We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Vista Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Stay at Vista Villas”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We recently spent four days and nights at Vista Villas. The hotel room I booked offered an incredible view of the ocean, with the paradise like surf break on beautiful Tamarindo beach as the main focus. In fact, there was a surfing competition going on the weekend of our visit, which was a nice surprise. There were plenty of young Americans in town for the event.

Our room had a balcony, with a small table and chairs to relax at during the day or night. We could easily walk to the beach from the hotel. The hotel's pool area was nice. There is a big open area next to the pool with lounge chairs for those who like to sunbathe, as well as a beautiful view of the beach from the pool patio. The pool has a waterfall feature by the deep end. There were a couple of families with kids at the pool during the day, so keep that in mind if you're looking for a more romantic type hotel for adults.

We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast (coffee, orange juice, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, jam and pancakes) every morning but did not eat at the hotel for lunch or dinner. The hotel restaurant and bar are open areas located next to the pool. Nearby dining options could be found at Witch's Rock Surf Camp and a couple of small Costa Rican food places. A very nice grocery store was a short drive away from the hotel. Pizzeria La Baula in town offers very good thin crust pizza. A fairly new casino is walking distance from Vista Villas.

Hotel staff members Adolfo and Mike took very good care of us. The hotel is an older structure but quite comfortable and affordable in my opinion. It is away from the main part of the small surf town which was nice, since the young beach crowd parties at the bars until late hours.

We timed it just right (mid November) as the rainy season was ending and the beautiful summer was beginning. We had a rental car and drove to some nice beaches to the north, Playa Conchal being especially beautiful, with white sands, clear water and incredible views.

I would like to return to Tamarindo once again for another peaceful vacation. I would choose Vista Villas because we were treated well, had wonderful views and know what to expect there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick3504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    291
    135
    56
    56
See reviews for
199
323
82
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US and Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I came here with 3 friends and stayed in the Tropical Suite. It has a queen bed for a couple and single beds which double as sofas for the kids (or men in our case). The beds were comfortable and the room cleaned daily. We had a slight issue with the toilet refilling, and the maintenance staff was there in 5 minutes to fix it, even after 6 p.m.! The Pina coladas were refreshing while sitting at the pool bar, and the sunset views are without equal in town.
We picked this spot since it was not in the center of town where it can get noisy and has lots of car traffic, but also right across the street from the beach making it an easy walk. The wifi was fast, and the shower has great water pressure. It also has very secure parking. Thanks to Ellen for helping with reservations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRSURF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed here for a week with my buddies and while we very much enjoyed Tamarindo, I personally thought the hotel left a lot to be desired. Not sure if it is trying for the "beach feel" but I thought the finishings were frankly very poor and old. I did not even want to take my shoes off indoors to "relax". The furniture looks like have been through one too many beach parties and surfing seasons. The bathroom was flat out disgusting. The best part of this hotel was its location and pool / swim-up bar area which were pleasant.

This hotel frankly is a 2-star hotel at best (and I'm being generous). The price was quite cheap so I didn't leave the place feeling exorbitantly ripped off. However, for me personally, having stayed at other Best Westerns so I've come to expect a certain level of standard, I was severely disappointed.

If traveling with Tamarindo with a group of friends / family, there are probably better large beach condos to rent for perhaps a similar price (per head basis) but with much better finishings and home comforts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNG1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Wow, this is a shocking commentary, and one that is indeed quite baffling. Most of our rooms, from the basic Standard to huge Corona Deluxe Suite have been renovated with new floors and modern fixtures. However, you might not have liked our furniture and cabinets, which are made from the various woods from around Costa Rica and reflect our rustic style. We think it’s an asset that our hotel maintains a “beach feel,” you can certainly see the waves from most of the rooms and the pool, bar and restaurant. There is the possibility that you did stay in one of the rooms that has not yet been updated, however, we hope to have all of them done by next year. And we must let readers of TripAdvisor know that as a Best Western, we are held to a set of standards that must be met during regular inspections. That said, we are definitely maintaining the quality people come to know from the Best Western brand, while infusing the Costa Rican flavor on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

In the description of the Room they are writing that all the rooms has ocean view but they dont. Some of the rooms are very small and mor very clean. But the view from the pool and restaurant area is very beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello, in our website, mobile site, brochures and all online travel agencies, we specify that we have a variety of different rooms. Our Standard room has a limited view, the Tropical and Imperial Suites have partial ocean views, Corona and Corona Deluxe have full ocean views. The rooms range in size as well, from a cozy Standard to the 1,000-square foot Imperial Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Best Western was a great place to stay for a stay in Tamarindo. It is across the street from the beach, and has a great view of the beach from the pool. However, the view is not as good from the rooms. That is a small problem though. The rest of the room is nice. The bed was comfortable, and the large living room area was great to have people over. All of the villas also have a table and chairs out on a patio area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDowell_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi, thanks for taking the time write a few kind words about us. We really do rely on the recommendations of our guests. Our location is just up a small hill, which is across the street from the beach and affords most of our rooms with full ocean views. It’s very likely that you were in a Tropical Suite, which we advertise as a partial ocean view. Next time let us know you want to upgrade and we’ll give you our Corona Suite with the beautiful, full ocean view (or Ocean View rooms, which are a classic place to stay with the same ocean view).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I simply love the experiences I had at this lovely, charming hotel. From the excellent and friendly interactions I had with Jessenia A when she was making her housekeeping rounds, to Maribel annd Marisol at the front desk providing great recommendations for cheap and delicious local dining, it is clear that it is the people that make Best Western Tamarindo a fantastic getaway, and a beautiful place to first encounter the peace and joy that is Pura Vida. The continental breakfast was very well done too. I am a huge fan of their crepes!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vajinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thanks so much for the great review. We love our guests like you who appreciate what we are offering at our hotel with great staff and service, clean and simple accommodations, and a good value. So glad you enjoyed the authentic Dutch pancakes made by our Operations Manager Michiel who is from Holland. That’s just another perk of a stay with us. Of course, you can stay with us again because the Pura Vida is always here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Unfortunately, I was not impressed with this hotel. The room is very poor. Horrible beds, very small window that was facing another wall and because of that it was always very dark in the room. Very old furniture. This hotel definitely needs some renovations. It has perfect location and I am surprised to see that hotel is in a very bad shape. I saw some workers and painters at the hotel so hopefully the hotel will be in the better condition. I was disappointed with breakfast. It include tastes coffee, orange juice with small ants in it. Also they offer small granola yogurt, some fruit and bread (with butter or jam). If you want eggs you can buy an omelet for $6.00.
Also, I wasn't happy to see a lots of ants. It was everywhere... room, washroom, pool are, restaurant and like i mentioned in the orange juice. There was different types too. I understand that there will be lots of insects in Costa Rica but its not my 1st trip there and I have stayed in 5 different hotels in Costa Rica and Tamarindo Vista Villas was the worst one. It definitely needs some repairs.

Room Tip: Try to get a 2nd floor. 1st floor has very a small window that was facing another wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Wow we are truly sorry that you had such a difficult experience with us. It sounds like you were in our Standard room, which is our most basic space with a limited view. We do try to let our guests know that it is a simple room when they make reservations with us. Perhaps that information didn’t make its way to you when you reserved with us. We will try to be more diligent in that regard. As to our furniture, it is rustic style, made from local woods. And, in fact, we have been doing quite a lot of renovations on our property, which we hope our guests will enjoy.

We do advertise on our website and our guests are notified when they check in that we offer a free continental breakfast, which is composed of watermelon, papaya, pineapple, yogurt, 4 cereals, toast, breakfast cake, Dutch crepe pancakes, coffee and tea. And of course, we offer a selection of eggs and French toast for a small charge.

We were very concerned about the ants that you mentioned and sent our maintenance to check it out. Fortunately, we were unable to find “lots” of ants that you reported. It is important to represent us correctly, and we want to be clear that while we do see the odd insect in and around the property, we are conscientious about keeping them under control with regular spraying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 23 in Tamarindo
2,481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 23 in Tamarindo
560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Property: Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing