We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Tamarindo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montréal, Québec
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Tamarindo”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Definitely a great hotel, its right by the beach, it has three pool, one of them is huge and has a water bar! The rooms are more then what you pay for. The only downside is that when i went, the internet had big issues and it was a bit annoying.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are better because you don't here the cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Théo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    946
    364
    177
    127
See reviews for
694
997
79
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked this hotel the day of! We made the mistake of booking a different hotel in Playa Grande which is in the middle of nowhere, so we were happy to arrive to a nice hotel on the beach with surf right outside our door! We had a beachside room with a great view of the ocean, surf and palm trees! nice pool, bar and beach chairs. Across the street there are two more pools with great palapalas and a swim up bar. We enjoyed swimming there at the end of the day. Loved that a huge breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room! Walked to everything in town and had great food! The room was basic, nothing fancy and there was some construction on the beachside rooms. Our air conditioning went out the second day and we had to switch rooms. I would stay here again if I came to Tamarindo! Not sure why people say Tamarindo is built up and busy? It is so small! It reminds me of what Kanapali beach or Cabo was like in the old days. Great place to visit! can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Beachfront has amazing views of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybeanlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

No need to mention that ratings in TripAdvisor are manipulated by business promoters. I noticed that ratings in Costa Rican hotels are highly suffering the same issue in a very high degree and small hotels usually have very high unfair ratings. So, be careful when comparing ratings of these hotel with other hotels in Tamarindo. I can assure you that this hotel should be in top 3 in a fair competition.
Some tips, hotel is situated in a heart of touristic village, right beside the beach. Both Oceanside and pool side rooms are in vicinity of the beach. So, do not bother yourself with booking ocean side rooms if you travel on budget. I tried Costa Rican restaurant (Galo) and The pizzeria Nari. I enjoyed the food and atmosphere and I recommend both. However, you may find the prices in hotel restaurants higher than other restaurants in Tamarindo. Breakfast buffet was also good with a good variety of choices.
By the way special thanks to the hotel security. They were very caring, When I parked my car in the hotel parking, I had left one of interior lights on. The security called me and informed me about it.

Room Tip: Both Oceanside and pool side rooms are in vicinity of the beach. So, do not bother yourself with boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Behzad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I've been to Tamarindo twice and the second time had the opportunity to stay at the Diria (first time stayed at a bed & breakfast next door). It is a great hotel with the classic amenities that most families and American vacationers would be looking for: standard room layouts, beautiful balconies overlooking the ocean, gym access, yummy buffet breakfast, easy beach access, and great pools for laying out and swimming. If you stay here it is TOTALLY worth the extra $$$ to stay on the oceanfront rooms... for view and beach access. Some say its a bit dated but it was nothing that bothered me and I can be a bit picky. Overall I had a great stay here, it has the best location in Tamarindo (close to all the shops and restaurants) allowing you and your family to easily go walk and explore during the day or evening. It is good for couples and is also very family-friendly.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 661ariannaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We did a last minute walk-in registration at this hotel. Great location in the middle of town, still on the beach, and great pools and restaurants. They provide you with a wrist band upon check-in and are careful to check that only guests are allowed on premises. Close to all shopping, pharmacy, and beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinRN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The place was very nice and the hotel was very good. With direct access of the beach and very nice garden. We enjoyed the stay there. The pool side on the other side of the road was just 20m from our terrace and the night swimming was amazing. Hotel restaurant could improve a bit but the hotel has a pizzeria next to and another restaurant across the road. And that was very good.

We have to thank to the lady at the reception that checked us in. She was extremely helpful and she made our holidays unbeatable :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, IL
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I visited here with a study abroad group and we all really enjoyed the hotel. It has a beautiful beach and is a very nice property overall. There is an onsite restaurant that offers a great variety. It is right in the middle of town and an easy walk to shopping, restaurants, etc.

Only downside was the Wi-Fi didn't work very well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyzcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,221 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Property: Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing