We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My husband had gotten a Groupon . Something we never did . So at first I was very nervous . The price was amazing so it made me think it was maybe less than fantastic:/ I not only was surprise at the price! I was surprised at how wonderful and accommodating the staff were. Room was over looking ocean. It was clean. I did bring bug spray cause I knew we were going to a rainforest and may need this. I'm glad I brought it . No problems with the little guys here. We understood that it was important not to leave food out. And keep slider door closed at night. Great place!! Monkey bar was interesting . If you like to club then this is for you! Two bands lots of music and plenty of dancing and drinking . If this is not for you get some earplugs complimentary at gate! Be prepared to walk here.. Anywhere you go . It's on a mountain side so up stairs and hill is what you will find. Pool clean, staff great, and Trevor is awesome ! Enjoy .. Bring your bug spray, sunblock and have fun !!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hey Dawn,

Thanks for your awesome review! You are right about bug spray, no matter what you do, its always good to have some in order to keep the little critters at bay! Yup, is pretty much every review states, we are about a 5-10 minute walk to the end of town and we are located on a hillside, so the property isn't ideal for someone who doesn't like to walk. But being a couple minutes outside of town keeps the noisy street vendors away and the hill offers us some amazing ocean views! We hope to see you again someday and thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    290
    134
    54
    56
See reviews for
197
319
81
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our first trip to Costa Rica... We purchased a Groupon, and to be perfectly honest I was very skeptical. The price was very affordable (almost unbelievably), so I decided there was not a lot to loose.... Upon arrival there was a shuttle awaiting us at the airport in Liberia just as promised. We actually upgraded to the larger Corona suites which was well worth the little extra charge. Trevor was awesome... very attentive to all of our needs.
We hung out at the Monkey Bar quite a bit, and also the Volcano Brewing Bar, which is right on the beach. Anyone who goes to this property has to be realistic in their expectations. We went for 7 nights for around $400. This is not a JW Marriot property, however the location is perfect, and the staff more than make up for the lack of amenities. We have every intention of returning next year, and will stay in the same room if it is available...
Do not believe the complainers.....

Room Tip: We were in the room directly above the pool. Friday night brings a party (which we attended) so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hey Gary,

Thanks for your great review! We do our very best to keep everything up and running and put our hearts into making this a great place for people to enjoy our little slice of paradise. We can't wait for you to come back, and stay happy until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I checked into the BW Vista Villa in Tamarindo when our condo arrangements fell through. We ended up staying four nights. It was a miserable experience.

Pros: Overall great staff, pet friendly, and nice pool area.

Cons: Teeny tiny uncomfortable rooms, and noisy.

Size -- I've never seen a standard hotel room this small. You literally had to enter, then close, the bathroom door to get to the sink. There was not enough room for two persons to pass the end or one side of the bed at the same time.

Noise -- On Friday nights, the hotel sponsors a "Ladies' Night" that begins at 10:00 PM and ends at 2:00 AM. During this entire period, loud speakers are blasting music at full volume. The staff warned us of the event, but it did not reduce our bill despite a completely sleepless night. But, my noise complaint doesn't stop there. All day on Saturday, the room next to us was under construction. Tile saws, hammering, music and loud talking. This started at 7:15 AM and resumed again Monday morning at the same time. At 4:15 AM on Sunday night, we could here the early staff gearing up for the day with loud laughing and talking.

Also, be careful. If you charge food or beverage to your room, the receipts can be easily misread and, where you think you are entering "total" you are actually entering "Extra Tips." In fairness, once I caught the mistake I was making and brought it to the attention of the front desk, they corrected this. But, I made this mistake three times and none of the bar staff corrected me when it was (or should have been) apparent that I was not tipping $25 on a $25 lunch, especially since tips are included as part of the charge. That was upsetting until I got it resolved.

Room Tip: Avoid 201 and 208 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hey James,

We are really sorry to hear about your “miserable experience” during your stay with us, but we feel like your review might not be completely objective and that a few of your descriptions might be slightly exaggerated.

For instance, insinuating that our bar and restaurant staff are dishonest because you entered in an above average tip is a little unfair. We have never received a comment like this before, because, in fact, there are generous people in the world and we have had people leave upwards of $100 tips on smaller bills. I mean, it really isn’t fair to blame a waitperson for this mistake and our receipts are pretty straight forward. I am reviewing one right now and there is a line that says “sub total” followed by an amount, then a line that says “Sales Tax” followed by an amount, a third line that says “10% service” followed by an amount, and finally a line that says “Gran Total” followed by an amount. Below the “Grand Total” line, you find the text “EXTRA TIPS” followed by a blank line, leaving space for a tip to be written in. We are curious as to how much more clarity you could hope for on a restaurant receipt? And you even mention that once you realized what the line did say, our reception staff removed the charges… So what’s the big fuss?

Secondly, as you may or may not know, hotels are in constant need of maintenance and updates. Sometimes these types of activities require noise as in hammering and sawing. In this particular case, we are pretty sure that you are talking about the two days in which we had to replace all of the ceramic tile in the bathroom of on our ocean view rooms. As you can imagine, working with tile requires the use of hammers and chisels to remove old tile and saws to cut the new tile to size. However, we do have a no-noise policy instructing employees to not create noise before 9am and to work on quiet activities such as painting before then.
Now, I must admit, we have never instructed employees to not speak during those hours, so we will get working on that once we figure out how to train people in mind reading (ok, so I think I’m the one exaggerating now... sign language would be more plausible)

As for our “early staff gearing up for the day” at 4:15AM? Well, we do have some great employees, however, the earliest morning shift starts at 6:00AM, so if we have employees showing up at 4:15AM for the 6:00AM shift, we would probably name them as the employees of the month..… And then tell them never to laugh while at work and to only use their newly acquired sign language skills in order to not talk.

Finally as far as our Ladies Night event goes, we do our best to communicate this to all of our guests before they make a reservation and, to be honest, we have a lot of people who specifically stay in the hotel to attend the event! For those who do not wish to partake, we post this information on our website, on our reservation confirmation, on our facebook page, on our hotel policies page (which is given to you when you check-in), on a notice the same day as the event, and, when possible, verbally when the reservation is made on the telephone or directly in reception…. Not to mention the fact that the information is posted here on the Trip Advisor probably close to a million times (ok, I know, I continue to exaggerate).

So, once again, we are sorry that you did not have the stay that you were hoping to have, and we would honestly like to see you again and would like to do whatever we can to make you a happy customer! Until then, stay warm up there in Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I highly recommend this hotel! It's location is prime, walking distance to the beach! Great service and hospitality! Geisel at the reception was great and very friendly! Our room was nice, very clean and good space! The surroundings were amazing, spectacular views! The pool and bar area are great and it has one of the best views of Tamarindo!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizminnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Lizminnette,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review. We really appreciate you coming to visit us and hope to see you again soon! We will keep the sun warm and the drinks cool for you until then. Cheers and have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our second stay and it was great! Had a wonderful ocean view room, #202! Staff was great especially Wendy! She is a doll and made our visit so fun! My son took surfing lessons and my granddaughter keeps talking about Costa Rica, She is 4.Will return and request the same room again!Great food, swim up bar and pool. Excellent location. Made great new friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chewi2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hey Chewi,

Thanks for your wonderful review (and cute pictures or your granddaughter). We will hold a set for you at the swim-up bar until next May. Until then, stay happy and Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I like to thanks ericka zuñiga for her hospitality and great great service very profesional and friendly since my family and i got to the hotel we received the best treatment ever from miss ericka we will going back to this hotel for sure

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjose1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks! We will let Ericka know about your kind words... Well, actually, she already knows and has been parading around the property with the review taped to her agenda, waiving it at anyone who cares to see it. = ) We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The bw is well situated in tamarindo, staff is welcoming, rooms are clean, and it's a good value. Just get the wifi right man! C'mon. It's really a drag and such an easy fix. Bad wifi is a deal breaker and until this is fixed I would not return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamvv, Manager at Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hey Bartley,

We're sorry that you had some trouble with the WIFI, and we are well aware of some of the connectivity problems that you might have incurred. However, we must remind you that something that appears to be an "easy fix", well, sometimes isn't so easy. You must understand that Costa Rica is not really well known for being the center of the technological world, and, well, sometimes, the internet just doesn't work. We actually have purchased connections with two separate companies and have set up two different networks (one in the bar and restaurant and one in the rooms). Just in case one of them goes down, you will always have the other one as a back up. With that said, we are pushing every day to get a better network set up here in town, so maybe, when you come down next time, you'll be able to facebook on a better connection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
558 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.3 mi away
Esplendor Tamarindo
Esplendor Tamarindo
#8 of 22 in Tamarindo
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas

Property: Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Address: Calle Principal 1000, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing