We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Add two more satisfied customers ”
Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arco Iris
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Add two more satisfied customers ”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here from 2/24-3/1. The hotel is in a very convenient part of Tamarindo with excellent restaurants (la esquina, falafel bar, la Bodega), and activities (spa Maya, and ser om yoga studio) nearby. The owner Richard is very personable, he spends time with all of his guests (he even gave me a ride in his car to the market!) and makes sure they are satisfied. He and his assistant Francisco can book all of your activities and have a good relationship with the tour groups. Free breakfast and wifi were a huge plus as you can get your day started. The restaurant on site was very high quality and on the higher side budget wise for Tamarindo. The supermarket and Saturday farmers market is right down the street.

This stay was very different from our usual vacations. We broke from our pattern of staying in hotel chains and loved it. The small number of guests really allows the staff to find out your needs and cater to them, which is what made this trip special. The beaches of Guanacaste are also unique. Playa Tamarindo has the surfing, restaurants, surf shops and vendors and is really the liveliest of the beaches. The other beaches like conchal, langosta etc are beautiful and more secluded but don't exactly come alive. All the people who stayed at the big resorts like Westin conchal and riu all inclusive had to come to Tamarindo for ocean swimming and surfing. The only mega hotel on the beach in Tamarindo is diria and was out of our budget. That's what made Arco iris so great. For an affordable price you could enjoy the best of Tamarindo with all of the "concierge" services of a big hotel and a Costa Rican personal touch.

We highly recommend Arco iris for a stay in Tamarindo.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    119
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
278
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Wonderful place to stay - the host was very knowledgeable and helpful - great rooms, and lots of friendly iguanas around the poolside and area. The complimentary breakfast wasn't the greatest - I would have liked to see more variety. Very convenient location near the beaches and restaurants. A+++!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleese78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent service. Nice rooms/bungalow. Price is OK.
People are very friendly and food (breakfast) was simple but very good.
We heard the restaurant is superb in food; we knew about this just after we left!
Location is good - a 5' walk and your at the main area at Tamarindo beach.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank evsCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed two nights here in the middle of our Costa Rican vacation and we couldn't have been more pleased. Richard and a Gabby were gracious and accommodating. This is what we'd consider a boutique hotel. Clean quiet and well appointed. Walking distance to most everything in Tamarindo, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank generichau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

First of all I think this is the best place to stay in Tamarindo, without a doubt. It's a little hidden gem with lots of privacy away from all the noise and the city crowds. The beach is literally 5 minutes away, if that, great if you enjoy a little exercise. For all the people who are bothered by bugs or mosquitoes, I think you shouldn't bother going anywhere, ever! It's the tropics of course there are bugs. This place is a slice of heaven and even better than I could have ever imagined. The staff, especially Richard are truly one of a kind, I miss them all greatly, and hope to come back to see them soon. I have travelled to many different places in the world, and stayed at the best hotels and this one beats them all. There are no words that can describe how good of a stay I had here. My mom, daughter and I couldn't get enough of the delicious food that Seasons had to offer, every time we made plans to go eat elsewhere, we ended up eating at Season (try the sashimi). There is no other place that I will ever stay when I come back to Tamarindo. This place is so calm and beautiful, with lots of greenery and wild life (lots of iguanas and monkeys). Once again I cannot say enough about the excellence of this hotel and the incredible and wonderful staff, who all treated us like family. I miss you all, and will remember you always.

Magdalena from Vancouver

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked 6 nights in a bungalow in this hotel several months ago and received a confirmation e-mail from the owner, including a booking reference, only to find that on arrival they had "lost" our booking; luckily I had a copy of the e-mail with me. After a 2 hour wait in the baking sun - there are no real shade areas in the communal parts - we were told we would be upgraded to a deluxe room but they could only accomodate us for 3 nights. Richard, the owner, told us he would try and find similar accomodation for us in another hotel; he made no attempt to do so. In the end we found an alternative (but much more expensive) hotel ourselves and only stayed 2 nights at Arco Iris. In fairness Richard gave us the second night free but it still ruined the first 2 days of our stay in Tamarindo.
Our deluxe room was well equipped with a nice bathroom but the terrace was very overlooked by other rooms and pathways - overall I would say that the small footprint of the hotel is over-developed and no rooms have any privacy. The so-called breakfast buffet was terrible - rice and beans, a plastic bowl of soggy fruit and bread/toast. There was no food available at lunch time and no bar at all - we were told that if we want a drink in the day we should use our minibar (with the associated cost). The restaurant (Seasons) opened in the evening and had a nice looking menu; the food was well presented but totally bland (my wife sent her meal back).
We had arranged to meet a friend from San Jose (5 hour journey) here in the afternoon/evening. He arrived in the evening but was told we were not in despite being in the restaurant at the time - he left a message but it was never passed on!
Whilst our view of this hotel is obviously jaundiced due to their booking error I find the glowing reviews of this hotel hard to understand - we found it less than average. The only saving grace was that the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarcoiris, Owner at Hotel Arco Iris, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
My name is Richard and I am the owner of the hotel. We did not enter this reservation into our system and we feel terrible about this. It has only happened 3 times in the 6 years we have been open. We did everything we could do make the guest feel comfortable including complementary drinks, charging for only 1 of the 2 nights they were here and finding another hotel. We discussed another hotel and agreed to wait and see if we had a cancellation so they would not have to move hotels and also so they would not have to pay for another hotel and possibly not need it if we had a cancellation. . I found a hotel for them to move to but they found another hotel on there own a day before they were scheduled to leave. They arrived at 11:00 Am and check-in time is 2:00 PM. We hurried to get a room ready for them. they sat in the sun when we have chairs under umbrellas by the pool and sofas in the reception with a roof and ceiling fans.The breakfast, which is included with the room, is a buffet with several items and an omelet station. The fruit is prepared each morning and is only fresh fruit. We never use it the next day. we price the mini bar very reasonable for the reason that the bar is not open until 4:00 PM We have thought of offering drinks during the day but normally most guests are at the beach or on excursions during the day. Maybe we could offer a few drinks during the day.

I am happy the reviewer felt our staff was friendly. I am disappointed with this review in that we tried to be more than fair with this guest.. When he left I asked if he thought it was fair to give them one of the two nights for free. they said they felt it was. I can understand the disappointment they felt but it seems that nothing could take away the anger they felt over what happened. We can only admit our errors, and try from that point to do all we can do to show the guest we understand their frustration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Myself and 6 other family members stayed in this 13 room wonderful Hotel for 9 nights. We picked it because there were rooms with 2 queen sized beds. One of our rooms even had 2 queen beds plus a single bed (there are also rooms with just one bed). We also choose this hotel because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. Once again, Trip Advisor advised us properly.

STAFF..... The Owner Richard and all of the staff at this hotel are outstanding. Upon arriving he showed us around the grounds and the room answering any questions. We arrived at 1 AM and he was there with a smile and ready to make us feel welcome. Richard was always around to make sure everything was to our liking.

GABBY.... the front desk gal was super. She arranged tours for us and was always there to help us with any requests or questions.

COCO (the breakfast gal)..... she is by far the most happy and helpful hotel staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. And imagine this.... we don't speak the same language. She just aims to please and has a smile and personality that'll just warm your heart. She is amazing and makes great omelettes too. Coco is really one of the reasons the Arco Iris is a great place to stay.

THE ROOMS.... The rooms are newly remodeled, VERY clean, spacious, BEDS comfortable. Coffee maker and coffee in the rooms. Great bathroom with lots of room on a shelf below the sink to store your makeup case etc. Blow Dryer in bathroom. Safe in the Room. Nice place to sit outside of your room and relax or visit. We saw one bug, but this is a tropical country, it will happen. I also saw a bug in my own home last week, it happens. NOICE... some reviewers have complained about the noice at night from the restaurant. It's only a few rooms that hear it and even in those rooms, it ends at 10PM or earlier, so really it's not a problem.

POOL and SEASONS RESTAURANT.... the pool is nice with comfy chairs. SEASONS restaurant right at the Hotel (only open for dinner) and is the best Restaurant in Tamarindo. We went twice it was so good. We also enjoyed Longboards (have the nachos) and Pantagonia (at Pantagonia make sure you make reservations).

THE Hotel Arco Iris is the main reason we enjoyed our stay in Tamarindo. Tamarindo is nice but Hotel Arco Iris is Fabulous. It is amazing and I highly recommend it.

Thank-you Richard, Gabby and Coco.... we think you are VERY good at what you do. Keep up the good work so you can make many more travellers smile.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guppyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
5.7 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Property: Hotel Arco Iris
Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has five bungalows and seven deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing