We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Best Western was a great place to stay for a stay in Tamarindo. It is across the street from the beach, and has a great view of the beach from the pool. However, the view is not as good from the rooms. That is a small problem though. The rest of the room is nice. The bed was comfortable, and the large living room area was great to have people over. All of the villas also have a table and chairs out on a patio area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McDowell_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hi, thanks for taking the time write a few kind words about us. We really do rely on the recommendations of our guests. Our location is just up a small hill, which is across the street from the beach and affords most of our rooms with full ocean views. It’s very likely that you were in a Tropical Suite, which we advertise as a partial ocean view. Next time let us know you want to upgrade and we’ll give you our Corona Suite with the beautiful, full ocean view (or Ocean View rooms, which are a classic place to stay with the same ocean view).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

I simply love the experiences I had at this lovely, charming hotel. From the excellent and friendly interactions I had with Jessenia A when she was making her housekeeping rounds, to Maribel annd Marisol at the front desk providing great recommendations for cheap and delicious local dining, it is clear that it is the people that make Best Western Tamarindo a fantastic getaway, and a beautiful place to first encounter the peace and joy that is Pura Vida. The continental breakfast was very well done too. I am a huge fan of their crepes!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vajinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thanks so much for the great review. We love our guests like you who appreciate what we are offering at our hotel with great staff and service, clean and simple accommodations, and a good value. So glad you enjoyed the authentic Dutch pancakes made by our Operations Manager Michiel who is from Holland. That’s just another perk of a stay with us. Of course, you can stay with us again because the Pura Vida is always here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Unfortunately, I was not impressed with this hotel. The room is very poor. Horrible beds, very small window that was facing another wall and because of that it was always very dark in the room. Very old furniture. This hotel definitely needs some renovations. It has perfect location and I am surprised to see that hotel is in a very bad shape. I saw some workers and painters at the hotel so hopefully the hotel will be in the better condition. I was disappointed with breakfast. It include tastes coffee, orange juice with small ants in it. Also they offer small granola yogurt, some fruit and bread (with butter or jam). If you want eggs you can buy an omelet for $6.00.
Also, I wasn't happy to see a lots of ants. It was everywhere... room, washroom, pool are, restaurant and like i mentioned in the orange juice. There was different types too. I understand that there will be lots of insects in Costa Rica but its not my 1st trip there and I have stayed in 5 different hotels in Costa Rica and Tamarindo Vista Villas was the worst one. It definitely needs some repairs.

Room Tip: Try to get a 2nd floor. 1st floor has very a small window that was facing another wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Wow we are truly sorry that you had such a difficult experience with us. It sounds like you were in our Standard room, which is our most basic space with a limited view. We do try to let our guests know that it is a simple room when they make reservations with us. Perhaps that information didn’t make its way to you when you reserved with us. We will try to be more diligent in that regard. As to our furniture, it is rustic style, made from local woods. And, in fact, we have been doing quite a lot of renovations on our property, which we hope our guests will enjoy.

We do advertise on our website and our guests are notified when they check in that we offer a free continental breakfast, which is composed of watermelon, papaya, pineapple, yogurt, 4 cereals, toast, breakfast cake, Dutch crepe pancakes, coffee and tea. And of course, we offer a selection of eggs and French toast for a small charge.

We were very concerned about the ants that you mentioned and sent our maintenance to check it out. Fortunately, we were unable to find “lots” of ants that you reported. It is important to represent us correctly, and we want to be clear that while we do see the odd insect in and around the property, we are conscientious about keeping them under control with regular spraying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The employe's of the Hotel are very friendly,it has a great resturant! The only down side to the stay we had was the beds were like sleeping on sticks and there were little ant or spider looking bugs in the first room we had,but they changed rooms for us and we no longer saw any bugs,but the beds need serious inprovement. You won't find better employes anywhere, these are tops!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thomas! Thanks so much for praising our staff and restaurant. Interesting that you should mention our beds as they all have orthopedic mattresses. We really can’t get any better than that. With rainy season, it seems that we need to be hyper-vigilant about the insects around here, and we are making sure that our rooms are sprayed daily by the maids to eliminate as many of the critters as possible. Don’t worry, we can assure you that they are not a problem. We hope that you will come back soon and let us take good care of you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had an excellent stay at the BW in tamarindo. Clean and the staff (particularly Giesel at the front desk) were fantastic. Would recommend to anyone looking for a couple night stay in Tamarindo. The location is 20 steps away from the beach

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

We really appreciate your comments especially since you called your stay with us “excellent.” Here at the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas we do purport to be a simple, clean hotel with good value in our prices. Guests may choose from a basic Standard Room with limited view, to a grand Corona Deluxe Suite with kitchen, living room, balcony and our gorgeous ocean views. We also have a 3-bedroom suite for groups. And our staff does try really hard to make everyone happy. Looks like we accomplished that goal with you. Come back again and we’ll save a sunset for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I bought a groupon looking for an adventure. One of my good friend's and I went down there via the Liberia airport. It is about an hour away from this airport should you want to rent a car and drive (recommended).
Now, the BWTVV is a beautiful location. The view from the pool and the Monkey Bar is stunning and worth waking up to each morning. We were scheduled to stay in a Tropical sweet which is very large but I ran into a few issues, which included construction going on in the vicinity of my room... the staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful. Knowing I would be there for a week they offered to move us to a similar room, which ended up being a Corona Suite, which was similar to the Tropical Suite, a little bigger but a MUCH better view. I could live there!
Air Conditioned, Fridge in the room, and about 800 sqft to enjoy, as well as a deck with a breath taking view.

The pool area and bar are awesome and very clean. The breakfast was awesome, especially the fresh, delicious, succulent, fruit each morning! Yum!

And the staff is second to none when it comes to hotel stays. Not only were they cordial and helpful, as one would expect at a hotel, but they genuinely cared to make sure our needs were met and that we were enjoying our stay. Special thanks to Michael (GM), Adrian, Giesel, Sharom, Eleazar and Marisol!

Lord willing, we will be back!

Room Tip: Don't be cheap, enjoy your vacation... choose at minimum the Tropical Suite and if you want an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GooseBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Wow, what kind words! We are really happy that you took the time to write about us, because these reviews are very important to our prospective guests and subsequently to us. Nothing beats the GroupOn deals where we offer our Tropical Suites for about 50% off about 2 times a year. You were inconvenienced by our renovations, which we do during the low season, so of course, we moved you upstairs to the Corona Suite. It’s our duty to make sure that you enjoy your stay. We’ll be sure to let the gang here know how grateful you are for their service. I think the Lord is willing to bring you back, so get down here and have a drink with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I returned to Costa Rica for the first time in nine years and enjoyed my stay at the Best Western Tamarindo thoroughly. Jassenia was our housekeeper and she was super sweet and sociable. Even though we didn't want our room cleaned often she was more than willing to provide additional towels for us and when she did clean the room, it was immaculate.

Gabriele at the front desk and another girl with a raspy voice (Marisol/Maribel) were extremely helpful answering all our questions patiently and completely. It would've been easier for them to speak Spanish to me, but they were so gracious to speak English so that my friends could understand what was being said.

Sharon and another girl who has only been working there for 8 weeks were our waitresses at breakfast the majority of the time and they were so sweet going above and beyond what was required of them. Miguel, one of the managers (maybe?) always looked to be in a good mood and greeted us all the time. There was a guy who might've been security -- whatever his post, he seemed to always appear whenever we were struggling with our room key or to fix the minor water issue we had.

The pool here is immaculate and cleaned every morning. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful (crepes, papaya, watermelon, yogurt and granola, pastries, cereal, toast, coffee, juice, water, milk). The view of the ocean from Crazy Monkey (the hotel's restaurant) is breathtaking.

Something to note -- we never had hot water in our rooms. I didn't expect to have hot water (we didn't have any when I lived here in 2004), but my friends were a bit surprised. Enjoy the cool water, it's definitely refreshing after a muggy day out and about. They provide shampoo which kinda dried my hair out but no conditioner. We drank the tap water and never got sick. It definitely tastes better than Chicago's chlorinated tap water :)

Our room was awesomesauce! We had a big screen tv with cable (Watched Scandal and Grey's Anatomy on Thursday night :), we had utensils, plates, a coffeemaker, mini fridge, sink, two hotplates, cups, and my friend even had a BLENDER in her room! Amazing! The fan in our bedroom worked but kinda wobbled so we used the air conditioner which totally functioned but sometimes made a loud clicking sound... perfect opportunity to use our earplugs (never travel without them) Don't expect the Drake or Waldorf just expect to have your needs met.

Mosquitoes will bite if you don't use bug repellant. I always mix eucalyptus oil with vix vaporub since they hate the smell of peppermint, and my skin can't handle Off!

Definitely hit up one of the souvenir shops called Aura at the end of the beach by the bus station. They have beautiful earrings, unique shoes, and bags. Definitely get a full body massage in the garden on the beach from Maribel - 60 minutes for $40. The ocean water sounds and breeze are phenomenal while your bolitas de tension are getting beat out of your body!

This hotel is super close to the beach, but make sure you don't swim right in front of the hotel as this is an area very close to the estuary where the crocodiles live. Apparently October is nesting season for the crocodiles and they are very protective of their eggs. The further south you swim the better especially during rainy season when the brackish water (between the still water in the estuary and the ocean water) is more diluted making crocodiles more comfortable with swimming in the ocean. Don't expect to see signs about crocodiles just consider yourself warned.

Enjoy your stay at Best Western. When I come back to Costa Rica, I'll be back to this spot! See ya there!

Thanks guys -- you're the best!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenille D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
10.8 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: £48 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing