We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish Arco Iris was in every destination I ever visit”
Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arco Iris
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wish Arco Iris was in every destination I ever visit”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

How could I possibly wax poetic about such a wonderful place to stay? I'm gonna try.
The Great Stuff:
The bungalows are clean, clean, clean.
Richard the owner is exceptionally approachable, helpful, accommodating and honest.
They really DO have the best restaurant in town. Hits and misses as with any spot, but tasty. Get the Hearts of Palm Salad here. It had the most actual Palm of any salad we had in two weeks.
The most casual, yet "attended to" vibe contributes to perfect relaxation.
Our room was quite large, with extra pillows, blankets, and most of all, shelving for your stuff.
The location is spectacular for its' ease of access to the town. So close and yet feels secluded.
It really has an upscale feel to the place because fixtures and furnishings were quality and stylish.

To be Aware Of:
Don't forget that you are in the jungle. Everything from nature was there long, long before we came invading their territory. I say this because some people don't like bugs or iguanas or the sound of their claws on your rooftop. It's an old saying, but tis true, they are more frightened of you than you are of them.

We tend to be kinda loud, so really the only sort of not perfect thing is that we had to check ourselves occasionally for "rowdiness". Glad to BE rowdy at 50...

So, we were with Helen O (see review) on vacation. The owner RIchard is one in a hundred million. Yes, I exaggerate, but for good reason. Three of the four of us got some awful gastro bug that required one of us to take a trip to the Dr. RIchard immediately offered to accompany her to to interpret. She needed IV fluids which Richard says was only the third time someone has needed them. Which proves the point that he is attentive to all, not just us. He made himself completely available in ANY capacity we would need. Stellar, just stellar..

Conclusion: Book it now.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    119
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
278
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. Richard was lovely and very accommodating. Unfortunately, we had a situation with theft on the beach and Richard was quick to move us to another room as the thieves had stolen our hotel key. He also offered to go to the police station with us so he could help interpret (our Spanish is less than stellar). He checked on us throughout the stay to make sure everything was being handled properly and seemed to sincerely care. Coco made delicious omelets every morning and the front desk help was knowledgable and friendly. There were plenty of iguanas roaming the hotel grounds which was neat to see. Security was seen at all times. I ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was delicious. The hotel is about a 5-7 minute walk from the beach, which is great b/c you can pick up a fresh juice or icee on your way to the water. The room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again is we ever visit Tamarindo again. Definitely prefer this type of attention and service over big-box hotels chains.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Arco Iris last week on our first trip to Costa Rica. We cannot say enough great things about Costa Rica and the hotel. The staff were so helpful, and so friendly. The bungalows are cozy and comfortable, with hammocks that we loved to relax in :). The pool was one of our favorite places to go to after a day of exploring Tamarindo. From the pool, we watched the monkeys jumping through the trees in the afternoons, and the iguanas running across the deck.
The fact that breakfast was included in our package was also lovely, as we could head out in the mornings for fresh fruit, granola, eggs and tea, before heading out to the beach. Coco would make breakfast, who was a ray of sunshine, always smiling and so lovely to be around.
Gabby helped us book our excursions, and always went out of her way to make sure we had seen certain aspects of Costa Rica, even turning back one day on her way home to make sure we had seen the monkeys in the trees by the hotel. Such a thoughtful gesture, and something you probably wouldn't get in a large chain hotel.
To Richard, the owner: please don't ever change your lovely establishment, it would break my heart not to be able to come back and visit Hotel Arco Iris! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnicho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omaha
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Lovely little hotel hidden in Tamarindo. Everything positive I read on TripAdvisor about this hotel was accurate in our experience. The only thing I can't comment on is the hospitality; just didn't have any interaction with anyone other than the front desk, but didn't have any issues. Stayed 2 nights after a previous stay at the JW Marriott. Room was clean and well-furnished. A quick 5-minute walk to the beach/downtown Tamarindo. Best experience(s) for us was the wildlife. Multiple iguanas living around the complex and the 15+ monkeys that would lounge in the trees just outside our room. Far more wildlife than we saw on our tour of Palo Verde. We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended. (I rated every category "Very Good", but still maintain this hotel is "Excellent" for its overall experience).

Room Tip: Further away from the kitchen/dining area is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omahaeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We recently stayed 5 nights in Tamarindo at Hotel Arco Iris ("Rainbow Hotel") and it is the 'pot of gold' at the end of the rainbow. The hotel is well located to walk to beach, restaurants and all of the shops, but it is off the busy main street and is very quiet and tranquil. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and rooms, pool area, and breakfast room are lovely. Owner Richard is very attentive to all details and his staff are all excellent. We especially appreciated getting to know receptionist Gabriela Madrigal, who speaks fluent Spanish, English, and French; she is knowledgeable about the area and extremely helpful and personable.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked to be well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This place was worth every penny and I would not stay any where else in Tamarindo! We had a great room with well kept grounds, which felt like an oasis. The owner was very nice, welcoming and checked in daily to see how our stay was going. I can not express the kindness of the owner and how much he cares about his client's comfort. Towards the end of our stay We experimented with some food in town that made us ill and confined us to the room. The owner(Richard) helped us out with actually escorting my sweetheart to a doctor and stayed until the treatment started. We know that we will be returning to this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We absolutely loved staying here! We were a little hesitant seeing that it was set away from the beach, but we are so thankful that we ended up booking this place for Valentine's day. First of all, the walk to the beach is really not bad. It's about a 5 minute walk and very easy to do. It's hidden among a lot of gorgeous trees, foliage, canapes and hammocks. It's just serene. The rooms were clean and adorable. The restaurant itself was just delicious! Had I known how amazing our meal would be, I would've insisted we go every night we stayed! If we ever go back to Tamarindo, I would refuse to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkagin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,208 reviews
5.7 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Property: Hotel Arco Iris
Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has five bungalows and seven deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing