We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel at a magical location”
Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arco Iris
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel at a magical location”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is a very nice hotel next at an incredibly beautiful place. Staff was very helpful to identify and book suitable activities. Rooms were not big but set up with love and were adequate for the location. The breakfast was delicious and we would have loved to spend more time if we had the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    120
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
94
281
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The hotel was beautifully landscaped, with each cabin tucked into a lush group of tropical shrubs.

The cabins were clean, if a bit sparse, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't try the breakfast. Instead we found a much cheaper alternative in town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scribblegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We spent a week at Arco Iris during the first week of July, and were very pleased. The rooms and bungalows are updated with modern bathrooms, and each have a great porch with chairs and a hammock. The owner, Richard, and Fanny are friendly and helpful and Richard makes an effort to check on each of his guests daily. The pool was small but very nice and the restaurant is one of the better restaurants in Tamarindo (but accepts cash only!). All guests are provided a free breakfast of fresh fruit, granola, coffee, tee, toast, and juice.

It took us only 5 minutes or so to walk to the heart of Tamarindo, and another 30 seconds to get to the beach. The location is perfect - quiet and removed from busting Tamarindo, while being only a short walk away.

The hotel has WiFi, but getting a connection in our bungalow was difficult. The connection was fine on our porch and a few steps away at the restaurant and pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blbskue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francsico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Thought this hotel was comfortable, very tastefully decorated and had lots of little touches to create a welcoming environment (great water pressure in shower, fresh squeezed OJ w/ breakfast, and all staff were extremely friendly/helpful). The location is convenient, only a short walk to the beach. Pool is nice but we found the water temp to be a bit warm.

The only criticism I'd offer is that I didn't feel at all like I was in Costa Rica when I was staying at Arco Iris. The food at the restaurant, while good, is California. The decor is California. And the rooms don't have windows/views to anything that invokes a sense of Costa Rica. So while a very nice hotel experience, not much in the way of local flare.

Also, our room was right next to the pool and was pretty noisy, we got all of the noise (conversation & music) from the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paminsiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I'd give Hotel Arco Iris 10 stars if I could. Richard, the owner, was so welcoming and helpful; each day he'd stop by to say hello and ask how our day was going. Socorro, his right hand, was equally lovely. Our two-bed room was cute and the area outside perfect for hammock lounging while reading. (Just bring your bug spray or risk being eaten alive.) The hotel is steps from great restaurants and bars, and the walk to the beach takes 5 minutes. We found free (and shady) lounge chairs at Le Beach Club on the beach and then we'd head back to our gorgeous hotel pool in the afternoon. My friend and I almost stayed at a larger hotel on the beach, but we are SO happy we stayed at this boutique beauty. We'd absolutely go back! At least one night, eat at the hotel restaurant. It was definitely our best meal of the trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sugar1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This hotel was a lovely jem located in the heart of Tamarindo. We were able to easily walk to the beach, clubs, bars, restaurants and shopping. Upon arriving to Hotel Arco Iris we were greeted by Richard, the owner, who is friendly and accomodating. The scenery was beautiful, the grounds were nicely landscaped and the rooms and restaurant were very clean. Our room was also cleaned daily by a wonderful housekeeper by the name of CoCo.

The scenery and experience of the hotel also included local wildlife, which was something we thouroughly enjoyed. We were able to see humming birds, iguanas, frogs, butterflies, exotic birds and even howler monkeys without leaving the hotel grounds. All of the animals were harmless and beautiful to look at.

Overall a great experience, I would go back tomorrow! The people are friendly and generous and enhanced our stay at Hotel Arco Iris and Costa Rica. Pura Vida! :)

Room Tip: Hotel is Peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2011

When my friend and I arrived in Tamarindo for our annual girls trip, we stepped right into an oasis! My first thought was "I can't wait to take a dip in that pool!" We were greeted by Richard, the owner, right away and he personally showed us to our room. The grounds are beautiful - a tropical hideaway. The room was super clean and very modern. The staff was wonderful and so accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy. For example - we were laying by the pool and wanted some music. I went up to the bar and asked if they could turn some on for us and they did right away. Also, I have to comment on the restaurant at the hotel. My friend and I agree it was the best meal we had in Tamarindo. The location is also perfect. It's a short (maybe 4-5 minute) walk to the beach. I am glad we didn't stay right on the beach because it was much quieter and very peaceful where we were. Also, we were very close to several restaurants and a grocery store to keep our mini-fridge stocked. I loved everything about this hotel and I will definitely stay there every time I come back to Tamarindo!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JewelLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.0 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Property: Hotel Arco Iris
Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has five bungalows and seven deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing