We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Awesome Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Awesome Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Room was in average shape and condition. Location and overall value was the reason we picked this property. The swimming pool and the view from the swim deck/bar/restaurant was very nice. It was just above the nice surf part of this beach (almost across the street from Witch's Rock).
Currently that end of the strip is not as pedestrian friendly as the tonier other end of the strip. But the price is much better. Had a friendly talk with the manager Trevor who gave some background on their overall property and goals they had for continuing to improve that end of the Tamarindo strip.
This property has a tree full of monkeys right next to the reception as well as several large iguanas that we saw every day.

Room Tip: We had room 106 which is the first level as you make your way up the hillside. We had a garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    284
    132
    54
    55
See reviews for
183
308
79
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My boyfriend and I had never been to Costa Rica before and we chose Tamarindo CR because of the surfing. We chose Best Western because the price was hard to beat and the reviews were pretty great.
My review will be the same. We had the BEST time there. During the week it was pretty quiet, the pool was a nice place to cool off because it is SO hot in Costa Rica. There was a swim up pool that had really nice shade to drink your beer at the end of the day.
When you get to the hotel there is a little check-in office at the front gate and there is a bit of an uphill walk to your rooms. It is not as bad as some of the reviews mention. If you are young and fit, this will be absolutely NO problem. If you are a little bit older, I can see this becoming a bit of a headache after a day of adventures. We stayed in room 301 that was right off of the pool and over looked the ocean. The room was HUGE, it had a kitchen, a seperate bedroom and a good bathroom. Airconditioning in both the living room and the bedroom although the one in the living room is good enough. The kitchen is equipped with everything you would need if you wanted to cook, plus a bar sized fridge. We kept water and some snacks in the fridge which we purchased from the grocery store up the hill (the oppoisite way from the main town - it was about a 10-15 minute walk).
The hotel had a continental breakfast everymorning with coffee and juice. They served cereal, fresh fruit, a different type of loaf (banana, bread type loafs), plus crape type pancakes every morning. My boyfriend and I thought this was perfect for us. You also had the option of ordering breakfast as well.
The pool is open to the public so you get locals coming to the pool mostly on the weekends, which can cause a lot of children screaming and playing, but if you have kids, this will be great for them to make friends! The pool was clean and the area was kept really well.
The hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the beach and the beach is AWESOME! The waves are great for all types of surfing. It is a busy beach so expect tons of people in the water. You can rent beach chairs and an umbrella for $12USD a day which you will want because again, it is SO hot there - well worth the $12. People will walk up and down the beach selling, beer, coconut water, water, necklaces, ceramacis etc. They are not pushy and if you say no, they walk away without any hassles.
The ONLY thing I have to mention is that every Friday night, this hotel has a party and it goes till about 130am. We were right next to the pool and we only woke up once from the noise. The staff are so friendly and nice, always so eager to help. We really enjoyed our time there and we would 100% go back. I LOVE COSTA RICA!!!

Pura Vida! Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our crew stayed there during a surf trip. Excellent location, helpful staff, relaxing atmosphere, great pool bar. Jessina on the staff there took care of us, especially when a couple of our guys were sick. She was excellent.

Good value, clean rooms and worked well for a group. It's on the outskirts of town away from all of the riff raff. You can walk 2 minutes to the beach to go surfing, hang out or walk along the river mouth.

Room Tip: Room 106 is good, has a patio and is a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBChaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I would have to say our whole visit in Costa Rica was beyond magical but the Tamarindo Vista Villas sealed the deal! From the moment we arrived Adolfo ,who is a gem, at the front desk was beyond pleasant and accommodating to us and got us in the most perfect room. We had just arrived from a long drive and he made us at ease and could not have made the check in process more enjoyable. The other front desk team Gisel and Wendy were also beyond phenomenal, helping us with our tours, transportation and anything else we needed. They were by far one of the best hotel teams I have ever dealt with, not only are they all helpful but they the level of service is delivered with a genuine smile and makes you feel like you are home. Our room was perfect made in part by our amazing housekeeper Jesenia. Even on days we didn't need cleaning we came back to a gleaming hotel that will rival any other four star hotel I have ever stayed at and she was just the sweetest ever! Michael was also great for a chat and getting local information on things to do and see. The pool bar and restaurant are also great for a day relaxing by the pool and meeting people or dinner with amazing ceviche and the best chicken fingers and mojitosI have ever had. Plus the service and again cleanliness was an A+!! We found the location perfect, a hop, skip and a jump to the beautiful beaches and a less then a mile walk to center of town. We are both very active so the walk was pleasant to us but you can also take a very a cheap cab ride. What we enjoyed most about the location was that we could walk into all the excitement if we wanted but we were not in the middle of it every night. Ladies night on Friday is not to be missed and wow was it a great party. Live music, great drinks and tons of people...we retired early that night and had to problem with the noise level at all, the security really keeps everything tight. The Vista Villas is all around 10 and I have stayed in many hotels/resorts and never have I encountered the level of service, knowledge, cleanliness and friendliness as the Vista Villas. We left feeling as though we had a new family and I think we do as I received an email the day after we checked out from the sweetest Wendy at the front desk, "We woke up very sad our friends have left the hotel. We can't wait for your return!" I have never had a hotel send an email so personal and it really touched me. We plan on returning in August because we miss our extended Costa Rican family and we just can't wait to get back. The price, the staff, the service, the friends you make there exceeded any of my expectations and I am truly grateful for the experience we had at The Vista Villas and Costa Rica in general. A magical gem of a place...go make memories there!! PURA VIDA!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We hade a bit of issues with the promised wifi that wasn't available in the rooms, BUT the staff was very accommodating with my international phone calls in this working vacation.
Our housekeeper Jesenia? Was incredible!!! This best western is lucky to have her and Cristi? At the bar
We will Deffenetly go back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiancrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Room was very reasonably priced and in the perfect location at the edge of town. Easy walking distance to everything and our housekeeper, Jesenia, was amazing considering the amount of fun we were having! Every day it was a new room! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave44w44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had a great time at the Vista Villas. Staff was great all around. Jesenia was very accommodating to our wacky schedule and was very helpful in keeping our place tidy. Loved the location and will definitely by back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfnasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Property: BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing