We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in the mood to party...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If you are in the mood to party...”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very nice hotel with amazing grounds...it is a bit touristy but the service is top notch. Great breakfast, nice pool and beach access.

Rooms are a lot smaller than they appear in the pictures (but who plans on staying in the room anyway)? Good happy hour with half priced drinks. A great place if you have children or if you are college students looking to party. Walking distance from a lot of activities including catamaran, surf shops, atv, etc.

The ocean view from room is a bit obstructed by trees but overall no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    957
    367
    178
    131
See reviews for
711
1,004
79
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I chose to stay at this resort based on the location...and it didn't disappoint. Stunning beach and is close to great shopping, restaurants and night life. The rooms were clean, the staff were very helpful and the tour department was awesome. Rolando went above and beyond with offering us help in any way needed!!

My only complaint was the service at the restaurant on the beach. I've read previous reviews that service was bad, but I usually take it with a grain of salt...having worked in the service industry for years, I have more sympathy for waitstaff. Lunch took an hour....we were one of 4 tables and we both ordered salads. The night ambiance was beautiful so I wanted to go back and try dinner there. Worst mistake ever. We were one of 3 tables there at the time. It took 5 minutes for anyone to come to our table (ok), we ordered waters and drinks. It then took 10 minutes to get water, and an additional 10 to get our drinks. We had ordered dinner when we got our drinks. I ordered a caprese salad and my husband had the octopus salad. It took us 1 hour and 15 minutes for our dinner!!!!! The table next to us felt so bad for us, that he offered us some of his fresh caught mahi that the kitchen had cooked for them. Our drinks were empty 10 minutes after we got them. I put them on the edge of the table, waiting for our waitress to come by (we would have ordered more, thus higher bill, higher tips), but we were NEVER addressed. I kept looking around for our waitress but could never find her. Only 1 additional table had come in the meantime. There was no excuse for our poor service and my sympathy was lost. We decided never to eat there again, which was good because we got to eat at some other amazing restaurants. If this resort wants to be successful, the. They need to do something about the service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights, the front desk person who checked us in was plain rude, they messed up our reservation and basically told us too bad! The bartender did not even acknowledge us at all, after 5 full minutes I said something, he continued to ring up his checks and called someone else over to make our drink. We had exactly one drink, and never went back to the bar... The only person during our entire stay that was nice was the bellhop and the tour guy. The pool closes at 8PM and they are adamant about you getting out. the room.... the bathroom sink did not drain, there were stains on the wall, could not tell what they were as the lighting was very dim, the shower to turn it on you had to mess with it no rhyme or reason to it. the worst was the people, for the "nicest" place to stay in town it was NOT worth the money. The spa massages were horrible and twice the money, go next door those ladies are awesome and half the price. the food was so so...I asked for a blow dryer for 2 days before they sent one, we asked for an ice bucket 4 times and they NEVER brought it. for the price service is impotant, they do not have it

Room Tip: the service was horrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 837Maria1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We got oceanfront rooms, the view is amazing. Sunsets are specially beautiful, you can enjoy them from your own balcony or from the beach in front of the hotel.
Service,food and location are good, the beach is beautiful, the pool and gardens are well maintained. People is very friendly. Since it is located in the middle of town you have access to restaurants, shops and bars.
This was a great place to end our vacation and soaked our sored bodies in the ocean after being hiking for 2 weeks.
The beach is public and very popular, be careful specially when the tide is high as there are tons of wanna be surfers and you can get hit by any or many of them.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the nicest trick in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed here several times, very beautiful grounds that are well maintained, food was excellent, rooms are decent with the exception of old plumbing which makes showering more of an effort with either freezing cold or raging hot as your temperature changes constantly while showering...staff is friendly, security is good and overall a nice stay, very close to all shops and restaurants in Tamarindo. A nice place for families but not overwhelmed with children! I would recommend this hotel overall with the exception of the showering and old plumbing, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on the newer side of the hotel would be better because the plumbing is an issue at this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmallard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We chose this hotel due to the central location within the Tamarindo beach area. We did not want to pay for an all inclusive resort located outside the area, in the middle of nowhere, and used the savings towards several day trips. There are plenty of decent restaurants and convenience stores within walking distance. Having said that, this resort is in a great location, but is tired and slightly dated. The layout is very nice however, but is showing it's age. We stayed in a beachfront room that again was showing it's age, expected a little nicer room considering the extra price paid. The rooms are small, nowhere to sit except on your bed or on the balcony (only 2 chairs). The sliding balcony doors were causing us grief all week, would not close properly (a little better after maintenance repaired). The grounds were well maintained and had plenty of visible security. The swimming pools close by 8:00 p.m., would have been nice if open until at least 9:00 p.m. since there was not much entertainment after dinner. The included breakfast was very good, the service almost non-existent. The coffee pots were placed on the tables and unless we arrived early the coffee was either cold or gone and then you would have to go searching for a pot. Overall, not a bad place, seems to be in line with or better than what we could see in the immediate area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterDOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Paid extra for an ocean view room. At this hotel, it's worth it. Right on the beach. Stepped out of my room and could enjoy the view and sounds of the surf. Nice gardens and pool. Hotel workers very friendly and helpful. The Italian/Pizza place attached to the front of this hotel was really terrific. The room itself was not spectacular. Clean, but small with a few more insects than I like in a hotel room. Ground floor room had a nice little patio area.

Room Tip: Ocean view more expensive, but WORTH it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureTripTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 23 in Tamarindo
560 reviews
3.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria

Property: Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tamarindo Diria is the iconic beach hotel located in Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste, Costa Rica, with its own personality perfect for an authentic Costa Rica vacation. Features direct access to the most famous costa rican white sand beach, front ocean view accommodations, 4 swimming pools, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing