We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach
Ranked #27 of 48 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Manitoba
1 review
“Amazing B&B”
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Our stay at the Villa Alegre was amazing. We weren't sure what to expect since we had never stayed in a bed & breakfast and had never been to Costa Rica. We were so pleasantly surprised.

The rooms were always very clean. Not huge, but perfect for us, since we didn't plan on spending a lot of time around the B&B. We stayed in the honeymoon sweet (Mexico room) which was awesome, the bathroom was amazing. It was outdoor, but there were really no bugs (which I was worried about). The outdoor shower was the best part of the whole room by far. The hospitality from Barry and Suzye was incredible. Anything we had questions about they happily answered. They helped us book a car for the week and book any tours we were interested in. They also had a great knowledge of Tamarindo and the restaurants around there...and they have great taste in food, which was awesome! The breakfasts were unbelievable and huge.

We stayed there for a week and after a day we felt like we were staying with family...but not the nosey, in your business kind of family.

Both my husband and I loved it there and would stay there again without a doubt when we come back to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    6
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
90
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
utah
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We stayed at villa alegre for 4 nights in March of 2009. We had a very enjoyable stay with Barry and Suzye! It felt like home, but better because he cooked wonderful breakfast every morning for us! The rooms were great and clean. We will definetly go back if we go to Costa Rica again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2009

As we walked down the steps from the gated yard to the pool area that looks out over the path through the forest to the ocean I stopped, relaxed and let out a big breath. It was serene and beautiful. Then we met Barry and Suzye and within minutes we felt like we were at home. We had a wonderful time. That was the first visit in 2008. We just returned form our second visit in February of 2009. Once again, we instantly felt like we were at home. It was even more wonderful than the first. Breakfast is fantastic. Barry and the girls do it up right (especially when Barry remembers to turn the oven on - sorry - private joke between Barry and I) Always a very interesting and eclectic mix of people at breakfast - the conversations were fascinating and the other guests have just been wonderful. Everyone goes about thier day - mixing it up with different activities. There are lots of great things to do within 30 minutes of home. Barry and Suzye are great at giving you the "straight scoop" on what to do and what to avoid. The most wonderful part is when all of the other guests get busy and leave to do their thing and you have the pool and cabana all to yourself. Heaven!! It's important that you organize your appetizers and cocktails late in the afternoon so that as the sun starts to drop you can enjoy the walk down to the beach. At the end of the path there is a great "look out point" with several benches where you can sit, talk, drink, eat, reflect on the day, plan tomorrow and watch the most magnificent sunsets you have ever seen.

We look forward to our next visit back to Villa Alegre.

The Skippons, Misty, Jeff, Jared and Kyle.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnetawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Our recent stay at Villa Alegre was so relaxing and enjoyable in part to the friendly and accommodating owners of this beautiful B&B in Playa Longosta. We had a children with us so we stayed in their villa which is separate from the main house. We had plenty of room for the 4 of us. The owners were always smiling and eager to help us with tours, restaurant recommendations and even arranging a babysitter (who was fabulous too)! The breakfasts were homemade meals on the verandah at large tables for everyone eat family style. They left us pleasantly full and ready for our day- be it beach or a local tour.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2009

I've been visiting here over the last four years, and the only bad experience was saying goodbye.
You can certainly use your stay here as a base for side-trips and adventures (the hosts are very knowledgeable of "things to do" and can set you up with the right guides and arrangements.); or you can succumb to the lazy temptation of spending a day lying by the pool, walking the beaches, and exploring Tamarindo. Either way, you can't go wrong.
The rooms, the grounds and the location combine to make this place lovely and laid-back, but not lonely. The hosts, and the staff, complete the experience and let you feel relaxed and at home.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness and helpfulness
  • Disliked — Nothing, really
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlanta_GAJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We had stayed in Tanarindo before at a larger hotel and we were looking for a quaint place with more character. We found it at Villa Alegre. We were greeted by the Owners, Barry and Suyze, and shown around the property. We found our perfect room for the week and within hours felt like one of the family.

The "endless swimming pool" looks over the ocean bordered by a wooded terrain with Howler Monkeys in which you walk a path to your own beach on the Pacific. Paradise found.

Each morning we had a different breakfast, cooked by Barry, with fresh fruit, juices and jams that started us off on our adventures. The B and B is located on a quiet street and allowed us to walk to our first dinner in a local restaurant that was incredible.
They arranged our Turtle Tour and kept us abreast of all the local happenings. Our dance card was full! The best was Nat being able to make her mashed potatoes for the Thanksgiving feast with all our new friends! All in All, one of our most favorite places we have ever stayed.

Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisnnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at Villa Alegre and got married on the beach in front of the B&B. I can't begin to say how happy we were with the entire experience. First of all, we were originally booked at a large resort up the beach from there and were recommended by the photographer to book at Villa Alegre for a more "private" experience. I am so glad we followed his advice. Barry and Suzye, the owners, treated us like family from the minute we walked through the door. They are amazing hosts that give you inside tips on where to go in the area. They cook an amazing breakfast each morning where you get to enjoy their company and the company of the guests you are staying with. On this trip, we both spent our first Christmas away from home and they made us feel like their children coming home for the holidays. They could not have been more accommodating to make it special for us. They also went out of their way on our wedding when they didn't have to. After we had a private ceremony on the beach they surprised us with champagne and cake with the new friends we had made during our stay. Barry and Suzye added a special touch to our day when they didn't have to.

The facilities are immaculate and more than adequate. If you are looking for a massive resort that caters to your every whim and has cabanas for rent on the beach, look elsewhere. If you want something that looks like it belongs on Maui, keep looking. This is a quiet, quaint, private, personal environment. This does not mean it lacks anything, it just means that it is for people that want something more secluded. The walk to the beach is no more than 50 yards and the beach is separated from busier beaches by a point. Villa Alegre has no gigantic bar and restaurant/resort but that, to me, is the beauty of it. That also means there aren't hundreds of people competing for the same strip of sand or the same bartender's attention. The rooms are clean, well kept and worth the money and the service is way beyond anything I've ever experienced in any hotel.

Without reservation I can say that I was truly sad to leave Villa Alegre. We had such a good time and felt so welcomed by our hosts that we wanted to extend our stay. I give this B&B the highest possible recommendation. Thanks Barry and Suzye!! We can't wait to visit again!

  • Liked — The personal treatment by the owners.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rudyaguila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Sueca
Hotel Casa Sueca
#18 of 48 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sands Tamarindo Condo Villas
0.7 mi away
Mango Condominiums
Mango Condominiums
#31 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach

Property: Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach
Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Villa Alegre - b&b On The Beach
Villa Alegre - Bed And Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing