entrance of the hotel could have controlled a little better and pushed back so you did not feel attacked as you walked onto the beach. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley-Napa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 2,502 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent 6 nights here at the end of our tour of Costa Rica. Arriving on Black Friday did not give the best impression as it was extremely busy, but quietened down after a few days. Rooms were good - we were on the ground floor overlooking the beach. Restaurant was good as were the extensive buffet breakfasts. If you like being in the centre of all the action, this is the best place to stay. The pools and grounds on the beach side of the road are always busy, but the gardens and pools over the road were almost deserted - beautiful. My only criticism would be the front desk staff who seemed disinterested and unhelpful on arrival, and the omelette ladies need to spend more time concentrating on what they are supposed to be doing rather than chatting. The rest of the staff were ok, but maybe as this was a large resort they felt less committed to providing that typical Costa Rican level of service we have found throughout the country. Tamarindo did remind me of Koh Samui in many ways but the beach is far more interesting. We saw ospreys catching fish up one end, while crocodiles basked on the banks of the estuary at the other. Dozens of restaurants to choose from on your doorstep too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexAnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Tamarindo Diria is probably the best hotel/resort within the Tamarindo town proper. The resort itself is quite large and the included breakfast pretty good with many types of food, fruits, cheeses, pastries. We had a room (Garden view?) across the road facing the large pool and IMHO better choice since this side is not as hectic with the busy crowd so felt much more relaxing to us. The room itself was nothing to brag about though.
Overall Tamarindo is famous for the beach/surfing with breathtaking sunsets and our stay at Diria was a pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toga1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Amazing location and very helpful staff. Room was nice but not great. The attractions they are offering are very good...we took the catamaran and the horse back riding on the beach both were fantastic.
The breakfast is fantastic.
There are 2 pools that are very nice. It was missing a Jacuzzi. Going to the beach you can lay down very close to the beach one of the available chair while avoiding sellers trying to sell you stuff constantly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic0lasr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times now. The experience has been ok, nothing out of the ordinary. Ladies at the front desk are a bit messy and all over the place, a little training in cust service would be good so they say hi, thanks, you're welcome.. Things like that :) Rooms are clean. Our room this time was across the street, pool level, had a little balcony and it was conveniently located just near the other pool gate. Breakfast is always good as it has plenty options. There was a wedding on Sat night but the music was shut down at around 10pm which was good. Good thing is you can always go to the beach which is just at a couple of steps from the restaurant. The hotel should have chairs in the beach. The ones available are for rent only. Overall it was good as the other times we have visited them.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank DmejiaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Hotel Diria is a no frills, great value hotel (by no means luxury), where the pros outweigh the cons. I would not only recommend the hotel but I would stay here again when traveling back to Tamarindo.

Major pros of this hotel include the prime location right no the beach, clean hotel rooms, outdoor patio with seating, friendly staff including the tourism help desk, really good complimentary breakfast, and tight security, all for a very reasonable price.

My only complaints for the hotel would be the weak internet (for some reason the wifi works better outdoors than actually in the rooms), and inconsistent water temperature.

My last suggestion for travelers would be to request for a room that is on the same side of the beach, not across the street. Trust me, you will appreciate the convenience and the view of the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Hotel Tamarindo Diria was fantastic! I just returned from a trip with my bff for our 50th birthday. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect spot. A room with two queen beds and a perfect ocean view awaited us, and the balcony was used daily for sunset watching, surf viewing, and overlooking the beach and garden. The staff went out of their way for us at every turn.

Both pools are great, but the pool across the street with the swim up bar is really nice, although no ocean view from there. On the other hand, a gorgeous and very large iguana lives in the trees and swims in that pool, along with a few of his friends. Iguanas freely roam the property and are happy to pose for pictures. The entire property is extremely clean and well taken care of, and it is very close and easy walking distance to everything in Tamarindo.

Everything at the hotel is very safe and secure and the entire town of Tamarindo is pleasant, kind and seemingly secure. The hotel asks guests to wear wristbands so that non-guests are not allowed on the property.

The only reasons I did not give the property an 'excellent' rating are because of the wi-fi and the on-site restaurant. The wi-fi is spotty or slow and usually didn't really work too well. The restaurant on the beach, Matapalo, was a disappointment. While fine, it was the worst dinner of the trip. But, the breakfast bar made up for it for sure! Every morning the fruit selection, variety of offerings, and lovely service was tremendous.

This Hotel Diria offered absolutely everything we needed, wanted or dreamed of while there. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view. The door faces the street, but the rooms are still quiet. There are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMillerLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: £110 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing